• Bora takes up Jamaican challenge

Jamaica
    <SPAN class=art-title2>Bora takes up Jamaican challenge</SPAN> <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="30%" align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>
    </TD></TR><TR class=paddingall><TD vAlign=top> <SPAN class=textblack11px_normal>Bora Milutinovic, pictured here during his time as Honduras national coach on 16 September 2003, has now taken charge of Jamaica's Reggae Boyz.
    </SPAN><SPAN class=textblack11px_bold>(AFP)</SPAN> <SPAN class=textblack11px_bold>RENE MARTINEZ
    </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10px; FONT-FAMILY: Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">
    (FIFA.com)</SPAN> <SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10px; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">21 Nov 2006</SPAN>

<SPAN class=art-text>In the world of international coaching, Velibor Milutinovic is a veritable globetrotter. Known in footballing circles simply as 'Bora', he has coached no fewer than five national teams at separate FIFA World Cups™. </SPAN><SPAN class=art-text>

Now the much-travelled Serbian is ready for his latest challenge: managing the Jamaican national team. Milutinovic was unveiled last week as the new coach of the Reggae Boyz, whom he hopes to lead to the2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa™, 12 years on from their only finals appearance at France 98.

The veterancoach talked exclusively to FIFA.com from the country's capital Kingston about his new assignment, and his dream of seeing the Caribbean side back at world football's premier event.

FIFA.com: Mr Milutinovic, how does it feel to be coach of Jamaica?
    Bora Milutinovic:
    It's another challenge for me, perhaps the most difficult one of my career, though not, I hasten to add, an impossible one. Jamaica have already been to the World Cup, and they have a squad of fast players with excellent physique. As such, they're capable of fighting for the fourth CONCACAF qualifying slot. The motto of this team is 'Returning to Africa', as all the players have African roots.

How did you come to be offered the Jamaica job?
    The president of their federation, Crenston Boxhill, knows me well and offered me the job. He felt that I could do something different here and get the country to another World Cup, after their memorable participation at France 98.Do you believe it is possible to emulate what that side achieved?
    It will be difficult as that team set the bar very high. First they qualified for the finals, then they beat Japan, a very competitive side, when they got there. Hopefully we can match that feat. For a small country, qualifying for the World Cup and winning a game there is a very tough thing to do. Trinidad and Tobago did something similar at Germany 2006. They played a very good brand of football, taking a point off Sweden, which was remarkable, and left people with a very good impression of Caribbean football. <TABLE id=IMGTAB height=150 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width=150 align=left summary="" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD></TD></TR><TR id=TRCAP><TD vAlign=bottom align=left><SPAN class=textblack11px_normal>Bora Milutinovic smiles as he receives an award during the opening ceremony of the Futbol Expo Show 2006 held at the Centro Banamex, Mexico City.</SPAN></TD></TR><TR id=TRSOURCE><TD align=left><SPAN class=textblack11px_bold>(AFP)</SPAN></TD></TR><TR id=TRAUTHOR><TD align=left><SPAN class=textblack11px_bold>RODRIGO ASCENCIO</SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>Having coached teams from all across the world, how would you rate this Jamaican squad?
    P

RE: Bora takes up Jamaican challenge

Hortikal (11/21/2006)Jamaica
    <SPAN class=art-title2>Bora takes up Jamaican challenge</SPAN> <TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="30%" align=right border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>
    </TD></TR><TR class=paddingall><TD vAlign=top><SPAN class=textblack11px_bold>
    </SPAN></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10px; FONT-FAMILY: Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif">
    (FIFA.com)</SPAN> <SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10px; FONT-FAMILY: Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">21 Nov 2006</SPAN>

<SPAN class=art-text>

Jamaica have already been to the World Cup, and they have a squad of fast players with excellent physique. As such, they're capable of fighting for the fourth CONCACAF qualifying slot.

Before France 98, the country's then coach Rene Simoes went looking for English players of Jamaican origin. Do you plan to do the same?
    Were I to find another John Barnes (the ex-England and Liverpool winger of Jamaican origin), it would be like winning the lottery. But we have to be realistic, we've found everyone there is to find in that respect, and now it is time to work with what we have.

</SPAN>
    A little disappointed with the first statement above. I think we can more than "fight for the 4th CONCACAF slot"! We have always competed well agaisnt every CONCACAF side, except Mexico, so...

But I like the answer re U-40s - "...we've found everyone there is to find in that respect, and now it is time to work with what we have."

Yes!

Wait till him see Tappa in action !

On tape? That will be great! He'll say if we can produce someone like him, there must be more hiding somewhere!

Having coached so many teams in CONCACAF, I'm sure Bora is well aware of what a healthy, motivated and energised Tappa can do. But let's be realistic, Tappa isn't playing like the Tappa leading up to WC98.

