Landon Donovan Of All People?

• Landon Donovan Of All People?

Di biggest quitter in football a loud up Beckham?

David Beckham has come under attack from L.A. Galaxy team-mate Landon Donovan just as he prepares to return for action with the MLS team.

GettyImages
    Donovan turned down his own chance to stay in Europe
    In a new book due out later this month, Donovan claims Beckham has demonstrated little commitment to the Galaxy cause and has been a negative influence on the team since the ousting of former coach Ruud Gullit.

"All that we care about at a minimum is that he committed himself to us," Donovan says in 'The Beckham Experiment', authored by Sports Illustrated writer Grant Wahl.

"As time has gone on, that has not proven to be the case in many ways - on the field, off the field.

"Does the fact that he earns that much more money come into it? Yeah. If someone's paying you more than anybody in the league, more than double anybody in the league, the least we expect is that you show up to every game, whether you are suspended or not. Show up and train hard, show up and play hard."

Donovan, who is the United States captain and wears the Galaxy armband in Beckham's absence, also questioned the former England skipper's leadership abilities, claiming he is too often silent in team meetings.

"Maybe he's not a leader, maybe he's not a captain," he said. "Fair enough. But at a minimum, you should bust your ass every day. That hasn't happened. And I don't think that's too much for us to expect. Especially when he's brought all this on us."

Beckham's first season in MLS was a largely miserable experience. He struggled with injury as an unbalanced Galaxy team struggled all year and missed out on the play-offs, with Gullit quitting before the end of the campaign.

Gullit's departure, which came a little over a month after Beckham's Galaxy debut, is the moment Donovan believes the light went out for the club's marquee player.

"When David first came, I believed he was committed to what he was doing," Donovan said. "He cared. He wanted to do well. He wanted the team and the league to do well.

"Somewhere along the way - and in my mind it coincides with Ruud being let go - he just flipped a switch and said, 'Uh-huh, I'm not doing it anymore'."

Donovan even claimed Beckham is a bad team-mate, because of his lack of commitment.

"He's not shown (he's a good team-mate)," he said. "I can't think of another guy where I'd say he wasn't a good team-mate, he didn't give everything through all this, he didn't still care. But with (Beckham), I'd say no, he wasn't committed."

Beckham pushed for a loan move to AC Milan in January, and then extended it to the point that he missed half of the 2009 MLS season. That served as evidence that he does not care for the league, according to Donovan, who gave up his chance to play in Europe early in his career in order to stay at home.

"My sense is that David's clearly frustrated, that he's unhappy and, honestly, that he thinks it's a joke," he said. "I also kind of feel (he has taken the team) for granted. I don't see dedication or commitment to this team, and that's troubling."

Beckham is due to make his return for the Galaxy against the New York Red Bulls on July 16, two days after Wahl's book is due to be published.

He will line up alongside Donovan in that game, but the striker does not want that to be the case for much longer.

"Let's say he does stay here for three more years," Donovan said. "I'm not going to spend the next three years of my life doing it this way. This is f****** miserable. I don't want to have soccer be this way."

Donovan need to cool it.

The whole article confirmed what I have always thought that Becks was not a success in the MLS as some people were talking around here.

Donovan need to cool it.

The whole article confirmed what I have always thought that Becks was not a success in the MLS as some people were talking around here.
      LOL ...

You can turn everything to try and help your point eeh. What a joke.

Donovan need to cool it.

"The whole article confirmed what I have always thought that Becks was not a success in the MLS as some people were talking around here."

Yuh nuh know when fi quit don't it?

What has Beckham done for the club?

Di biggest quitter in football a loud up Beckham?
          Donovan gave up the armband to Becham perhaps Beckhan should concentrate on playing and not leading.

While Beckham was doing a good job with one of the Biggest clubs in the world .. AC Milan in case ppl automatically assume Manu, LA Galaxy is 3rd to last in their MLS conference. I guess man and man a try deflect that to Beckham.

Originally posted by Time View Post
              Donovan gave up the armband to Becham perhaps Beckhan should concentrate on playing and not leading.
              $$$$

well...at man u he was the face but he was surrounded by quality...same at AC milan...su wha dat mean?

He does the same thing regardless of where he goes. The better his teammates, the better he will look.

cho, Donovan a empty barrel

That depends on what you call success, if it means putting MLS the entity and brand Beckham on the world map of leagues for 15 secounds of fame , it did just that , if it means LA galaxy achieving anything other than commercial success it failed misreably.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Landon is being honest. Beckham hated every moment of his stay with the Galaxy, and it showed!

All whey a gwaan, Landon is a good yute. Good, non-achieving yute, but good yute nundiless!

I wonder if Landon still upset bout the fact that Beckham didn't pay for dinner in VA?

Landon makes me laugh..after he gave up an opportunity to play in Europe..is he serious?! Dedication...please....this is the guy who has twice RAN from Europe....it always seems when my country does half well in a tournament, all of a sudden the big mouths open open....I can only imagine what would happen if we progressed further in a world cup. Until we produce a world class footballer..or half of one..keep your mouth shut and show some humility.

Originally posted by Bill Moravek View Post
                              Landon makes me laugh..after he gave up an opportunity to play in Europe..is he serious?! Dedication...please....this is the guy who has twice RAN from Europe....it always seems when my country does half well in a tournament, all of a sudden the big mouths open open....I can only imagine what would happen if we progressed further in a world cup. Until we produce a world class footballer..or half of one..keep your mouth shut and show some humility.
                              Amen mi bredda.

Betta di sycophants hear di trute fram yu... rada dan a man lika mi.