You know what just struck me?

Yeah, why don't you use your third eye and stop listening to the media?
    Is Mike Bradley up to standard? How many red cards did mike get for showing his deficiencies against quality players (yet he still plays)?

Give Freddy the same amount of playing time,allowing him to fup and all then see if he wouldn't shine.

That team is a circus trust me on that.

No it's not about race, it's the blatant nepotism and bs that's going on the team. I knew they could beat Spain but for my own reasons (I want the Bradley circus to end), I was hoping paper tiger would rise to the occasion. Aah well.
    Yes I believe Michael Bradley is up to standards. I don't believe nepotism is at issue here. He deserves to start for the US plain and simple. Next to Donovan he is their top player in my opinion. Has nothing to do with media. The boy can play.

Whether giving Freddy the same amount of playing time as MB would make him shine I can't say either way.

What I will say however is that if Freddy wants MB playing time he has to earn it. Right now he is far from challenging for playing time for the men's national team. I personally don't even see how he makes the 2010 team with the return of Feilhaber from injury and Torres playing regularly for Pachuca. Those are two guys who can create extremely well from open play which is was what made Freddy unique to the player pool. Now that he has at minimum one guy (Feilhaber) who can fill his niche and another similar player who is playing regularly for his club just getting his feet wet with the national program (Torres) Freddy can no longer count on his potential gaining him opportunities with the national team. Those days are past I feel.

Zeppo and Paul Marin bring a good point that 2010 is far away so we'll see how it all pans out.

You also bring up a good point about Bradley and his tendency for reckless challenges. That is a part of his game he will have to improve when he plays for the national team.

It is interesting that he has never had this issue when he played with the Red Cows, Herenveen or his current club Monchengladbach. It is only with the national team that he does these late game cane cutting assaults.

You do wonder if with another coach if he would not be punished for this indiscipline or if they would see it as his father does the growing pains of a 21 year old. There maybe something psychological as well. I can imagine if you're playing for the national team and your father is the coach feeling a great responsibility to perform for him. Especially since whenever you don't play the game of your life people will be crying nepotism. (not a shot at you Jawge just in general) - T.K.

Image if they could get the gifted athletes.. like the ones that play in the NFL !!
      Shoot...I would settle for talented double-dutch athletes. - T.K.

a backhand slap?
        LoL...I don't know if it was meant as a backhaned slap but it must have felt like one to those who made monkey chants at the black players from England or Samuel Eto. - T.K.

Pure unadulterated conjecture... again!

Actually, basic reasoning.. of course one has to understand that 'soccer' is not magic. It is actually just like any other sport that leverages athleticism.

NFL also tests the intelligence of players. NFL is one of the most cerebral sports, requiring tons of Film study on opponents... as close to chess as it gets. As in 'soccer' but I would say to a greater degree it relies not so much on the player with the ball but on the actions and movement of players WITHOUT the ball.

If the 'soccer' teams could get the coaching brain trust invested in NFL football.. sky is the limit...

NFL also tests the intelligence of players
              What do they do with the information gleaned from these tests? The "intelligence" of players in key positions on NFL teams does not seem to me to be that high.

i tend to agree.....it requires knowing the assignment on each play and the player is responsible for HIS assignments. watching film always helps but in the NFL the key thing is REPETITION .... practising the plays over and over again. there is not much room for improvisation as it is far more structured. the nfl is more akin to swotting.

soccer players are far more creative, whether that requires a greater degree of intelligence i leave that to the expert

Yuh evah si an NFL Playbook ?

The majority of NFL players come through the US College system.. many of them obtain degrees.. at MINIMUM they are exposed to 1st Degree programs..

How many 'Soccer' players you know have 1st Degree ?

Yuh evah si an NFL Playbook ?

The majority of NFL players come through the US College system.. many of them obtain degrees.. at MINIMUM they are exposed to 1st Degree programs..

How many 'Soccer' players you know have 1st Degree ?
                    College taught them how to play football? What about instinct? Dexter Manley went to college for four years and couldn't even read after being drafted for christsake. How many more NFL players are in the same boat?

Yuh have the Game plan as contructed during the week based on opponent analysis.. den yuh have the actual game where strategy changes as situations demand.. yuh have audibles which in itself is a different language which the QB calls out independent of the coaching staff..

Idiots are quickly exposed in the NFL.. actually before dem even reach..

Dem all have a test called the Wonderlick

Though used in a wide variety of institutions, the Wonderlic test has become best known for its use in the NFL pre-draft assessments of prospective football players.

This assessment roughly corresponds to examples from Paul Zimmerman's The New Thinking Man's Guide to Pro Football. According to Zimmerman, examples of average scores for each position are:

Offensive tackle - 26
                      Center - 25
                      Quarterback - 24
                      Guard - 23
                      Tight end - 22
                      Safety - 19
                      Linebacker - 19
                      Cornerback - 18
                      Wide receiver - 17
                      Fullback - 17
                      Halfback - 16

See the Wonderlick test..

Show me the comparitive in other sports..

So if Brasil choose their squad based on results from the Wonderlic test they would be a better team?

Dunno.. who is suggesting that ?

Let's cut to the chase. What are you suggesting?