It's Yankee power as soccer slays fútbol!

• It's Yankee power as soccer slays fútbol!

Altidore's goal leads U.S. to stunning upset

The United States stunned top-ranked Spain 2-0 Wednesday night on goals by Jozy Altidore and Clint Dempsey, advancing to the Confederations Cup final with one of the Americans' biggest soccer victories.

Altidore scored in the 27th minute and Dempsey added a goal in the 74th as the Americans became the first team to defeat Spain since Romania in November 2006.

The chances of such a U.S. victory seemed slim just a few days ago. The 14th-ranked Americans lost their first two games in the Confederations Cup, an eight-nation World Cup warmup, and were on the verge of elimination.

(continue)

TK, I hope you see how mi yute Dempsey kick up big side.

Dempsey did not have a good game in any of the matches.

Because he scored (in the last 2 games) expunged him of poor performance.

Have to hand it to coach Bradley, he stuck with Dempsey. He took him from mid-field to forward [late into each game] and it paid off twice!!!!!1

We are just a developing soccer nation. Maybe one day we'll be able to beat world powers in soccer (football). Oh by the way if you did see the match we won today.

For those who think the usa is not a good soccer country you're still liked. Imagine if we used other players better than the ones Bradley the coach has picked. He needs to sort his selections.

Best wishes and God bless all those in the game.

PBanta

Very big loss. Michael Bradley will miss the Brazil game because of a red card.

Dempsey is not a midfielder. He struggles scoring from this position and can't defend from this position. Again, Bradely's selection at time needs help. Dempsey is a forward that likes to try to score goals. That all that he needs to do. The more he would be allowed to play in that position he could get more. It's about time Bradley figured it out.

PBanta

Good win USA!
                  "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

So SOuth Africa can't pull off an upset too?

Originally posted by Pbanta View Post
                      We are just a developing soccer nation. Maybe one day we'll be able to beat world powers in soccer (football). Oh by the way if you did see the match we won today.

For those who think the usa is not a good soccer country you're still liked. Imagine if we used other players better than the ones Bradley the coach has picked. He needs to sort his selections.

Best wishes and God bless all those in the game.

PBanta
                      Big man, the US is not a developing soccer nation; the US has a very long history with the game. The problem has always been that soccr does not have the same draw as other pro sports.

Originally posted by Pbanta View Post
                        Dempsey is not a midfielder. He struggles scoring from this position and can't defend from this position. Again, Bradely's selection at time needs help. Dempsey is a forward that likes to try to score goals. That all that he needs to do. The more he would be allowed to play in that position he could get more. It's about time Bradley figured it out.

PBanta
                        Someone needs to tell Fulham that he is not a midfielder.

Dempsey has always been a midfielder.

U.S. sends shockwaves across Europe with win against Spain

The United States' memorable bid for the ultimate tournament rally lives on. A night of stubborn, committed defending and opportunistic sniping saw the United States upend mighty Spain 2-0 in an absolute stunner.

Just a few days earlier, Bob Bradley's men had been written off as finished in the Confederations Cup. But a brave, highly improbable three-goal win over Egypt pushed the United States into the tournament semifinals and arranged the stage for Wednesday's shocker. Still, few gave the United States much of a chance against the world's No. 1 side, a fluid Spanish team blessed with elegant midfielders and prolific strikers.

Now a date with either Brazil or South Africa awaits on Sunday (the Brazilian giants and the Confederation Cup hosts meet on Thursday in the second semifinal). But Bradley's side, full of properly channeled fight and purpose in Wednesday's 2-0 win, has surely won some absolution after a spring of performances that ranged from OK to indifferent to fairly pitiful.

(continue)

Unno do spain a big favour.

Now the monkey of expectation is off their back, look for them to come hard in the WCup next year!