• CONCACAF gives USA 7 more Gold Cup roster spots

Confederations Cup teams permitted to boost Gold Cup rosters

Any team playing in both the Confederations Cup and Gold Cup in the same year will be allowed to increase its roster from 23 to 30 players, CONCACAF announced Tuesday. The decision will enable the United States to add seven players to its already announced squad for the tournament that starts Friday.

“In light of the consecutive competitions, the Confederations Cup and the Gold Cup, with the objective of providing the best performance possible for the public, and in recognition that the back-to-back tournaments strain players and their clubs, CONCACAF will give permission to any team who also is participating in the Confederations Cup in the same year to enlarge their roster to 30 from the 23 already permitted,” CONCACAF General Secretary Chuck Blazer said.

(continue)

I don't mind if they want to expand the roster to 30 spots but they should extend the courtesy to every team in the tournament. That way everyone is working on even terms. Better yet CONCACAF should come to their damn senses and only have the Gold Cup once every four years instead of every six months. It makes absolutely no sense to have this tournament now during qualifiers. - T.K.

So what would perennial losers like us who frequently mek an early exit from WC do? Every two years is fine wid me.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
        So what would perennial losers like us who frequently mek an early exit from WC do? Every two years is fine wid me.
        I hear what you're saying Hortical but I think having the tournament every two years really cheapens it. You want it to mean something where every teams sends their top players and are in a position to put their best foot forward. With the current format the only Gold Cup that matters are the ones where a confederation cup spot is at stake. The off year Gold Cups are glorified friendlies with half the field at half strength. Why CONCACAF wants to put out an inferior product as their showcase when they don't have to is beyond me really. - T.K.

Yuh waan tek wi wi likkle 'World Cup' ?

LOL Maudib.... - T.K.

Altidore among seven added to U.S. squad

Jozy Altidore, whose first-half goal helped spark the United States past Spain in the semifinals of the Confederations Cup, was among seven players added to the U.S. roster for the CONCACAF Gold Cup on Thursday.

Coach Bob Bradley augmented his roster two days after CONCACAF announced a provision that allows any team competing in the Confederations Cup and the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the same year to expand its Gold Cup roster from 23 to 30 players.

(continue)

How about they continue to play it every two years and if we have two different winners, then they both battle each other over two legs for a spot in the confederations cup!? Now that would be a meaningful game!! Concacaf cannot afford to play this tournament every four years because it is not like Europe where a lot is going on, and there are numerous quality teams. Bottomline, we need competition in this region.

Originally posted by Sensi View Post
                  How about they continue to play it every two years and if we have two different winners, then they both battle each other over two legs for a spot in the confederations cup!? Now that would be a meaningful game!! Concacaf cannot afford to play this tournament every four years because it is not like Europe where a lot is going on, and there are numerous quality teams. Bottomline, we need competition in this region.
                  Sensi you know what? That is an excellent idea! You just killed two birds with one stone. How does that saying about genius go again? Expertise hits a target everyone can see but genius hits a target no one can see. I think you've found the perfect solution. - T.K.