• Canada on guard against Jamaica

Canada on guard against Jamaica

/ Associated Press

Posted: 2 hours ago

CARSON, California (AP) - History suggests it shouldn't even be close.

Even with the past on their side, Canada's women's soccer team won't take Jamaica lightly when they play in one CONCACAF Gold Cup semifinal Wednesday.

Quarterfinals - Sun., Nov. 19

Panama 0-2 Jamaica Recap

Quarterfinals - Sun., Nov. 19

Mexico 3-0 Trinidad-Tob. Recap

Semifinals - Wed., Nov. 22

Canada vs. Jamaica* Preview

Semifinals - Wed., Nov. 22

USA vs. Mexico* Preview

3rd place - Sun., Nov. 26

Teams TBD*

Final - Sun., Nov. 26

Teams TBD*

*Airs on FSC Schedule

The Canadian women have never lost to Jamaica and have outscored the Reggae Girlz 31-0 in four meetings.

"We are the favorites, based on rankings and all that," coach Even Pellerud said after practice this week at the Home Depot Center. "That's the pressure we need to cope with.

"The biggest hope for us now is to be mentally ready. It's the first really important game in a long time. It's a big mental challenge more than anything."

A win puts Canada into Sunday's Gold Cup final, which determines the champion of the region that covers North America, Central America and the Caribbean.

A victory also gives Canada a berth in the FIFA World Cup, which will be held in China next September.

The United States and Mexico play in the other final.

Canada is currently ranked 10th in the world by FIFA. It's the first time the women have cracked the top 10. Jamaica is 81st.

The United States has won the last two Gold Cup championships, while Canada beat Mexico 1-0 to win the tournament in 1998.

Veteran defender Randee Hermus said the Canadians expect to play a different Jamaican team than the one they beat 6-0 in February 2004 during the Olympic qualifying tournament.

"It would be an undersight to say they are the same as they were before because we know we're not," Hermus said Hermus.

"Every team has improved and the gap has gotten closer and closer. To take them lightly would be a mistake and I don't think any of us are thinking that way at all."

The Canadian women learned a hard lesson about underestimating an opponent during the Olympic qualifying tournament. A 2-1 loss to Mexico - a team Canada had never lost to before - prevented them from playing at the Athens Games.

The Reggae Girlz have boundless energy and raw skill but sometimes lack discipline.

"They are very athletic, very fast and have a lot of skills," Canadian captain Christine Sinclair said. "They are probably not the most organized team.:hehe:

"We are going to look to exploit that."

RE: Canada on guard against Jamaica

We honestly need to have realistic expectations. It's like expecting someone who does not have a GED to be able to pass the medical board exam.

I am not expecting anything from this team, as long as they are competitive, and have shown improvement from prior blowouts, then that is a step in the right direction.

Some may disagree with this observation, and that is OK.

This Canada team is carrying some baggae. Captain and team leader Charmaine Hooper and 3 others has been kicked off and is threathening law suit or mediation after they claim they were force to move to vancouver , leave their W league club to play the Vancover white caps which is owned by the guy funding the training camp and housing the coach. If they dont do well I get the feeling that Pellerud is done as they will use this to clean house.

Hortikal (11/21/2006)We honestly need to have realistic expectations. It's like expecting someone who does not have a GED to be able to pass the medical board exam.

I am not expecting anything from this team, as long as they are competitive, and have shown improvement from prior blowouts, then that is a step in the right direction.

Some may disagree with this observation, and that is OK.
        I disagree with your observation Horti. The anology is totally off and is not a fair comparison. Wasn't it recently we heard of some fly by night team (was it Heartpool) beat Manchester United in some competition, I think it was the Carling Cup? Any team can beat any team on a given day. No team is invincible, not even the Canadians.

Remember wha Garvey seh, "Without confidence in self, you are twice defeated in the race of life. With confidence, you have won even before you have started".

We have to be realistic, but we should not write off ourselves in anything we do,
        "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla (11/21/2006)

I disagree with your observation Horti. The anology is totally off and is not a fair comparison. Wasn't it recently we heard of some fly by night team (was it Heartpool) beat Manchester United in some competition, I think it was the Carling Cup? Any team can beat any team on a given day. No team is invincible, not even the Canadians.

Remember wha Garvey seh, "Without confidence in self, you are twice defeated in the race of life. With confidence, you have won even before you have started".

We have to be realistic, but we should not write off ourselves in anything we do,

No star, you are wrong. This has nothing to do with confidence. We are expecting, and demanding the team to give it's best! If we have competent coaching staff, and the team was well prepared, it would be a different situation. This observation has nothing to do with Garvey, and you are way far off base, and you miss the point of my comment.

You fail to notice that this is an observation from the outside, and does not, and should not represent how the team must play on the field.

http://www.reggaeboyzsc.com/articles...amp;category=1

OJ (11/21/2006)This Canada team is carrying some baggae. Captain and team leader Charmaine Hooper and 3 others has been kicked off and is threathening law suit or mediation after they claim they were force to move to vancouver , leave their W league club to play the Vancover white caps which is owned by the guy funding the training camp and housing the coach. If they dont do well I get the feeling that Pellerud is done as they will use this to clean house.
              Man I got one name for you......Christine Sinclair.....Game done. - T.K.