US: Embrace Football... forget about Soccer..

• US: Embrace Football... forget about Soccer..

..... metaphorically speaking that is.

Until football is within the hearts of their people... as it is in other parts of the world.... continued relative mediocrity awaits.
    Even the fact that they call the world game soccer and not football (a forced change perhaps) and other silly changes they sought to introduce... the lamented penalty shootout etc....indicated that they have not fully embraced the game of football... they have embraced soccer.... their own creation... a kind of software downgrade.

If the US ever discovers how to have their kids play the game of football spontaneously and not merely in overcoached (and often poorly coached) teams and leagues, then they will be a world force in the game.
    Basketball is a good analogy... that's a game kids have in their hearts... and play spontaneously.... the results show it.
    The US has less people in organized basketball than they do in organized soccer (sic) yet have mediocre results in football.... a telling statistic.

Until that day of embracing football, the dream of lasting victories, world domination... will remain but a fleeting illusion... to be pursued... but never attained.

In other words... they will continue to produce automatons .... ie reasonably efficient players...but lacking that special quality that separates average players from good and good players from great.

Witness that despite: spending billions on the game, having vast waves of children playing the game, beautifully manicured facilities up and down the country, a credible professional league, hosting a world cup, a vhuge immigrant population from countries that have the game in their hearts etc etc etc.......The national team is merely fair to middling... akin in quality perhaps to Sweden or Austria.
    Their elevated ranking in the highly flawed FIFA system is counter intuitive.
    Elite teams seek out the US basically because it's a good payday (money is never a problem) .... and secondly adequate match practice, without them being especially threatened with defeat.
    As a consequence of this ready access to elite teams the US enjoys a ranking above what the quality of play may deserve.... this ranking leaves their supporters giddy but it is fool's gold.... the gulf between the US and the elite teams is vast.

Some may say this is sour Jamaican grapes... that we are far behind the US. Yes Jamaica is far behind... what we put in we get out. If we put in more... we will get more and be closer to being competitive.

Unfortunately for the US, they would experience diminishing returns if more resources are applied to their football "problem". Resources are not the problem as in Jamaica's sorry case.

Their problem is entirely cultural... for them football is a mere pastime.... it's not in the heart.

The US automatons have to incorporate elements of the Jamaican performing seals.... and vice versa.... for these two teams to improve.

See....I agree with you 100%. But I get that "sumpn ketch inna yuh craw" why you wrote that piece. It's the same thing that is stuck in every Jamaican football fan's throat. It kills us to know that we have not reached the achievements of the USA with our birthright, football.
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

See....I agree with you 100%. But I get that "sumpn ketch inna yuh craw" why you wrote that piece. It's the same thing that is stuck in every Jamaican football fan's throat. It kills us to know that we have not reached the achievements of the USA with our birthright, football.
      \

Ok boss... no problem.

Peter R (I think), in his brilliant and objective submission on how disingenuous 'we' are--queried: 'what if Jamaica had the USA record in futbol...how would "we" behave...???

This question is extremely poignant!

I posted the following about USA football...but it was conveniently overlooked>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Here:
        The United States has competed at the Olympics (when that tournament was considered a full international tournament), the FIFA World Cup, the FIFA Confederations Cup, as well as NAFC and CONCACAF regional tournaments. The U.S. has also played in the Copa America by invitation, as well as several minor tournaments.
        The best result for the United States in a World Cup came in 1930 when they finished third. The U.S. took the silver and bronze medals at the 1904 Olympics. In the Confederations Cup, the United States has finished third in both the 1992 and 1999 editions.
        In regional competitions, the United States had never finished higher than second until the 1991 Gold Cup. Since then, they have won four titles. In 1995, the U.S. finished fourth at the Copa América.

I further posted the USA soccer record for the past 10 years.

I have therefore concluded that the word disingenuous is a synonym for bittah!!
        Last edited by HL; June 19, 2009, 03:50 PM.

\

Ok boss... no problem.
          Translation: "You're right, Jangle. But for the life of me I can't bring myself to admit it."

"But for the life of me I can't bring myself to admit it">>>>>>>>(because I am very very bittah!! )

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
              Translation: "You're right, Jangle. But for the life of me I can't bring myself to admit it."
              The likes of you are not qualified to interpret my views.

Gweh

Puppy you will have to translate "gweh" for your master
              Last edited by Don1; June 19, 2009, 04:16 PM.

"But for the life of me I can't bring myself to admit it">>>>>>>>(because I am very very bittah!! )
                whey yuh come fram yute? yuh jus a follow afta di likkle bredda lika puppy.

Peter R (I think), in his brilliant and objective submission on how disingenuous 'we' are--queried: 'what if Jamaica had the USA record in futbol...how would "we" behave...???

This question is extremely poignant!

I posted the following about USA football...but it was conveniently overlooked>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Here:
                  The United States has competed at the Olympics (when that tournament was considered a full international tournament), the FIFA World Cup, the FIFA Confederations Cup, as well as NAFC and CONCACAF regional tournaments. The U.S. has also played in the Copa America by invitation, as well as several minor tournaments.
                  The best result for the United States in a World Cup came in 1930 when they finished third. The U.S. took the silver and bronze medals at the 1904 Olympics. In the Confederations Cup, the United States has finished third in both the 1992 and 1999 editions.
                  In regional competitions, the United States had never finished higher than second until the 1991 Gold Cup. Since then, they have won four titles. In 1995, the U.S. finished fourth at the Copa América.

I further posted the USA soccer record for the past 10 years.

I have therefore concluded that the word disingenuous is a synonym for bittah!!
                  What is laughable is that the supporters of the great USA are reduced to feel good comparisons of themselves with the chumps Jamaica.

How low the mighty have fallen.

Pathetic

CONCACAF 2007 Gold Cup Finals, Chicago:

Ticket to game, $35

Another ticket to game because some idiot forgot to take his wallet out of his pants before putting them in the wash: $35

Train Ride To Chicago: $40

Lunch: $10

Drinks at Stadium: $16

Seeing USA shut up 45,000 Mexicans, especially after the Mexicans booed the US national anthem: PRICELESS

Seeing Chicago police beat the crap out of Mexican fans: BONUS BONUS BONUS DING DING DING DING DING

Don, I agree and would like to echo Jangle... the "heart" is why let's say Canada produces great ice hockey players, why West Indies can produce a Sobers and Lara et al, why the Dom Rep. can send so many baseballers to the majors league, with relatively small populations.

Just a small point of correction which I stand to be corrected on, "soccer" the word, was introduced by the English... the Americans only took it up for obvious reasons...their "football" really should be re-named, but it will be a cold day in hell when that happens.

In some ways you are right but remember most US parents are not really concerned about their kids been pro soccer players, rather it is just fun for them.

Another thing is football tradition is not purchased.

The US pro league is just a few years old and how do you win a world cup without pro players? We can argue that the MLS is not a quality league.

People embrace winners and more so in the US. When the women team took the title, I think the it was the world cup with Brandy Chastain taking off her shirt, America was well behind it.

Football goes two ways winning and passion together. The American Soccer Administration is smarter then we think and this is reflected in their memo. They know this will not be a very short term plan. They reach out to more communities and they are adding the fact that there is the need to develop more flair players at a young age.

We can knock all we want but there are things and structure in the American system which we need to adapt, and this includes proper scouting, scouting reports, a proper academy or olympic development program, certifying our coaches, and constant communication with all our top coaches.

I have nothing against American soccer, I benefitted from their college program. Even though I only played D2, and NA1A it gave me something.

No matter how good American soccer get it will be hard for them to beat Brazil, Argentina, Italy, Spain etc. because of their rich tradition, history and league, afterall England with its rich traditions can't beat them either.

I am not the biggest support of US Men's team but let us not believe everything is wrong with US soccer and let us look what we are comparing it to. Even the US soccer admin will tell you they have no goal to win the world cup in the next 5 years.

well said Assasin!!!

Very well written, thought out and objective.

I have a feeling that if 1Don lived the the USA...he would have a better understanding of US soccer.

Which sports do the best natural athletes in America gravitate to ?

Now, run a comparison on the football powers..

Don, I agree and would like to echo Jangle... the "heart" is why let's say Canada produces great ice hockey players, why West Indies can produce a Sobers and Lara et al, why the Dom Rep. can send so many baseballers to the majors league, with relatively small populations.

Just a small point of correction which I stand to be corrected on, "soccer" the word, was introduced by the English... the Americans only took it up for obvious reasons...their "football" really should be re-named, but it will be a cold day in hell when that happens.
                              Agree with all. As I understand the etymology, the word soccer is a development from the British Association Football which itself was to differentiate what is now football from rugby football.

However I was merely using the US adoption of the word soccer as a metaphor for what I perceive to be a disconnect that country has from the world game embraced by most other countries.

I never meant to suggest that the word soccer was a US invention.