In some ways you are right but remember most US parents are not really concerned about their kids been pro soccer players, rather it is just fun for them.
Another thing is football tradition is not purchased.
The US pro league is just a few years old and how do you win a world cup without pro players? We can argue that the MLS is not a quality league.
People embrace winners and more so in the US. When the women team took the title, I think the it was the world cup with Brandy Chastain taking off her shirt, America was well behind it.
Football goes two ways winning and passion together. The American Soccer Administration is smarter then we think and this is reflected in their memo. They know this will not be a very short term plan. They reach out to more communities and they are adding the fact that there is the need to develop more flair players at a young age.
We can knock all we want but there are things and structure in the American system which we need to adapt, and this includes proper scouting, scouting reports, a proper academy or olympic development program, certifying our coaches, and constant communication with all our top coaches.
I have nothing against American soccer, I benefitted from their college program. Even though I only played D2, and NA1A it gave me something.
No matter how good American soccer get it will be hard for them to beat Brazil, Argentina, Italy, Spain etc. because of their rich tradition, history and league, afterall England with its rich traditions can't beat them either.
I am not the biggest support of US Men's team but let us not believe everything is wrong with US soccer and let us look what we are comparing it to. