• USA into semis after beating Egypt 3-0

U.S. headed to semis

On the verge of elimination and facing long odds, the United States came up with its best performance at a major international tournament in seven years and an improbable semifinal berth at the Confederations Cup.

Charlie Davies scored in the first half, and Michael Bradley and Clint Dempsey added goals in the final half hour to lead the United States over Egypt 3-0 Sunday.

The United States needed to win by three goals and have Italy lose by three, and that's exactly what happened.

(continue)

Congrats to the US. I missed the match because we had a power outage.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

USA USA USA The best two teams made it to the next round (Right) lol ha ha ha lol lol lol Let me say though good game but just be quite nothing special Egypt lost the game more than you won it again Stamina good job. Check out all the soccer sites all over the world no one wanted the USA brand of soccer to advance it is a joke.
      Racist Zeppo Said "Against Italy? Sure. But keep in mind that's the reigning World Champion and not some chump Caribbean team we're used to slapping around in CONCACAF" Zeppo

This one surprised me. I expected US to hold the 'bucket'...
        ...and Egypt to wipe the floor with them.

Congrats to the US...and it ends in the next match.

Every body did, it is a surprise worldwide, Egypt took them lightly and they took advantage of it.....LOL LOL USA USA USA LOL
          Racist Zeppo Said "Against Italy? Sure. But keep in mind that's the reigning World Champion and not some chump Caribbean team we're used to slapping around in CONCACAF" Zeppo

This one surprised me. I expected US to hold the 'bucket'...
            ...and Egypt to wipe the floor with them.

Congrats to the US...and it ends in the next match.
            Time to check the Egyptian player's bank balances.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
              U.S. headed to semis

On the verge of elimination and facing long odds, the United States came up with its best performance at a major international tournament in seven years and an improbable semifinal berth at the Confederations Cup.

Charlie Davies scored in the first half, and Michael Bradley and Clint Dempsey added goals in the final half hour to lead the United States over Egypt 3-0 Sunday.

The United States needed to win by three goals and have Italy lose by three, and that's exactly what happened.

(continue)
              Nice Zeppo!

Before the tournament I thought the US would lose all 3 games based upon their form through concacaf qualifying. A really good performance by the team against Egypt. After yesterday it makes you wonder if maybe this past week of ups and downs and harsh scrutiny has been the character builder that this current group of US players really needed to take the next step. With past US teams you could always count on the whole being greater than the sum of their parts. During the BB era it felt like that culture of hard work and sacrifice for one another was being lost. It was great to see it in practice again yesterday. To be fair it was in practice against Italy for at least a half if not more.

The 4-4-2 seems to suit the US strengths best. Everything the US traditionally does well fits into that formation. Hopefully BB sticks with it from here on out.

Can't wait for the game with Spain! Congrats Zeppo. Great to see the US pull themselves through. - T.K.

yeah, only way them can win.

Yeah I don't really like how they have been playing with Donovan seeming not to dribble at pace again, Beasley out of form and no real target forward up front ala Brian Mcbride. Altidore is coming along but he is young and the rest of "forwards" are really attacking mid or winger.

Good for the US, they showed up for this one.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
                    Nice Zeppo!

Before the tournament I thought the US would lose all 3 games based upon their form through concacaf qualifying. A really good performance by the team against Egypt. After yesterday it makes you wonder if maybe this past week of ups and downs and harsh scrutiny has been the character builder that this current group of US players really needed to take the next step. With past US teams you could always count on the whole being greater than the sum of their parts. During the BB era it felt like that culture of hard work and sacrifice for one another was being lost. It was great to see it in practice again yesterday. To be fair it was in practice against Italy for at least a half if not more.

The 4-4-2 seems to suit the US strengths best. Everything the US traditionally does well fits into that formation. Hopefully BB sticks with it from here on out.

Can't wait for the game with Spain! Congrats Zeppo. Great to see the US pull themselves through. - T.K.
                    Yeah, 4-4-2 has to be the way to go. Altidore still has much to learn about playing as the lone forward. He works better with a partner.

Bob Bradley got this one right, but he has still been making too many bonehead selections lately: wrong formation for the wrong game, picking players clearly out of form (Beasley), and ignoring players in good form (Torres).

We'll see how it goes from here, but we'll need a miracle to beat Spain. They are the team to beat these days and I really don't see any weaknesses. But that's why they play the game, so let's see...

U.S. shows passion and heart to rout Egypt

Bob Bradley could have looked at the scenarios the United States needed to advance in the Confederations Cup and decided that Sunday's game against Egypt would be a game to rest veterans and give youngsters a look. He could have decided, as most might have in his position, that beating Egypt 3-0 and having Italy lose 3-0 was such an improbability that even planning for that possibility would be crazy.

Bradley ignored all that and instead showed confidence in his team when there were plenty of reasons not to have confidence. He gave Tim Howard a rest, starting the capable Brad Guzan instead, but the rest of his lineup was as strong as he could field. He selected a starting lineup and showed faith in a group that responded with a performance that won't soon be forgotten.

Bradley watched his own son deliver a Father's Day present in the form of a clutch goal, then struggling veteran Clint Dempsey repaid Bradley's faith in him with a vital goal that helped the United States pull off a 3-0 win and edge out Egypt and Italy for a berth in the Confederations Cup semifinals after Italy collapsed in a 3-0 loss to Brazil.

(continue)

i just know this is what what greet me here this morning! good fighting display by the US, no one can doubt that!

So the smoke and mirrors continue.
                          Living in a fool's paradise for all I can see.

So the smoke and mirrors continue.
                            Living in a fool's paradise for all I can see.
                            Fool's Paradise? Cyaan real!

Time to check the Egyptian player's bank balances.
                              It also appeared to me to be a 'funny' game
                              ...but congrats to the USA!
                              I wish for them a good showing against Spain...

...but I expect...my guess...a heavy loss!