• Boost for Boyz

Gold Cup squad gets $10m from SDF
    By Howard Walker, Observer staff reporter walkerh@jamaicaobserver.com
    Wednesday, July 01, 2009
    The Reggae Boyz yesterday got a $10-million boost from the government through its agency, the Sports Development Foundation (SDF), as they embarked on their journey to the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States of America.
    Minister of Sports Olivia Grange (left) hands over a symbolic cheque for $10m to Reggae Boyz skipper Ricardo Gardner (right) in New Kingston yesterday. Looking on (from left) are JFF second vice-president Bruce Gaynor; SDF chairman David Mais; coach Theodore Whitmore; players Claude Davis and Damian Stewart, and SDF deputy chairman Lloyd 'Bunny' Pommels. (Photo: Karl McLarty)
    Jamaica have never won the Gold Cup in six previous attempts but finished a creditable third in 1993 under the guidance of Carl Brown and are quietly confident of notching their first title.
    The team left yesterday for Miami en route to Los Angeles where they will open the tournament against Canada at the Home Depot Centre on Friday.
    The Caribbean champions are drawn in Group A alongside Costa Rica, which they play next Tuesday, and will close their group action against El Salvador on Friday, July 10.
    Only last week, a government grant valued at $3.6 million was given to the Jamaica Amateur Athletic Association (JAAA) to help the national team prepare for the August 15-23 IAAF World Athletic Championships in Berlin, Germany.
    Minister of Sports, Olivia 'Babsy' Grange, said she is looking forward to the Reggae Boyz coming back with the trophy.
    Reggae Boyz coach Theodore Whitmore (second right) and players (from left) Rafe Wolfe, Jason Morrison and Damion Stewart leave for the CONCACAF Gold Cup tournament in the United States yesterday. (Photo: Karl McLarty)
    "I am here to give full support to the JFF. We have very high hopes that this year Jamaica will be playing in the final on the 26th. The government believes in the national team,"Grange emphasised.
    "The government's support of the Reggae Boyz in this way is an investment we know will pay dividends," she added.
    David Mais, chairman of the SDF, said their support for the Reggae Boyz is undiminished despite their World Cup failure.
    Said Mais: "Today we're going all the way with you to the Gold Cup. It is with great pleasure that we are announcing that we are making a contribution to the programme of $10m".
    Meanwhile, the team was given a send off by Digicel Sports Sponsorship manager, Paula Pinnock-McLeod, at the Norman Manley International Airport yesterday.
    Pinnock-McLeod presented members of the team with Digicel international calling cards because "we want them to feel that Jamaican spirit when they are away; feel connected, feel loved, feel Jamaican".
    She added: "It gives them a chance to call home and we are supporting them. Jamaica is behind them 100 per cent."
    Captain Ricardo Gardner, Dwayne Miller, Jamal Campbell-Ryce, Demar Phillips, Claude Davis, Damian Stewart, Jermaine Johnson, Luton Shelton, Jason Morrison, Eric Vernan and Rafe Wolfe were the players that departed the island yesterday.
    US-based Donovan Ricketts, Tyrone Marshall, Dane Richards, Nicholas Addlery and Omar Cummings will join them in Los Angeles.
    Two European-based players in central midfielder Oneil Thompson and Rodolph Austin will also catch up with the team in LA.
    Skipper Gardner, who missed the last training camp in the Cayman Islands, said he has been doing some extra training with physical fitness coach Junior Samuels.
    "Hopefully by Friday I should be OK," he told the Observer.
    The Bolton Wanderers veteran also thinks Jamaica can go all the way this time around.
    "We have the players and the staff to go there and do that so hopefully with hard work and determination we'll take the cup back here."

Anything less than the gold cup would be a failure for J.f.f.

I sincerely want to see the BoyZ do well in this Gold Cup.

A good 3-nil win over Canada would set the stage for a good overall performance.

Costa Rica and El salvador no doubt consider themselves better than Jamaica.

Jamaica football future lies heavily on it's Gold Cup performance.

wolfe and morrison face look bleach

Jamaica football future lies heavily on it's Gold Cup performance

Kind words from the opposition. LOL!!

Jamaica's future lies in the future... not especially with the Gold Cup. Jamaica has to have much more organic "ground up" development to succeed... not necessarily high profile victories.

A good performance will be a huge boost though.

Originally posted by Naminirt View Post
            wolfe and morrison face look bleach
            Your brain seems bleached.

El Salvador ??

Yes.

'specially now that they are in the HEX.

And they are playing darn good football right now.

I thought we played them already with our 'B' side ??

I am sure They would claim to use their B side too.

But the litmusss tessss comes nexxx week.

When last have we lost against El Salvador?

El Salvador ??
                        Di man muss lick him head. That side is awful.

So we are the favorites?
                          I wonder how that came about?

Wishing the Boyz well...and excellent TEAMplay!

Why would they ?

Dem nuh in qualifying ?

Yuh can check di lineup for the game..

Don1 he must mean they were out all night before partying...bleaching... or dem nuh seh dat no more?