• Williams, King out of Gold Cup

Williams, King out of Gold Cup
    Published: Saturday | June 27, 2009

Audley Boyd, Assistant Editor - Sports
    GEORGE TOWN, Grand Cayman:

STRIKER MARLON King and midfielder Andy 'Bomber' Williams have been ruled out of Jamaica's squad for the CONCACAF Golf Cup.

"Yes it's a certainty, he's definitely out," head coach Theodore Whitmore told The Gleaner in response to queries about Marlon King's inclusion in the final selection for the Gold Cup, after he had stated that " ... We've to make a decision in leaving Marlon King out the squad."

Whitmore added: "He says he has a hamstring injury, but we don't have time."

He added: "Andy Williams is out because of family commitments."

http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/glean...s/sports4.html

We've to make a decision in leaving Marlon King out the squad."

Whitmore added: "He says he has a hamstring injury, but we don't have time."
    Can anyone give a good reason why King should not be retired from the national team? After this Gold Cup we won't be needing him for another two years, earliest. Time to move on from this major distraction.

We have a good crop of young strikers (Ryan Johnson, Omar Cummings, Luton Shelton, Devon Hodges, Davion Boyd and even the linky Keamar Daley) just bursting to solidify their position in the starting lineup. King may very well have a legit hamstring injury but this Gold Cup would possibly have been his last meaningful competition for the Boyz. I see no reason to persist with him beyond this point given that we're out of the 2010 WC.
      "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

When would King have picked up this hamstring injury? Climbing the steps of the courthouse?

Interesting! isn't it? Well, he could always claim that the unsupervised workout the trainer had faxed to him resulted in overexertion...

Time to move on and develop those we have. Omar Cummings, Ryan Johnson and Devon Hodges are quality replacements for King.
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

It look like unnu nuh hear bout the "Gulf"?

NPL and MLS players a put we deeper inna the hole.

When would King have picked up this hamstring injury? Climbing the steps of the courthouse?
              And nobody was aware Andy Williams had lingering family issues?

Mo, you should know that it does not take much to get that type of injury. He could be running up the sairs in his house and it happened.

I know you do not like MK, but you do not have to be so hard on him.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

It look like the man dem forget seh King de pon bail,would he be allowed to leave the UK anyway? Time to move on.

That's why we left that one alone. Duh!

Why was he called for the team? Now we cannot call up another player.