Two-minute cameo performances within a 90-minute game is not what the ReggaeBoyz need. If Tappa is to make it he will have to step up to the plate and show that he can play a solid 30 minutes of each game. In that respect he can be valuable to the team either as a starter or coming off the bench. And I am saying 30 minutes here because I am taking his age into consideration. Inspite of his fantastic gift and on-the-ball skills, we must remember that he is no longer in his early 20's. Age erodes the best of skills.

I hope Tappa will want it bad enough to show Bora he can contribute effectively within a ReggaeBoys team; even as a supersub. Anything less is unacceptable.
          "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

What is the first thing Jamaica need to work on?
            Tactical discipline and their attitude on the pitch. Without the right mentality and tactical preparations, you won't achieve anything. We already have qualities like speed and strength, so we only have to adjust a few minor things.
            This is what my former coworker from the Ukraine always had to say about Jamaica. He felt that if we ever got a European coach to address this problem, we would be unstoppable in this region.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I'm curious as to what style of game we will play under Bora. But true, if he can work on the mindset of the players then we can kop the 3rd spot in CONCACAF; even 2nd spot if the players extend themselves.

I hope we get another look at Damien Francis and Richard Langley.

I saw Stephen Deroux a few times and his speed is good. Bora should call him into camp to see if he got what it takes to be a ReggaeBoy. Edson Buddle (providing he is interested in representing the Boyz) should also be looked at.
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Does not follow.

There is only 1 Pele, 1 Maradonna, 1 Zidane, 1 Tappa.. just because yuh win the lotto once, don't spend it all buying lotto tickets.

If Bora finds Tappa and Tappa seh him wants back in to International Ball..

"Dem ago Tyad fi si mi face.. cyaan get mi outta di race......"

Mosiah (11/21/2006)
                  Hortikal (11/21/2006)Jamaica
                  </TD></TR><TR class=paddingall><TD vAlign=top><SPAN class=textblack11px_bold>

<SPAN class=art-text>

Jamaica have already been to the World Cup, and they have a squad of fast players with excellent physique. As such, they're capable of fighting for the fourth CONCACAF qualifying slot.

Before France 98, the country's then coach Rene Simoes went looking for English players of Jamaican origin. Do you plan to do the same?
                  Were I to find another John Barnes (the ex-England and Liverpool winger of Jamaican origin), it would be like winning the lottery. But we have to be realistic, we've found everyone there is to find in that respect, and now it is time to work with what we have.

</SPAN>
                  A little disappointed with the first statement above. I think we can more than "fight for the 4th CONCACAF slot"! We have always competed well agaisnt every CONCACAF side, except Mexico, so...
                  Agree with you 1000+%. Why does he believewe cannot come out on top in CONCACAF?

Whatever his answer...I will not accept it! We are Jamaicans and we can and have many times walked on TOP OF THE WORLD! In football we surely shall...I just hope it occurs before I die!

But I like the answer re U-40s - "...we've found everyone there is to find in that respect, and now it is time to work with what we have."

Yes!
                  Why do you like that statement? What do you think Bora really means?

For the record I think he means we have found the best of those players ...i.e. by CB and or Downswell...and, he believes only one such as a John Barnes would be better than the current stock. ...i.e. he shall work with the overseas pool he has inherited. ...adding tothat poolany from our locals who he thinks can *make the grade.

We'll see? ...but, still would like to hear what you thought he meant?

*Equal or surpass the overseas playerslevel of play. ...i.e. Players will be choosen on merit only!---- ofcourse I love that thinking!

Hey, not impossible!

Farmah (11/21/2006)

If Tappa is to make it he will have to step up to the plate and show that he can play a solid 30 minutes of each game. In that respect he can be valuable to the team either as a starter or coming off the bench.
                      Ongle 30 minutes:exclamation::hehe::hehe::hehe::hehe:

<DIV>I don't think he saying the door is shut to any new UB-40 player. But I think he wants to concentrate more at working with what he has, what has been placed in front of him, and what he may come across locally, than to be rifling through passports and family trees.</DIV>

Mosiah (11/21/2006)On tape? That will be great! He'll say if we can produce someone like him, there must be more hiding somewhere!
                          Hehe.....FIYAH BOX! - T.K.

Hey Hortikal....I really appreciate this article. Thanks forposting it breds! - T.K.

[/quote]

Yes![/quote]

I will respectfully disagree Mo. I think shooting for the fourth spot is a very realistic goal for the Reggae Boyz. While we can compete against every side in Concacaf we do not win regularly against every side in concacaf. While Mexico, US and Cosat Rica can go to someone's back yard and take away three points we traditionally get our nuts handed to us on the road. For us to qualify we have to run the table at home.

As for the UB40 statement I like it as well. I also think he should extend it to the local players as well. We have a well developed player pool now and we simply need to develop that group of players for the 2010 qualifiers. You can't always be in the garage fixing your car. Eventually you have to take it out on the open road and take it for a spin. It is time we take our player pool out for a spin and see how far they can take us. - T.K.