No Ronaldo, no goals, no title ...

• No Ronaldo, no goals, no title ...

Reality is about to hit Fergie like a wet football ...

The summer optimism at Manchester United will be as high as ever after they
    were gifted an opening game at home against relegation candidates Birmingham.

All hail the Old Trafford saviour: Sir Alex Ferguson with non-scoring striker Dimitar Berbatov
    A feast of goals will be expected but even if that materialises it is more likely to be the exception rather than the norm in the absence of Cristiano Ronaldo next season.
    Real Madrid may be paying £80m for him but it won't stop United losing their Premier League crown.
    Ronaldo's imminent departure has brought a raft of theories about how United will cope without him: Wayne Rooney will now be the main man, Karim Benzema will be bought to fill the void or Carlos Tevez will stay and save the day.
    Notable by its absence is the notion of Dimitar Berbatov - the striker who doesn't want to be known as a goalscorer - coming to the rescue, but that is another story.
    The problem is that it is tough to make a compelling case for any of the arguments United followers believe in.

Rooney, despite his talk of becoming more selfish, enjoys so much more than goalscoring and will not transform his game overnight.
    Benzema, even if he comes, is unproven in England and most foreign players (including the others United are looking at) take time to adjust, while fitting Tevez with United's other strikers is still a problem for Sir Alex Ferguson.
    Ronaldo has been United's top Premier League goalscorer for the last three seasons. Each time the second highest scorer has trailed some way behind and they have come to rely on him.
    He intimidates defenders, scores goals from free-kicks to headers and provides lots of assists too. If there was one player the rest of the top flight will be glad to be rid of, it will be Ronaldo (and not just because of his diving)...as United will find out to their cost.

I'm one Manu fan that wish he was still at the Empire, but he wanted to follow his dream. By the way, didn't they say the same when Ruud left? Last I checked the Empire has won the EPL every season since Ruud left.

Who in your estimation was the more impact player, Pink Shorts7 or Ruud ?

eermm.....(snicker)...... come now Twan, show some respect.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Originally posted by Twan View Post
          Who in your estimation was the more impact player, Pink Shorts7 or Ruud ?
          Thats not what you should look at ... look at how the team changed when Ruud left ... lets wait and see what change now that Ronaldo left. Mi recall man and man predicting how we wouldn't even mek CL when dem hear say Ruud leff ....3 EPL trophies, 2 CL finals and beaten semifinalist since he left.

3 EPL trophies, 2 CL finals and beaten semifinalist since he left.
            You could have stopped at the 3 EPL trophies. Being a finalist only makes you second best

For those not paying attention, they actually won one of those finals and to get to the finals of the UCL isn't cake walk.

You are right to wish Pink Rose was still at your little club. Despite my suspicions about his orientation, I can't argue with his talent. Fantastic player. But even though he is gone, as you quite correctly point out, anyone that writes off the evil Sith Lord Darth Vader is not a good student of history. While it will be tougher this year, Slurgy will find a way...even if him have to ++++ ...alright...there, mi neva say it!

la vie en rose.....

No joke about his taking of and scoring from free-kicks!
                    Who shall fill that spot for BoyU?

Man U might even be better next season without Ronaldo,football is such a funny old game.

Whether Ronaldo was there or not, for them to win 4 in a row would have been an amazing accomplishment. Even though I can't stand him and his hypocrisy, Slurgy is definitely one for the history books. No one will be able to match his record as it stands today, an him don't done yet!