US: Embrace Football... forget about Soccer..

If I missed your point it's because you never made it (clear). I have written on this site (quite recently) that Football in America is the fifth cousin (behind American Football, baseball, basketball and ice hockey so you are making pointless points.

And SOCCER beats Egypt to advance to the semifinals of the Confederations Cup!

I bet that someone sure is feeling bittah today!

Don1, there is a huge lack of understanding and misinformation around the why association football is not as popular in the US as it is in the rest of the world. I don't believe any one person has the right answer, but there are historical and cultural reasons that are becoming less important in the modern world. America will become a force - make no mistake about it. As to why it is not popular, there are several reasons. I think the following are to be considered:
        1. History. When Britain was exporting the sport in the mid 19th century, America was asserting itself as being anti-British. To British sports, they simply said "No", chosing to develop their own sports instead. This was a big set back for the beautiful game and an unfortunate loss for America.
        2. Demographics. Soccer is a middle class sport in America. Everywhere else, it is a working class sport. The reason why you won't see a Hester, Sanders, Jordan etc. in soccer is because the best of those players never play soccer - they are culturally anti-soccer in fact and to put more of a fine point on it, lower class black people in America are more anti-soccer than any other demographic. But when the sport becomes part of the American inner cities, watch out. That's when it will become cool, that's when it will be untouchable. Like all other cultural transformation in America, it will come from primarily black innercity kids. When you see 50Cent, JayZ or Usher wearing a Barca or Liverpool shirt, then you will know the time is near.
        3. Media bias. You cannot underestimate the power of the media in forming the cultural impressions of the game. I remember seeing a clip on Keith Olberman's Countdown show on MSNBC where he showed a clip of Paul Robinson missing a back pass in an England international game against Croatia. The ball skipped over his foot after hitting a divot and went into the goal. Olberman ridiculed both the sport and Robinson "reminding" Robinson that he (the goalie) was "allowed to use his hands". This kind of misinformed ridicule is persistent amongst the old school broadcasters who just simply don't get it.
        4. 4. Advertising. Fourthly, it is NOT a "made for advertising sport". MONEY RULES IN AMERICAN SPORTS. I remember going to my first basketball game many years ago in LA and was stunned to find out that the reason the players were all standing about was because they were on a "TV TIMEOUT". Not a construct that would ever be acceptable in the beautiful game, hence, Madison Ave. ain't going to be too happy with soccer.

All this said, the detractors of the sport are powerless against the trend of globalisation and the power of the internet. Old school advertising will go away; we're seeing it already. You can now watch almost any TV show on the internet commercial free. Soccer is IDEAL for the web. Go to Justin.tv to see the future of TV broadcasting. Additionally, the sport is beginning to make inroads to the inner cities; we're seeing more an more black faces playing football in America than ever before...and lastly...old school ignoramuses are dying off; younger broadcasters are already embracing the sport. ESPN is obviously a big believer. You also can look at FSC, Setanta and GOLTV all are doing well in America (despite Setanta's setbacks elsewhere).

Anyway, while I think your premise is accurate, I think that you need to be fair in understanding why the game is where it is in America. It will change. In fact, it already has, just ask Italy.

PM

The question I asked regarding gravitation cannot be any more clearer.

Your response was.. well.. pointless.

Your comments on NFL Players athletic ability is equally off course.

If you agree with the sentiment and rational regarding US performance in 'Soccer'.. well.. act like it.

You just love a argument...even when there is NONE... so you feel slighted that I point out that at least HALF of American football players are overweight and are NOT in my books athletes? I quite agree with you on running backs and some quarterbacks on their running ability. Point out where I was "off course" please? I have nothing gainst American football, but when a 7 minute game takes up to three hours to complete I just get BORED.

I also said that "soccer" is america's FIFTH cousin behind the the four major sports played in America... so what is the "argument"?

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
              And SOCCER beats Egypt to advance to the semifinals of the Confederations Cup!

I bet that someone sure is feeling bittah today!
              Great victory for Soccer!! .... Hooray!!!

Next Brazil, Spain, Italy, France, Germany, Argentina etc will be trampled just like the chump Pharohs!!

FORWAAARRRRDDDDDD!!!!!!!!

di likkle bredda a falla Lazie wid dis bittah argument... a wha dis faada? one fool following another.

