The real reason why JA are toothless in attack

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
    I think we were watching 2 different games.

You probably weren't watching the game. Is only Luton gave away the ball more than Bibi.

I dont think its premature , here we have been playing 4-4-2 under Barnes with Tappa by his side as his 2nd in command a formation all the RBYZ use in thier respective clubs overseas a formation Barnes said its only logical a formation Bora said is modern no one uses 5-3-2 when he critiqued Mr Hunt on his use of the said formation.

Is it premature to critique Tappa ? why change and use it now ?

Don 1 Tappa has to answer why change it now is it the appropriate time for such a radical change , why not after Goal Cup .The JFF has to shoulder some of the blame because a new coach means a new philosphy will be implemented.

I am a Tappaite .
      Understood.... however the team preparation was woefully inadequate... culminating in that Caymanian holiday. One has to take that into account.

I personally am not ready to hit any panic button and demand any changes in personnel or system.
      Mek Tappa duh im ting... gi di man some space.... even fi mek mistake.

I don't need to see a rapid improvement or a Gold Cup championship in 2009 to validate Tappa or this group of players (although that would be great!).
      Those people demanding that are naive... and setting up the coach & team for unwarranted and destructive criticism.

I prefer to see a steady upward curve using a consistent philosophy.... ala 1996-1998.

Nuff man ah get too nervous.

I am a Tappaite, I agree with you about not changing personell, its dangerously repetitive for Jamaicas football .

We must support him to grow ,win looose or draw , but he should be called out on questionable issues.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Bibi excuse is him nuh game sharp.. mi nuh know wha fi seh bout Luton.. seriously disappointing..

All mi want to know is how Jamal Campbell R. can be on the bench for 70 minutes..

Tappa argument bout both being the same player no hold water.. change formation if you have to.. put JJ behind the strikers..needed 4 midfielders..2 a real threat to take pressure of the forwards..

How yuh muss fraid a Canada ???

We were unable to score goals because the starting lineup was too defensive. Apart from the back four; Austin and Gardner started their careers as defenders. Add Morrison to the mix and there were seven defensive players in the team. The clueless Shelton was also present which contributed to our offensive woes. Gardner's position was to play left midfield yet he was mostly in central midfield and his corner kicks were all horrible. Apart from Johnson in spurts the midfield was nonexistent. Marshall completed more passes to the forwards than any of the midfielders did. When either of the defensive midfielders was in possession(Morrison or Austin) the one without the ball never went forward. Instead, he stayed square or behind and asked for possession which stalled the attacking flow. A more balanced team is to sit Morrison and Shelton and start Addlery up front, move Johnson to central midfield(behind the strikers) and play Campbell-Rice at right midfield. It is imperative that players compete fearlessly for Jamaica as they do for their clubs. Failing to do so, the Coach should not hesitate to substitute them even if they play in top tier leagues.

Fuller,Addlery
            Johnson
            Gardner, Austin,Campbell-Rice
            Phillips,Marshall,Davis,Stewart
            Ricketts.

Brilliant !

Either that or you read my earlier post.

I agree totally. For the life of me I cannot undestand how one starts a predominantly defensive lineup against what was essentially a Canadian experimental team. Now we are forced to go for a win against Costa Rica.
                JJ was the best player on the field even his detractors must admit that. It says something about the passing abiity of the lineup when JJ was one of the better passer on the night. The midfield was dominated ny players with the same mindset/limitations.

So everything was Tappa's system except when they started booting the ball down the field?
                  Well...I do not believe as you do ...and I did not see as you did that the Boyz held a meeting after running on the field and before the 'kick-off' of either half and deciding then and there on the formation we saw...

...and I do not believe nor did I see anything to suggest that in those last few minutes Tappa issued instructions for the ball to be 'booted long'.

I just think it is reasonable to concluded that the players...at least some of the players...panicked and went into 'silly long kick mode'. ..but then I am in Shady Pines and my eyes do sometimes deceive me

Good post sir! I agree with everything you said.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

This is not Ben aka Maudib are yu a Tappaite ? JJ behind the strikers ? no criticism of Fuller , i take it he had a good game by your standards ?

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

was it a 5-3-2 or 3-5-2?