• Whitmore acts tough - Two Boyz face heavy fines for missing

Whitmore acts tough - Two Boyz face heavy fines for missing flight

Published: Thursday | July 2, 2009

Audley Boyd, Assistant Editor - Sport

( L - R ) Damion Stewart, Jermaine Johnson
    LOS ANGELES, California:

MIDFIELDER Jermaine Johnson and defender Damion Stewart are facing heavy fines after missing their flight from Kingston to Miami on Monday.

"What happened with Jermaine Johnson and Damion Stewart, all I can say for now is that they will be heavily fined," Jamaica's head coach, Theodore Whitmore, said yesterday.

He added: "We want to send a message to the other players that we're in a no-nonsense mood."

Both players had checked in, cleared the security checkpoint and immigration and had been in the airport lobby at the Norman Manley International Airport, but did not board the scheduled American Airlines flight that departed at 12:15 p.m. Whitmore called it inexplicable.

"There's nothing to explain. Even before we had checked through it was the last announcement, so there's no excuse," Whitmore added in reference to a boarding call.

Stringent approach

Whitmore pointed out that Stewart and Johnson, as well as Ricardo Fuller and Luton Shelton, had already been fined on the team's tour of the [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]Cayman [COLOR=orange! important]Islands[/color][/color][/color].

"We've a thing coming from the Cayman Islands where we want to bring it straight into the Gold Cup in terms of the discipline," he said, pointing to the coaching staff's stringent approach to established principles.

The nine who made the scheduled Miami flight out of Kingston were Ricardo Gardner, Dwayne Miller, Demar Phillips, Jamal Campbell-Ryce, Luton Shelton, Eric Vernan, Rafe Wolfe, Claude Davis and Jason Morrison.
    Oneil Thompson, goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts, Nicholas Addlery, Tyrone Marshall, Omar Cummings, Rudolph Austin and Dane Richards joined the team shortly after its arrival at the Marriott [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]hotel[/color][/color], where they will be based in Los Angeles, ahead of an evening training session.

Ricardo Fuller, who remained in Jamaica to honour a previous commitment, was due in last night.

The other member of the squad, veteran defender Ian Goodison, is still in Jamaica awaiting his passport, which was sent to the Home Office in Britain with his [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]application[/color][/color] for a work permit. He is expected to depart for the tournament as soon as he gets it.

Travel schedule

The travel schedule had been tight with many of the players moving straight from a training session in the Cayman Islands to the United States. Half the squad returned from the Cayman Islands on Monday and left the following morning. They had to get out of bed before daylight again yesterday and though it was hectic, Whitmore said it shouldn't have been a problem.

"I don't think that should be a problem. We all knew how the travelling was (going to be) even before we left so we just have to focus and prepare our minds and when we get our rest we take our rest. We've the pool, we've the gym, so I don't think that should be a problem," he reiterated.

The players had a light workout in Miami, where Gardner, who had remained in Jamaica to treat a hamstring injury, got involved and looked quite brisk, as well as Campbell-Ryce, who had been granted permission to [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]holiday[/color][/color] in Britain.

"He had a nagging injury but I think he has got over it now," Whitmore said of Gardner's progress. "He did some [COLOR=orange! important][COLOR=orange! important]work [COLOR=orange! important]at [/color][COLOR=orange! important]home[/color][/color][/color] with his personal trainer so probably match fitness would be his problem. But we've players here so we'll see if he can play 60-70 minutes. If he can play the 90 minutes then that would be fine."
    Regarding Campbell-Ryce, Whitmore noted: "I don't think he's 100 per
    cent ... but we've a squad of 20 so we just have to select the best 11 who are ready to go out there and represent the country."

Same on both players ...The damn indiscipline saga start again and I like Whitmore stands for such outright disrespect for national duties. There are always some foolish disruption by our players before major matches and I think J.F.F need to set up criteria for players before they are selected. Personally I think the money use to stay in cayman island would be better use to go straight to the state and have quality training sessions and rest for the players.

What the hell wasn't there a picture of Damion Stewart in one of our newspaper almost holding Whitmore hand going throught the airport yesterday to the states. What happen? Why was he allowed to get back out. What happen to roll call and the other j. f.f.representatives who is to ensure that everybody should be in the same area before departure.

How much would it cost to charter a private plane to the state...Is it more than 10million.

Who is the team manager? Not that I am blaming him because these guys are adults, not small kids who need a rope to hold onto; or do they need one?

Would chartering a plane, notwithstanding cost, stop the ill-disciplined ones from disappearing?

Dem need to be subjected to a Wonderlic test...

Seems there is some amount of indiscipline in the camp, RJR sports today said these two were among others fined US$200 during the one week camp in Cayman.

Did not say why they were fined however....

hrmph!

U in agreeance???

just tiyad a di foolishness from some a dem. we need King to put back some decency and discipline in the camp!?!

yes a senior professional to ensure the players respect curfew and listen to when the coach speaks to them....

Nuh fret man !! wi a guh win the GOLD CUP !!

Seems there is some amount of indiscipline in the camp, RJR sports today said these two were among others fined US$200 during the one week camp in Cayman.
                        That would be a year's salary in the NPL. Good thing they play in the UK!

And just a tad lower than the MLS, no?

Must be a tad hot in the trailer park today Ziplock? What are you drinking for the heat, moonshine?

Good thing those guys are not in MLS. Can you imagine the impact of $200. That is half of dem bi-weekly paycheck.