Don1, there is a huge lack of understanding and misinformation around the why association football is not as popular in the US as it is in the rest of the world. I don't believe any one person has the right answer, but there are historical and cultural reasons that are becoming less important in the modern world. America will become a force - make no mistake about it. As to why it is not popular, there are several reasons. I think the following are to be considered:
                1. History. When Britain was exporting the sport in the mid 19th century, America was asserting itself as being anti-British. To British sports, they simply said "No", chosing to develop their own sports instead. This was a big set back for the beautiful game and an unfortunate loss for America.
                2. Demographics. Soccer is a middle class sport in America. Everywhere else, it is a working class sport. The reason why you won't see a Hester, Sanders, Jordan etc. in soccer is because the best of those players never play soccer - they are culturally anti-soccer in fact and to put more of a fine point on it, lower class black people in America are more anti-soccer than any other demographic. But when the sport becomes part of the American inner cities, watch out. That's when it will become cool, that's when it will be untouchable. Like all other cultural transformation in America, it will come from primarily black innercity kids. When you see 50Cent, JayZ or Usher wearing a Barca or Liverpool shirt, then you will know the time is near.
                3. Media bias. You cannot underestimate the power of the media in forming the cultural impressions of the game. I remember seeing a clip on Keith Olberman's Countdown show on MSNBC where he showed a clip of Paul Robinson missing a back pass in an England international game against Croatia. The ball skipped over his foot after hitting a divot and went into the goal. Olberman ridiculed both the sport and Robinson "reminding" Robinson that he (the goalie) was "allowed to use his hands". This kind of misinformed ridicule is persistent amongst the old school broadcasters who just simply don't get it.
                4. 4. Advertising. Fourthly, it is NOT a "made for advertising sport". MONEY RULES IN AMERICAN SPORTS. I remember going to my first basketball game many years ago in LA and was stunned to find out that the reason the players were all standing about was because they were on a "TV TIMEOUT". Not a construct that would ever be acceptable in the beautiful game, hence, Madison Ave. ain't going to be too happy with soccer.
                All this said, the detractors of the sport are powerless against the trend of globalisation and the power of the internet. Old school advertising will go away; we're seeing it already. You can now watch almost any TV show on the internet commercial free. Soccer is IDEAL for the web. Go to Justin.tv to see the future of TV broadcasting. Additionally, the sport is beginning to make inroads to the inner cities; we're seeing more an more black faces playing football in America than ever before...and lastly...old school ignoramuses are dying off; younger broadcasters are already embracing the sport. ESPN is obviously a big believer. You also can look at FSC, Setanta and GOLTV all are doing well in America (despite Setanta's setbacks elsewhere).

Anyway, while I think your premise is accurate, I think that you need to be fair in understanding why the game is where it is in America. It will change. In fact, it already has, just ask Italy.

PM
                Respect Paul... I agree with all here. Plus I think it is totally in line with the points I made.

Until the sports moves beyond the comfortable middle classes into the uncomfortable inner cities... the US will remain efficient/organized but uninspiring and lacking the special qualities to create great players consistently.

As I said this is a cultural issues... certainly not related to human resources (humungous) money (stupendous) or facilities (outrageous).

If they try hard I figure it will take maybe 2 generations to possibly be at a Top of the World level consistently... that's a big if however.

Wish them well.

You just love a argument...even when there is NONE... so you feel slighted that I point out that at least HALF of American football players are overweight and are NOT in my books athletes? I quite agree with you on running backs and some quarterbacks on their running ability. Point out where I was "off course" please? I have nothing gainst American football, but when a 7 minute game takes up to three hours to complete I just get BORED.

I also said that "soccer" is america's FIFTH cousin behind the the four major sports played in America... so what is the "argument"?
                  Peter im head nuh good.... too tuff.

USA USA USA HA HA HA LOL LOL I guess the best 2 teams made it to the next round HA HA HA LOL
                    Racist Zeppo Said "Against Italy? Sure. But keep in mind that's the reigning World Champion and not some chump Caribbean team we're used to slapping around in CONCACAF" Zeppo

Your reference to "pointless points" is argumentative..

Is a Sumo Wrestler an Athlete ? You might want to edit your 'BOOK'

Your lack of appreciation for a particular sport appears to be affectng your ability to reason.

"I don't dispute their running ability, but running with a "fooball" in your hand and running with one at your feet are two different skill sets...maybe they might be good dribblers but really it is pure conjecture."

Are implying that although Soccer is the Fifth cousin they are not suffering from the fact that the best athletes gravitate to the other cousins ???

The americans produce above average Soccer talent with the 'what leff'.. Do you think that improving the athletic talent input will not impact the 'Soccer Talent' output ??

I suspect as indicated that your lack of appreciation of the physical skill sets required to (1) be drafted into the NFL and (2) be a successful 'Skill' player in the NFL is clouding your judgement on this issue.

It is hard to tell exactly who is the bittah one here.. you have certainly firmly placed your hat in the ring in this matter...

And you saying that XYZ affects my ability to reason is NOT argumentative? give me a break guy... yuh gwaan like yuh is a newbie pon de site...anyway, So if I touched a nerve with my "argumentative comment" , my bad.

As for Sumo wrestlers no, I do not consider them athletes.

I am NO FAN of American football . HALF of the players are overweight freaks of nature... Rugby or Aussie rules football is Waaayyy better in MY OPINION. I do acknowledge the running ability of a handful of players on the team and I know the guys you mentioned; OJ was the best still.

My conjecture comment refers to your statement that if the guys you mentiones played football, the real one, they would shiff man etc. You will never know and therefore, conjecture.

When I talk about 5th cousin I AM acknowledging that US and Canadian youths are attracted by the other four sports first. You can draw what conclusions you want from that. However, it is not always a numbers game...China and India have over a billion people and have never been to a WC; JA, TT and Haiti have with their talent pool. Windies dominated test cricket for almost 20 years with a talent pool of 5million or less.

And I am unclear as to what I judged, or what the "issue" is.

As I said I don't see the "argument" but you clearly want to create one. Please don't try to convince me or instruct me about American football...for you guys who love it I say to each his own.

Here is a definition of an Athlete:

ath·lete (thlt)
                            n.
                            A person possessing the natural or acquired traits, such as strength, agility, and endurance, that are necessary for physical exercise or sports, especially those performed in competitive contexts.

What is yours ?

...and who are...actually no... this is agony and I don't have the belly for this like many of your athletes (like "the fridge")