Okay let's define it

Originally posted by T.K. View Post

Watered down or not we have no basis in reality to say that we should win this tournament. Nothing in the last ten years has suggested that we are capable of winning the Gold Cup.

- T.K.

always knew that you are a SMART person !!!

Let me follow your logic a little: What was Greece's basis for winning
      Euro04? Can't a set a of individuals have the desire and mental strength to win? You are saying Ja should just go to the GC as stand in because Ja didn't make the hex. So what if Ja didn't make the hex? The Gc will be Ja's WC and we want to win it. Is there a problem here?

Talk about having the medicore mindset (akin to the mind of a slave). Bet you guys were the same ones that said the prof was crazy, when he said he would qualify JA for the 98 WC.

Lazie 47 years is nothing. How many years England, Spain and many other quality teams won nothing?

Jamaica soccer is just in development mode. Within a timeframe of 10 years we move from no pro to a team with 90% pros playing in decent leagues and performing. You can compare our players playing in leagues like any other team in the region.

We don't have to look respect all Jamaica have to do is worker harder and as a team we will get there without having to show you or a few others anything.

it is easy to join the wining bandwagon but not so easy to watch development.

We haven't won anything and all of a sudden we are expected to win a major competition (ok, not so major, but relatively challenging)? Sass I don't know bout you but Lazie's logic baffles me.

Having said that some goals must be set in order to measure achievement. "Winning the tournament" is setting yourself up for failure; goals have to be realistic and achievable...(not that winning the cup isn't achievable but not a realistic goal.) The goals should be:

1. getting to the next round in the first instance
          2. scoring 'x' number of goals per game and not conceding more than 'y' no. of goals
          3. Upon achieving 1. then a new set of goals established

We really have to walk before we can run and the way we have played against the top teams in CONCACAF really does not suggest that we have a good much less any chance of winning the cup. However, anything is possible and the team has to be inculcated with a sense of belief without being overly ambitious...otherwise I fear the psychological fallout might be hurtful.

I am with you. Normally in these tournaments after playing the first round and your team start gelling then you will know if you have a chance to win the tournament. The first round is the most important.

I am with everything you say. Lazie them setting thing up for failure to say "mi did know".

"Lazie's logic baffles me." him still stuck inna him high school days ball. Him nuh realise that the players today playing for Jamaica are more technically sound than 10 years ago. There is work to be done but on a good day we can compete with any team in the region. Them fail to look at the players and analyse them instead they just lumpen them all and say them nuh good and only when Fuller score goals in EPL them will bearly admit that he has accomplish sometime very good but nuh say nothing because currently Jamaica have a good amount of players under 25 that are playing at a good level and can step up if they continue.

This can be a very good turning point of us and winning would be good but it is not a say or "win or shut up' kind of thing.

When all the big guns were assembled the team beat Honduras, Canada and Mexico. If such a team is satisfied with anything less than winning the tournament, something is wrong.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                When all the big guns were assembled the team beat Honduras, Canada and Mexico. If such a team is satisfied with anything less than winning the tournament, something is wrong.
                I hear ya Me. To clarify though I wasn't asking what the team would be satisfied with. No team is satisfied with not winning any competition they are in. That is understood.

I am thinking more big picture here. Where we are, today July 2, 2009, what could we define success as? For me personally it's setting a new milestone for the program as it relates to our past Gold Cup performances. I listed the three that jumped out at me. One of those happens to be winning the Gold Cup.

I guess where we disagree is the idea that the only measure of success is winning the Gold Cup. I understand that sentiment. It makes sense to me. I just disagree with it.

Only the US and Mexico, based on their past history, should be held to such a rigid standard.

Now if we were to win this Gold Cup then we would have to redefine our standards of success. The truth is every milestone met inevitably raises a new one to aspire to. - T.K.
                Last edited by T.K.; July 2, 2009, 08:21 PM.

Beating the US, especially the team they have sent is not something I would consider a success

Reaching the finals and playing well in the final is something I would think of as credible.

I wouldn't hold our team to winning the Gold Cup in a year in which we do not have the players to do so. However, since this year we do. that is what I will consider a success.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                    Beating the US, especially the team they have sent is not something I would consider a success

Reaching the finals and playing well in the final is something I would think of as credible.

I wouldn't hold our team to winning the Gold Cup in a year in which we do not have the players to do so. However, since this year we do. that is what I will consider a success.
                    I hear what you're saying. I really think we have just as good a chance as anyone to win it. A little bit of luck and alot of hard work and anything can happen for this group. They are talented enough to do it. - T.K.

We haven't won anything and all of a sudden we are expected to win a major competition (ok, not so major, but relatively challenging)? Sass I don't know bout you but Lazie's logic baffles me.

Having said that some goals must be set in order to measure achievement. "Winning the tournament" is setting yourself up for failure; goals have to be realistic and achievable...(not that winning the cup isn't achievable but not a realistic goal.) The goals should be:

1. getting to the next round in the first instance
                      2. scoring 'x' number of goals per game and not conceding more than 'y' no. of goals
                      3. Upon achieving 1. then a new set of goals established

We really have to walk before we can run and the way we have played against the top teams in CONCACAF really does not suggest that we have a good much less any chance of winning the cup. However, anything is possible and the team has to be inculcated with a sense of belief without being overly ambitious...otherwise I fear the psychological fallout might be hurtful.
                      "Sass I don't know bout you but Lazie's logic baffles me"

no surprize there.

LOL ! Must be a ManU thing.. LOL