the fact is as a group they are not miles ahead. There is collectively some quality and talent in both teams.
As a team they are.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
You seem fascinated with club ball ... well .. despite all the "mediocre" players the USA have they'll be playing in the final of a FIFA competition on Sunday, they will certainly be back in South Africa this time next year. Meanwhile Jamaicans still hyping about some very "skilled" players that haven't delivered.
LazyBrain you need to understand the difference between individual players and team play. You are so naive it's (almost) unbelievable.
The US players are average.... but they are well schooled & the team well prepared to play to a plan within their limitations... so their TEAM is able compete at a high level.... despite the average players.
Organization and preparation will beat so called "skill" 9 times out of ten.
Too bad google doesn't dispense wisdom... merely information.
LazyBrain you need to understand the difference between individual players and team play. You are so naive it's (almost) unbelievable.
The US players are average.... but they are well schooled & the team well prepared to play to a plan within their limitations... so their TEAM is able compete at a high level.... despite the average players.
Organization and preparation will beat so called "skill" 9 times out of ten.
Too bad google doesn't dispense wisdom... merely information.
Good day to you to Bittah1. Nuh see yuh post since yesterday .. was wondering if yuh took it to heart that the USA reach the Confed Cup final.
From when we've been fooling ourselves bout our players and their skill level. I recall when I watched our High School team trained for the first time .. strikers a rattle cross bar ... keeper a fly like Superman .... then came their first match against Dinthill ... reality set in.
The reality is we haven't defeated the USA senior team. They've always outscored us whenever there is a winner .. guh check the records.
Its the score that counts ... not skillz. You people nuh know how silly unuh sound with this ridiculous argument bout skill.
I have spoken to American coaches and agents and they all complain about the same thing. How far behind the players are tactically and that the decision making process is too slow.
Of course Ricketts is good, he however had a spell where he was going through some serious issues with his keeping. I defend him with the kicking out the ball quite frequently. Tyrone is a good player. Peppe is a good player, but Peppe on the ball is not that great and he does ball watch from time to time. Bibi can’t shoot his actual tackling is not that great and from time to time his positioning is poor. But he is creative, very fast and a very unselfish player. They are the exceptions not the rule. Austin has talent, but he still has a long way to improve with the ball at his foot.
Because they are very talented all these weaknesses will be overlooked.
Claude, Daley, Stew Peas, Bibi, Hue, JJ, Fuller, Shelton, Garfield Reid, Demar all had weaknesses that were identified by their coaches, but they still decided to work with them because they could do certain things very well.
So if these american players are so complete.. why can't they succeed in good leagues?
Most are mired in the MLS (fast becoming a rest home for washed up European players) ... incidentally which tends to support the development of good national team play because players are available .... but.... falls short in fostering individual player development.
Many good international clubs would love to have at least a token yankee or 2 to attract sponsorship or merchandising dollars... but the americans are simply not good enough.
Fact is American players are very average... but their system does prepare adequate teams despite this handicap.
There is a vast gulf betwen the US and Jamaica in team play but... our professional players appear to be their equal or superior.... not so the NPL based pool... which cohort suffers from the disorganization and lack of support at home.
well we Zeppo orginal comment was that there is a gulf between our players and American players and there simply is not. Not at the national senior level.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
So if these american players are so complete.. why can't they succeed in good leagues?
Most are mired in the MLS (fast becoming a rest home for washed up European players) ... incidentally which tends to support the development of good national team play because players are available .... but.... falls short in fostering individual player development.
Many good international clubs would love to have at least a token yankee or 2 to attract sponsorship or merchandising dollars... but the americans are simply not good enough.
Fact is American players are very average... but their system does prepare adequate teams despite this handicap.
There is a vast gulf betwen the US and Jamaica in team play but... our professional players appear to be their equal or superior.... not so the NPL based pool... which cohort suffers from the disorganization and lack of support at home.
The american players are not so complete. Simply ahead of us.
Tim Howard has been excellent in the EPL, Charlie Davis has been excellent in Sweden’s top league, Bradley has been Excellent in Holland, Onyewu is the best defender in Belgium, Dempsey had a good season in the EPL, Cherundolo has excelled in the Bundesliga and has been one of his clubs top players, Donovan is more talented than most of our players, Bocanegra excelled in France.
Fuller/KIng/Bibi excelled in the EPL
Stewart/JRC/JJ excelled in championship
Rudi, Demar and Shelton in Norwegian league.
Wolf and Morrison in Hungary
Mears in France
Many of US team play MLS in which some of our players have been playing good.
The comparison is there
Is not like one side playing Professional ball and we have part time footballer. Our players are meeting the US players in the same leagues and competing against them and making a name for themselves.
Fuller/KIng/Bibi excelled in the EPL
Stewart/JRC/JJ excelled in championship
Rudi, Demar and Shelton in Norwegian league.
Wolf and Morrison in Hungary
Mears in France
Many of US team play MLS in which some of our players have been playing good.
The comparison is there
Is not like one side playing Professional ball and we have part time footballer. Our players are meeting the US players in the same leagues and competing against them and making a name for themselves.
LOL
Firstly, King, JCR and Mears are not products of Jamaica. Those are imported footballers that have nothing to do with our system.
Demar has done nothing more than in England and hasn’t accomplished anything yet in Europe.Bradley has performed better than Austin in Europe in a better league. Charlie Davis has outperformed Luton Shelton. Wolf and Morrison were playing for very low divisions and the team they moved too is the 2nd division in Hungary. Onyewu much better than Stew Peas.
How many goals have Charlie Davis scored? since he has so outperform Luton. Both of them starting in the same league and maybe same team.
The club Morrison and Wolfe played for was promoted back to the top league. They were the leading club in that country for years before demotion. Morrison did so well that his Sheffield United wants him if he can get a work permit.
Again I said Austin is untested talent and when you have Aston Villa looking at you seriously you know you are doing something right.
Many of the American players you have doing so great are just holding down a spot and not starring for their teams. Stew Peas is not my favorite player but he has improved alot. Onyewu was no better than Stew Peas could have been passed for Stew Peas 3 years ago.
How many goals have Charlie Davis scored? since he has so outperform Luton. Both of them starting in the same league and maybe same team.
The club Morrison and Wolfe played for was promoted back to the top league. They were the leading club in that country for years before demotion. Morrison did so well that his Sheffield United wants him if he can get a work permit.
Again I said Austin is untested talent and when you have Aston Villa looking at you seriously you know you are doing something right.
Many of the American players you have doing so great are just holding down a spot and not starring for their teams. Stew Peas is not my favorite player but he has improved alot. Onyewu was no better than Stew Peas could have been passed for Stew Peas 3 years ago.
I am talking about players that we produce.
Information all wrong? LOL. Go and see how many goals Luton Shelton has scored over the past two years. Knock yourself out.
They just got promoted to the top league after a three year absence and neither one has accomplished anything there yet. Both were playing in lower divisions. Sheffield having interest doesn’t mean a thing. Look how many big clubs have been interested in Donovan.
While Austin is untested, Bradley has still performed better. Onyewu has improved from being better than Stew Peas to being a lot better than stew peas. Three years ago he won the best foreign player award in Belgium.
Try again.