You know what just struck me?

i know about the tests, but it is more of an aptitude test.

there are several products that are being marketed along those lines not only for pro sports (including soccer and hockey) but also for the military.

again the audible is about repitition. the nfl makes it very easy to see who has blown their assignment and so if one doesn't have the aptitude it is quickly exposed.

having said that though, dexter manley was not all by his lonesome and functional illiterates work VERY hard to compensate for their shortcomings. take a DE for example, stop the run and or get to the qb...btw i would have thought that the LB score would have been higher...

NFL Football makes certain demands on the reasoning capacity of NFL players, such that there is a test administered to measure that level.

And if they do poorly on the test they do not get drafted right and/or are inferior players??

I would be interested in seeing the results from tests on 'Soccer players'...

David Beckham begs the question...

Offensive Linemen are some of the smartest athletes.. I suspect some would think otherwise, some don't even regard them as Athletes...

Oh well..ignorance is bliss...

I suspect it factors into the overall assessment of a player... I do not know if there is ONE specific test or measurement during the draft that makes a player ineligible..

II do not know if there is ONE specific test or measurement during the draft that makes a player ineligible..
              I do. Lack of talent. Period.

Just passing through so just a quick comment on NFL... this is a sport that is played as much OFF the field as ON it. The coaches with their playbooks are like the generals and the players the footsoldiers... IMHO that is NOT what sport should be about; don't lick me, it's my opinion.

Real football is like that to a certain extent but once the players are out there they do not have the coach holding their hand every five to ten seconds which is what we see in NFL.

That is why mi luv mi cricket!

Suh wait.. yuh tink yuh can apply for the draft at 7-11 ?

mi talking about dem dat have the baseline talent to even be considered draftable.. yuh have nuff yute dat have the talent but nuh get drafted..

Suh wait.. yuh tink yuh can apply for the draft at 7-11 ?

mi talking about dem dat have the baseline talent to even be considered draftable.. yuh have nuff yute dat have the talent but nuh get drafted..
                    Yes agreed. Of those that are projected first round picks how many of them have an above average Wonderlic score? Not many. Do they still get drafted in the first round? Yes they do.

Holding their hands ??

The complexity of NFL football makes it VERY difficult for one person to be analyzing to the level that is required AND execute on the field.. there are probably only 2 QB that have free reign to do this.. Peyton Manning is one..

You are managing 50 players and have no limits on substitution.. Football is as close to real War as you can get in Sport..

Well at least we know how narrow you perspective is..

You definition of an athlete and your defintion of what sport is about leaves lot to be desired..

Open your mind.. you might be surprised at how it increases your enjoyment..

What exactly is your point ?

Higher education or the lack thereof does not help or hinder athletes performance or "knowledge" of the game.

that is nice.. what does this have to do with the Wonderlic test ?

College prepares one to learn and problem solve. The Wonderlic test supposedly measures one's aptitude to learn and problem solve. The better question is what does the Wonderlic and higher education have to do with an athlete's on field performance?
                              Last edited by Bricktop; June 29, 2009, 05:51 PM.

I dunno.. ask the NFL nuh.. ah dem administer di test.. maybe dem nuh have nutting bettah fi duh wid dem time..