"We do not want respect...we want to win".

• "We do not want respect...we want to win".

...said Donovan in a interview after the Brazil game.

Quite a profound statement if you ax me.

Enought to keep the forum pundits quiet (until they compose new questions to show the US soccer squad is not good).

...said Donovan in a interview after the Brazil game.

Quite a profound statement if you ax me.

Enought to keep the forum pundits quiet (until they compose new questions to show the US soccer squad is not good).
    Damn ... when I heard it I wondered how many of the gladis round here heard it, but then again, seeing the USA leading 2-0 at halftime, they may have tuned in to cricket.

Spot on. Moral victories are not victories at all.

Donovan has grown leaps and bound personally.

Only sad thing is he went to a team in Germany last year who didn't know how to use his service and had Ribery.

Instead of playing him as an attacking mid as an attacking mid they were using him as a forward. He has never really been effective as a forward at the highest level but playing behnind the forwards going forward he is someone to watch.

The coach did the right thing by putting Dempsey in the forward line and Donovan right behind. Maybe it was a good thing Ching didn't make it.

Donovan has grown leaps and bound personally.

Only sad thing is he went to a team in Germany last year who didn't know how to use his service and had Ribery.

Instead of playing him as an attacking mid as an attacking mid they were using him as a forward. He has never really been effective as a forward at the highest level but playing behnind the forwards going forward he is someone to watch.

The coach did the right thing by putting Dempsey in the forward line and Donovan right behind. Maybe it was a good thing Ching didn't make it.
          ...always wonder what was Cling's 'purpose'? yeah it might have been a blessing he was absent.

I surely hope Altidore and Davis quickly develop to fullest their TEAMplay. ...if they were 'thinking' TEAM and played TEAM better Brazil could have picked up 4 or 5! They certainly made the inroads into the Brazilian half and at times penalty-area...but that one final early pass to the open Donovan or Dempsey was not made...

...bwoy that would have been something?

Good thing that Donovan has "grown leaps and bounds" hate to think what he would have done otherwise...I found his behaviour after the Spain game a bit like a jacka$$...but I suppose winning gives you licence... so he's gotten what he wants... a pretty good win gainst the top ranked team in the world (Spain) and still no respect

what he has to be concerned with is how some teams will show their lack of respect; hope reggaeboyz disrespect USA when next we meet...maybe in the GC?
            Last edited by Peter R; June 29, 2009, 03:50 PM.

Good thing that Donovan has "grown leaps and bounds" hate to think what he would have done otherwise...I found his behaviour after the Spain game a bit like a jacka$$...but I suppose winning gives you licence... so he's gotten what he wants... a pretty good win gainst the top ranked team in the world (Spain) and still no respect

what he has to be concerned with is how some teams will show their lack of respect; hope reggaeboyz disrespect USA when next we meet...maybe in the GC?
              Disagree with Sass that he has grown. I think he still givs his FULL 100 and always TEAM play! ...using his talent(s) to 'di max'!

...or were you just pulling Sass' legs?

Very glad you bring-up Ching's name Assasin.

I was thinking the opposite.

I have just recently started to appreciate Ching as a striker.

Ching is a work-horse. He keeps defense busy--and forces them to make hasty passes......

Altidore is a pure striker. He has to be coax into rushing the defense. He also does very little defending. (Well, he does defend on set pieces in his own half).

The new kid Davis is more like Ching. Fast and always rushing the defense.

Ching could have made some difference up front.

he has grown personally meaning from his hide and seek days.

He was like Asafa Powell. Had the potential but to go to another level but just lake the self motivation.

The changed showed last year when he decided to go back to Germany and fight it out rather than the comfort of the MLS. He didn't make it at Bayern but that is the top team, but it showed the change in character. You could also see it in these games. He actually competed.

Careless what disrespect you are talking about. USA has taken enuff disprect in the soccer world so what if they give back one or two?

what did he do after the spain game?

Ching is a Hard worker but I don't rate him as a striker. The US team have a lot of hard worker and for the past two years needed a little more quality up front. Now that Altidore is maturing and Charlie Davis don't look so bad they maybe able to do better.

I thought the USA was the highest ranked Concacaf team ?

Dem nuh rank inna di top 20 ? Who tell yuh seh dem nuh good ?

I think they are #14 ranked by FIFA in the world and the top team in CONCACAF.
                          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran