• Maicon's agent talks up move to Stamford Bridge

Maicon's agent talks up move to Stamford Bridge

By Soccernet staff

June 23, 2009

Chelsea could move for Brazilian defender Maicon after the player's agent revealed he would be interested in a move to the Premier League.

JamieMcDonald/GettyImages
    Maicon scores against the United States at the Confederations Cup in South Africa

After missing out on Glen Johnson and with Jose Bonsingwa seemingly headed for Bayern Munich, new Chelsea boss Carlo Ancelotti is in need of a new right-back. It's a position which has caused Chelsea problems for years and although Bosingwa appeared to solve the issue they could now raid Inter Milan for Maicon.

Maicon, who began his career in Brazil with Cruzeiro before joining Monaco in 2004, has spent three years at the San Siro and has carved out a reputation as a quality attacking wing-back with ability to weigh in with goals.

The 27-year-old defender is currently on international duty at the Confederations Cup.

"If an attractive offer comes in, well, in this world, everything is bought and everything is sold," agent Antonio Caliendo said in Calico Mercato. "I believe Ancelotti is one of Maicon's biggest admirers.

"He is open to offers from everyone. (Inter president, Massimo) Moratti is taking the right decision to assess the bids.

"Maicon is happy at Inter, but the transfer window lasts a long time. Something can happen every day, but for now there has been no decision.

"It's not just Real Madrid but Chelsea who also could make a move (for Maicon). I'm not saying that would be the case because the possibility (of buying the player) is open to every club.

"However, what I would like to point out is that you don't negotiate for a champion, you go there, you buy him and that's that. You need to make a financial effort to buy a champion.''

I never like to give Scrooge Mcduck any credit but if he shells out the cash for Maicon I will have to tip my hat to him. For my money Maicon has been hands down the best player at the confederations cup. The man is simply a general. A prototype for the modern wingback. I wish Man U was smart enough to go after him but we seem more interested in getting rid of talent these days. - T.K.

Big deal! Anyone remember a Brazilian signing for Spurs? I think it was Gilberto ... what the hell ever happened to him?

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
        I never like to give Scrooge Mcduck any credit but if he shells out the cash for Maicon I will have to tip my hat to him. For my money Maicon has been hands down the best player at the confederations cup. The man is simply a general. A prototype for the modern wingback. I wish Man U was smart enough to go after him but we seem more interested in getting rid of talent these days. - T.K.
        Which talent did Manu get rid of?

Big deal! Anyone remember a Brazilian signing for Spurs? I think it was Gilberto ... what the hell ever happened to him?
          Lazie I have to respectfully disagree breds. Maicon is a different animal. The guy is unreal. This guy is the modern wingback. Perfect combination of size, strength, skill, speed, power, and athleticsm. He is awesome. Sorry I can't follow you down that path. If Chelsea gets him they will have the best right back in the EPL.

I guess Man U also has the issue of him being too old as well. He's 27? I am pretty sure Glazer told Sir Alex that he can only buy players under 26 years old as he looking for investments that he can sell. I think that should tell us enough where the direction of the club is going for the next few years at least. - T.K.

Which talent did Manu get rid of?
            Lazie Vanwinkle! Yu jus' wake up? - T.K.

Lazie I have to respectfully disagree breds. Maicon is a different animal. The guy is unreal. This guy is the modern wingback. Perfect combination of size, strength, skill, speed, power, and athleticsm. He is awesome. Sorry I can't follow you down that path. If Chelsea gets him they will have the best right back in the EPL.

I guess Man U also has the issue of him being too old as well. He's 27? I am pretty sure Glazer told Sir Alex that he can only buy players under 26 years old as he looking for investments that he can sell. I think that should tell us enough where the direction of the club is going for the next few years at least. - T.K.
              T.K., there is no need to panic when these teams sign players. Last season when Chelsea got Scolari, Deco and Bosingwa everybody was tripping over themselves. Now Scolari is fired and the other two is looking for an escape route. Fergie will simply figure out a way to mek dem look ordinary. Why yuh think Paul Marin nuh like Fergie?

Lazie Vanwinkle! Yu jus' wake up? - T.K.
                Manu didn't get rid of anybody. Ronaldo and Tevez wanted to leave.

T.K., there is no need to panic when these teams sign players. Last season when Chelsea got Scolari, Deco and Bosingwa everybody was tripping over themselves. Now Scolari is fired and the other two is looking for an escape route. Fergie will simply figure out a way to mek dem look ordinary. Why yuh think Paul Marin nuh like Fergie?
                  Lazie this why you are Mr. President and the rest a we just' a follow. - T.K.

Manu didn't get rid of anybody. Ronaldo and Tevez wanted to leave.
                    Bwoy Lazie..somtimes....breaking up is hard to do. - T.K.

When Ruud left there were many who were concerned who would score the goals ... The Empire has won the EPL every season since he left been to 2 UCL finals.

True! True!
                        ...and the transfer window has far to go!

Well said Mr. President....well said.... - T.K.

End of story. President fe Life!!!
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Maicon is probably the best right wing back in the world and would be a good signing. A definite upgrade on the Portugese, who is a good player. Pato would be the perfect player for the club.