• Johnson driving San Jose's offense

Johnson driving San Jose's offense

Earthquakes forward leading squad in goals this season

$(document).ready(function () {simpleDateTime('2009-06-30T20:06:00Z');})By Jeff Carlisle / MLSnet.com Staff
    San Jose forward Ryan Johnson has six goals in 14 games this season. (Pribyl/Getty)

More Headlines >

SANTA CLARA, Calif. -- Heading into the 2009 campaign, it was predicted that the San Jose Earthquakes would only go as far as their forwards would carry them. With the campaign almost half over, it's clear that things haven't gone like the Quakes have hoped, but what is just as obvious is that forward Ryan Johnson has more than held up his end.

The Jamaican has tallied six times in 14 matches this season, already eclipsing last year's career high of five goals. And in the process he has become one of head coach Frank Yallop's heart-and-soul guys, with his ferocious work on both sides of the ball providing the Quakes with the kind of attitude they desperately need.

"For me, Ryan is a great example of how to play the game, at least how I want it played," said Yallop. "He never gives up on anything. He's dependable, brave, he always puts in a hard day of work in practice, and it's showing in games."

When the Quakes went on a forward shopping spree during the offseason, it was expected that new arrivals Cam Weaver and Pablo Campos would immediately be inserted into the starting lineup, especially since Yallop had long mentioned that the Quakes needed to get more powerful up top. But in Johnson, the Quakes soon realized that his combination of pace and power would do plenty to trouble opposition defenses. As a result, Weaver was eventually traded to Houston.

"[Johnson] does a lot of things outside the box for us," said Yallop. "Just getting [open] and running and fighting. All of the things you ask him to do, he does."

Of course, Johnson's primary job is to score goals, and he's filled that role well. The Oregon State product set an ambitious target of 10 goals prior to the start of the season, and that mark now looks well within reach, although he's taking nothing for granted.

"I feel I'm like I'm on pace," said Johnson. "I feel like I'm bound for a two-goal game somewhere, so I just have to keep plugging away. And the number one thing is I just have to keep myself in the lineup because I know if I'm on the field I'm going to score."

Added Yallop: "I'd be surprised if doesn't get it. It won't be from a lack of chances, because he gets a lot of chances."

The Jamaican took a circuitous route to landing in San Jose. He was originally drafted by Real Salt Lake in the third round of the 2006 SuperDraft. He was traded to Chicago in the middle of the following season but failed to settle there as well, and eventually made his way to Sweden, making 11 appearances for Osters IF in 2007.

After a stint indoors with the New Jersey Ironmen, Johnson eventually made his way to the Quakes during training camp last season, and excelled in a role as a super sub and spot starter.

An offseason regimen that included a heavy emphasis on improving his finishing now appears to have paid off. Yet despite finding a home in San Jose, recognition has been slow to come. That is partially due to the team's struggles, but Johnson hasn't gotten much love from the Jamaican national team either.

Johnson has made just one appearance for the Reggae Boyz, and looks likely to miss out on the CONCACAF Gold Cup.

"I'm the leading Jamaican in this league in scoring, so if I don't get called in I'll be pretty disappointed," said Johnson. "They've changed coaches a lot, so you never know who the [forwards] are going to be."

But Johnson's disappointment appears to be San Jose's gain, and with the Quakes still sitting at the foot of the Western Conference table, Yallop is more than happy to have his leading scorer available.

"He's had to fight to get recognition his whole career," said Yallop of Johnson. "He's done very well, and I hope it continues."

Jeff Carlisle is a contributor to MLSnet.com.

T.K. please forward a copy of this report to Coach Whitmore and the rest of his selection panel (Hail Brickie )

Too late however, for a GC selection but, as one poster opined yesterday, there will be plenty more chances for young players like Hodges, Daley, Bayliss, Ryan Johnson and (the not-so-young) Shavar Thomas. If Johnson keeps up the good work at San Jose, then I'm sure his work will not go unnoticed. However, there is difference between being noticed and that of breaking into the Old Boys Club. We'll see!
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

If the USA does not come in and take him
      Racist Zeppo Said "Against Italy? Sure. But keep in mind that's the reigning World Champion and not some chump Caribbean team we're used to slapping around in CONCACAF" Zeppo

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
        T.K. please forward a copy of this report to Coach Whitmore and the rest of his selection panel (Hail Brickie )

Too late however, for a GC selection but, as one poster opined yesterday, there will be plenty more chances for young players like Hodges, Daley, Bayliss, Ryan Johnson and (the not-so-young) Shavar Thomas. If Johnson keeps up the good work at San Jose, then I'm sure his work will not go unnoticed. However, there is difference between being noticed and that of breaking into the Old Boys Club. We'll see!
        Yeah I feel bad for Ryan Johnson but truth be told I have seen bigger injustices. He will get his opportunity with the Boyz. He needs to keep his head down and keep playing well. Yes the selection panel (Hail Brickie as well ) does have a few selection headaches to deal with as it relates to the forward line. We have quiet a bit of talent there. - T.K.

touche...yuh on form Redz. Is he a US resident? or a Jamaican (yuh kno what I mean) plying his trade in the US?

US why? what do you think he should do?
            Racist Zeppo Said "Against Italy? Sure. But keep in mind that's the reigning World Champion and not some chump Caribbean team we're used to slapping around in CONCACAF" Zeppo

If he is that good I would like him to represent JA... however, at some point his personal interests (whatever those are) might be what will guide him and if he were to get a US call up (assuming residents can represent US), and none from the JFF, well... it would behis best chance to get to a WC and worlwide exposure.