• Jamaica Trying To Add Thomas To Gold Cup Roster

Jamaica Trying To Add Thomas To Gold Cup Roster

Shavar Thomas said the Jamaican FA was trying to add him after a pair of players were lost to the team for Gold Cup after the deadline to submit rosters for the tournament had passed.

Jun 29, 2009 9:02:18 AM

Photo Gallery
    Zoom

Shavar Thomas, Chivas USA (ISI)
    Related Links

Teams

CARSON, Calif. - Jamaica were hit with a pair of losses late last week and the Caribbean nation tried to at least fill one of those spots with an MLS defender.

After Jamaica lost both Andy Williams and Marlon King for the upcoming Gold Cup, the Reggae Boyz were trying to add Chivas USA's Shavar Thomas to their squad for the upcoming tournament.

The cutoff date for registering players to the official tournament roster came and went but Jamaican officials were trying to get the Chivas USA defender onto the squad regardless.

"They're trying to see if CONCACAF would accept the late addition," Thomas said.

Should Thomas get himself onto the team, he would start his own Gold Cup quest where he plays his home [COLOR=#0464d1! important][COLOR=#0464d1! important]games[/COLOR][/COLOR] as Jamaica opens Friday against Canada at Home Depot Center. For Thomas, the chance to play for Jamaica is not one he takes lightly.

"To play for my country whenever the time comes is a tremendous honor. I was fortunate to play in youth World Cups, national team qualifiers, friendlies," he said. "It's been an honor. Whenever they need me to don the colors, if they call me, I'm there."

Thomas, a veteran of the 2001 FIFA World Youth Championship, said that the Gold Cup would take on extra meaning this year for the Reggae Boyz since they did not get past the semifinal phase of World Cup qualifying.

"It's an important tournament especially for us because unfortunately we didn't make it to the final phase of World Cup qualifying," Thomas said. "It's a stepping stone for the coach to see the new young and upcoming talent and for the world to see what we have."

Goal.com

I'm just happy is not Boxhill doing it!

I must admit it's sort of a strange decision to go after Thomas at this point. The players they lost were King and Williams so one would think that Whitmore would be looking for a mid-fielder or striker. I am kind of scratching my head at that one.

On top of that it would have been real easy to have called Andy Williams before the preliminary roster was due and checked his situation out before the invite. I don't think it is a big leap to think that someone whose wife is fighting a deadly disease may not want to leave the home front for a long period of time. I am a bit suprised no one thought that through and gave a him a ring ahead of time. - T.K.

Yeah it's Tappa so yuh have to watch your tongue. No "farrin" coach to blame this time

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
          On top of that it would have been real easy to have called Andy Williams before the preliminary roster was due and checked his situation out before the invite. I don't think it is a big leap to think that someone whose wife is fighting a deadly disease may not want to leave the home front for a long period of time. I am a bit suprised no one thought that through and gave a him a ring ahead of time. - T.K.
          Mosiah ongly have strength fi King. Williams should have declined the invitation immediately but hey.....

Ummm ... didn't realize Thomas wasn't included in the original roster. I wonder why?

Mosiah ongly have strength fi King. Williams should have declined the invitation immediately but hey.....
              Well we know that King was Mosiah's favorite player from 19-how-long.

Even if Williams had declined the invitation immediately I believe Tappa would have been in the same situation as you can only pull a player from your preliminary roster to fill the final roster spot. Don't quote me on this as these rules change all the while but if memory serves me correct we would have been in a bind either way.

I think a quick phone call before the preliminary roster was submitted would have averted all trouble. - T.K.

Ummm ... didn't realize Thomas wasn't included in the original roster. I wonder why?
                Davis, Marshall, Goodison, Stewart....- T.K.

Yeah, read the squad list afterwards saw why he was omitted.

All I want to know is which station gwine show the game this friday. I am taking the day off so I'll be home to watch it. TK yuh caan talk to yuh friend dem at FSN?
                    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

All I want to know is which station gwine show the game this friday. I am taking the day off so I'll be home to watch it. TK yuh caan talk to yuh friend dem at FSN?
                      Yuh nuh say yuh have Galavision?

mi go through the schedule last night and me nuh see no Jamaica game. Maybe I overlooked it.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

No one is showing the JA-CAN match. I think only OJ and JLIJ will be able to watch this one. We salt. LOL...you think FSN can afford to waste time on a match between JA and Cananda? Two teams that are minnows within CONCACAF? I don't think so.

I know when we play Costa Rica and El Salvador Galavision has our backs. GOLASO! - T.K.

No one is showing the JA-CAN match. I think only OJ and JLIJ will be able to watch this one. We salt. LOL...you think FSN can afford to waste time on a match between JA and Cananda? Two teams that are minnows within CONCACAF? I don't think so.

I know when we play Costa Rica and El Salvador Galavision has our backs. GOLASO! - T.K.

"...you think FSN can afford to waste time on a match between JA and Cananda? Two teams that are minnows within CONCACAF? I don't think so. "

Huh? T.K., yuh back affi broad fi say such things round here.

"...you think FSN can afford to waste time on a match between JA and Cananda? Two teams that are minnows within CONCACAF? I don't think so. "

Huh? T.K., yuh back affi broad fi say such things round here.
                              Not really Lazie. The results speak for themselves. - T.K.