You know what just struck me?

• You know what just struck me?

You know what stuck me in regards to the US win over Spain?

5 of the 11 players on the field were black. Altidore, Davies, Clark, Onyewu and Howard all started. I don't know why I just noticed this but it is pretty remarkable all things considered. I remember before the 2006 World Cup Bruce Arena said that the sport had progressed to a point in the US that he could field a full 11 of all black american players and put out a competitive team.

Yes I know this has nothing to do with nothing I just found it interesting especially when you consider how Spanish fans have treated black players in the past. - T.K.

Zeppo big congrats on the win man! A true blue vintage USA performance all the way! I was very happy for the team.

Speaking of black players... I was listening the ESPN soccer podcast and panel brought up an interesting point regarding Freddy Adu. They were talking about the Gold Cup roster and one of the panelists mentioned that he believed that this Gold Cup was going to be the make or break point for Freddy as far as making the 2010 World Cup squad.

The thinking was that Freddy is going to get the keys to the car and if he can't drive it during the GC followed by another likely season of mediocrity in Europe he doesn't see anyway that Bob Bradley will take him to SA with the midfield position for the US being so strong. You look at guys like Donovan, Dempsey, Clark, Bradley, Feilhaber, Edu, Jones, Torres, Klejstan and Beasley and you can see where Freddy can't make this team as the player pool stands now.

What do you think? Is this Gold Cup make or break for Freddy? - T.K.

He's still young, so "make or break" is more than a bit harsh. Part of Freddy's problem is his ego, he has been made to believe that he is better than he actually is. A very good talent, but he has work to do.

They were talking "make or break" as it related to making the 2010 World Cup team not his career overall. - T.K.

T.K., I think that the next season, at whatever club he might end up at, will be far more important for Freddy's WC chances that the Gold Cup will be.

The Gold Cup is still an entire year before the World Cup kicks off, and I believe that Bob Bradley recently said that U.S. players need to be playing regularly with their clubs if they want to be in the mix for the national team. It was no mystery who he was mainly referring to.

Just for discussion's sake let's say that Freddy does have a poor Gold Cup....what kind of season in Europe would he need to have make that 2010 squad. Would he need to make the game day roster of his club team regularly? super sub off the bench regularly? start regularly? a mix of starts and super sub? Or would any improvement over his last two years in europe be enough to put a poor display in the Gold Cup behind him?

The reason I pose it like that is because I think Bradley has called him into enough camps to see what he can do and for whatever reason doesn't rate him. Whether it is quality, rustiness or any host of issues we can't know as we are not in training to see. However it does say something when he hasn't even touched the field in any meaningful matches for the States. Any qualifying matches that count for anything and confed cup Freddy has been a permanent fixture on the bench.

I really think his prospects for making that 2010 are slim to none. Especially when you look at that roster I listed in my previous post. Add in guys like Clarke, Holden, Evans and Arnaud from MLS ramping up the pressure from below and you wonder if Freddy is not on borrowed time as it relates to next summer. Sorry for the long run ons but you get the gist of what I am saying.

On a side note I am thrilled to see Clarke and Holden get a shot. Those guys have been really good this season. I am also happy to see Rogers in the mix as well. He hasn't been that good this season nor for the full nats but I do think he's quality and along with Clarke is definitely a good guy to look at for that left mid spot. Donovan certainly plays that position well but it would be nice to have a back up for him there not named Damarcus Beasley. - T.K.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
                They were talking "make or break" as it related to making the 2010 World Cup team not his career overall. - T.K.
                Sorry - you're right. Well the GC is important to establish himself, but form coming into the WC is more important in getting into the squad. Plus, you never know who is going to get injured.

T.K., we still have a long way to go. See how the squad is shaping up in the early part of next year and who's available. The point about the GC is important because it does give him an opportunity (if him get game) to show what he can do in a high profile tournament. But it is still early.

I hear what you're saying Paul. I agree it is early and next year is a long way off but I can't help but feel that a poor performance in the GC will just be another confirmation of what Bradley feels already by watching him in training....he's simply not up to standards. - T.K.

Yup!
                      ...needs to be for TEAM, 1st...TEAM, 2nd....TEAM, 3rd...etc. ...needs to make it less about Adu and all about TEAM!

Image if they could get the gifted athletes.. like the ones that play in the NFL !!

Yeah, why don't you use your third eye and stop listening to the media?
                          Is Mike Bradley up to standard? How many red cards did mike get for showing his deficiencies against quality players (yet he still plays)?

Give Freddy the same amount of playing time,allowing him to fup and all then see if he wouldn't shine.

That team is a circus trust me on that.

No it's not about race, it's the blatant nepotism and bs that's going on the team. I knew they could beat Spain but for my own reasons (I want the Bradley circus to end), I was hoping paper tiger would rise to the occasion. Aah well.

a backhand slap?

Eyy...is what site me de pon?

Peter "certain man dem proxy" R