Is this true?

• Is this true?

Can anyone confirm this? Please tell me we are not so naive to allow this to happen. - T.K.

An excerpt from the examiner:

The Galaxy might have dodged a bullet in relation to the services of goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts and the Gold Cup. The Jamaican National Team has called Ricketts for inclusion on their roster for CONCACAF's annual tournament, which begins July 3.

Which normally would mean that Ricketts would be in danger of the next two games. However, Jamaica's opening game is being played at the Home Depot Center, and the National Team has not only cleared him to play in the Galaxy's home game against New England the next day. Plus, he can fly back from the team's last group stage game in Miami on July 10 and make the Galaxy's rematch against Chivas USA the next day.

- T.K.

Nevermind...looks like the washington post confirmed it is in fact true. Bizzare to say the least. It makes us look real amateur. Shades of Boxhill. - T.K.

*Galaxy goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts has been named to Jamaica's Gold Cup squad, but because the Reggae Boyz's opener is Friday at Home Depot Center and the Galaxy host New England the next game, he is likely to play in both matches. Los Angeles is then off for a week, meaning he could conceivably suit up for Jamaica against Costa Rica in Columbus July 7 and El Salvador in Miami on July 10 and be back at HDC for the July 11 derby against Chivas USA. The Jamaican federation has apparently cleared him to shuttle between teams. - T.K.

What is Bizarre about it ?

Him ah Goalie.. plus he will get nuff rest during the Reggaeboyz games..

What is Bizarre about it ?

Him ah Goalie.. plus he will get nuff rest during the Reggaeboyz games..

LOL...I hear you Maudib ....even though he is a goalie it is really asking alot of him. You would think the coaching staff would want him to be at 100% physically and mentally for the Gold Cup.

Instead we are now going to get a player who is less than his best for the tournament when there was absolutely no reason under the sun to do so.

So on the days when the team will be recovering physicall and recharging mentally for the tournament Ricketts will have tremendous demands. That added stress is going to take away from his ability to perform for us at the level needed to do well in the tournament.

You can't be all things to all people. Whitmore should have put his foot down on this one I feel. There are always ways to pacify the club team. You can tell them behind the scenes that you won't call Ricketts for the rest of the Galaxy's club season. This is a compomise we should have done without.

It looks like the JFF nuh mek a good decision with this arrangement. He should be solely focused on Jamaica!

These are the little things that make me detest football in America. The Gold Cup is a USA-run competition where the federation seeks relevance in world football. They continue to have their domestic season at a ridiculous time of the year which clashes with the rest of world football, and they don't see it fit to break their domestic competition to host their own regional tournament. How can they expect to get respect from the rest of the world? They can't even comprehend that World Cup matches will be watched by television viewers over their silly MLS. Even their own MLS players want to go siddung a dem yaard and watch better ballers play inna WC than haffi run up and down in the silly MLS.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015