• Upbeat Tappa spins RBZ Caymanian holiday

'Tappa' upbeat
    Lauds Gold Cup squad at Cayman training camp
    Ian Burnett, WITH REGGAE BOYZ in Cayman
    Wednesday, June 24, 2009
    Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands - Theodore Whitmore, head coach of Jamaica's Senior football team, believes this group of Reggae Boyz can better its best ever third-place finish at the 1993 CONCACAF Gold Cup by going all the way this year.
    Whitmore... If we can't imagine, it makes no sense going to the Gold CupWhitmore was addressing reporters here yesterday at a press conference at the recently opened Cayman Islands Football Association to launch Jamaica's two-game, one-week training camp.
    "We just have to treat this Gold Cup as our World Cup. We have to treat it as our only chance," said Whitmore, who recently replaced former England winger and Liverpool legend John Barnes.
    "The reality is that we've a good squad. We've a squad that is capable of winning the competition. It's just for us to go out there and demonstrate that on the field.
    "We expect a good performance and good performances always bring good results," he said.
    He added: "If we can't imagine (lifting the Cup) then it makes no sense going to the competition. In our last games, we played against Mexico and Honduras, tough teams. I don't see why we can't go out there and do the job."
    A group of 19 players arrived from Jamaica yesterday morning for the one-week training camp without captain Ricardo Gardner, who is still recovering from an injury suffered at the backend of the English Premier League season.
    Also absent is defensive stalwart Ian Goodison, whose passport is reported to be in the possession of the UK Border Agency, as he completes his work permit application.
    Last week the Boyz had a training camp and according to Whitmore, it went well.
    "It was very successful. We were working on a bit of sharpness, a bit of fitness. Most of the players who we want to use in the Gold Cup were really off holidaying, and after 30-40 minutes (playing) we weren't really getting anything (fitness), so we were getting some conditioning and we've come here. It's the same thing because when you reach the Gold Cup there's not a lot (that) you can do because you play games, travel. It's not like we're at one venue," the coach reasoned.
    But after a quick meeting with his management staff immediately upon arrival here yesterday, Whitmore revealed that it's all systems go, as they are looking on a number of things in relation to the Gold Cup and Jamaica's opponents.
    "We have someone studying the Canada, Costa Rica and El Salvador teams," he said. "That's the sort of approach we're taking going into these games. So we're doing our thing."
    But despite the positive outlook, Whitmore conceded he had concerns going into the Gold Cup, which will be hosted in an unprecedented 13 cities across the USA from July 3-26.
    "There are a lot of concerns, not only about Gardner, but Marlon King and Jamal Campbell-Ryce as well," Whitmore said.
    "They're on holidays and we don't know what they're doing. For Gardner, at least he's (in Jamaica); he's getting his treatment and he's doing some work with the trainer... so there must be some concerns."
    Whitmore is expected to add players from the US Major League and Europe to complete his Gold Cup 20-man roster, with three stand-bys, including a goalkeeper.
    The Boyz will play their first game here tomorrow at 7:00 pm against an All-Stars team at the TE McField Sports Centre (The Annex), a recently laid artificial surface, and they complete the roster on Sunday at the same time against the Cayman national team at the Truman Bodden Sport Complex.
    Yesterday, the team had a meaningful session at The Annex, and though some players showed a dislike for the surface, the coaching staff appeared pleased at the end of the session, though Claude Davis and Jason Morrison suffered surface-related niggles, and Luton Shelton sat out the tactical session for fear of aggravating an injury on the surface.
    The technical staff has asked for a training session this morning on grass, but a location has not yet been finalised.

From the Gleaner: Jamaica's Virtual Training Program - Revolutionizing Football!

George Evans, head of the Jamaica delegation in The Cayman Islands, further explained that the timing of the tour was a bit off for both King and Campbell-Ryce.
    Holiday training regimes
    "This trip was arranged somewhat later than we would have liked to have got, so the players who had finished their English season made their arrangements outside this trip," he noted. "The federation is in contact with them while they are on holiday. We've given them certain training regimes that we've asked them to do while they are on holiday, so there will be some amount of fitness."
    Evans added: "Campbell-Ryce was in Jamaica two weeks ago and played the game, so he has match fitness, less so Marlon King. One would hope that with such an important tournament coming up, that these are professional players, you'd like to think that what we've asked them to do they're doing it".

Victory is assured!!!
    Last edited by Don1; June 24, 2009, 07:14 AM.

What nonsense!

by whom?

mostly by king. but the spinning by others just not cutting it either.

But wha di man fi do if him book him holiday already? Dash weh di money?

That would be up to the holiday-goer..... but whoever is not available for camp should not be even considered.

Simple.... but not simple enuff for our administrators.

That would be up to the holiday-goer..... but whoever is not available for camp should not be even considered.

Simple.... but not simple enuff for our administrators.
              So how is it "nonsense" by King? Did he know he was gonna be called for the Gold Cup? When was this camp called?

Yuh done kno sey Mosiah nuh innah nutten wid King suh im haffi get cuss out.

Btw, wa Tyrone Mears invited to this squad? He is in the process of signing for EPL bound Burnley this according to BBC sport.

If I was King I would try to enjoy as much freedom as I can right now...