Canada 1 to ra s s 75th minute
I agree....they were not focused at all. Well when Tappa & Bibi claimed they would win the Gold Cup, yuh wonder if they were focusing on the Canada game.Winning means you're willing to go longer, work harder, and give more than anyone else - Vince Lombardi
Devon Hodges would have made a difference in this team because he scores goals, runs a lot and is hungry. Fuller and Shelton no longer qualify as hungry,and Hodges wants those National appearances to get scouted and signed abroad. Fuller played most of Stokes' games in the Prem and would probably like to put his feet up now. Hodges wants a tournament like the Gold Cup more. I'm watching the game delayed as I type this, and Teddy should have gotten his penalty.Usain "Lightning" Bolt - 9.58 secs. WR.
Originally posted by Me View PostThe players really were lacking sharpness.
Ricketts was excellent.
The defense was okay, but in attack both Stew Peas and Claude (Typical ball watching on the goal) are extremely limited and take forever to get anything done offensively. By time they make a decision, the opposition has regrouped.
Morrison and Austin did their usual defensive work. Austin still needs to work on his touch. You can tell he is a man who was initially a defender. Bibi was a big let down and messed up many of our offensive moves. JJ was good apart from a few times where he needed to let go the ball ealier.
Fuller was not nearly as sharp as normal and missed a good opportunity. Held on to the ball too often on more than one occasion. However, it was very good to see how well he and JJ linked up. Quite interesting to see those two making one touch passes to each other.
Shelton, the main reason for our offense coming to a halt. Countless times he had Fuller, JJ or Demar available and decided to put his head down and dribble.
For the next game I would definitely take out Shelton and insert Omar Cummings. Although it is not going to happen, I would drop Bibi and put Vernan on the wing.
Originally posted by Lucky4life View Postwhy is none of these DLP footballers in the team,
DEVON HODGES
KEAMMAR DALEY
BRIAN BAYLISS
JERRY WALTERS
NAVIAN BOYD
ROLAND DEAN
I think the formation he used was 4-4-2. We were unable to score goals because the starting lineup was too defensive. Apart from the back four; Austin and Gardner started their careers as defenders. Add Morrison to the mix and there were seven defensive players in the team. The headless chicken Shelton was also present on the field which contributed to our offensive woe. Gardner's position was to play left midfield but he was always in central midfield and his corner kicks were all horrible. Apart from Johnson the midfield provided no service to the forwards. Marshall completed more passes to the forwards than any of the midfielders did. Another thing I noticed was that when either of the defensive midfielders was in possession(Morrison and Austin) the one without the ball never went forward. Instead, he stayed square or stayed behind and asked for possession which ruined the attacking flow. A more balanced team is to sit Morrison and Shelton and start Addlery up front with Fuller, move Johnson to central midfield and play Campbell-Rice at right midfield.
Fuller,Addlery
Gardner, Austin,Johnson,Campbell-Rice
Phillips,Marshall,Davis,Stewart
Ricketts.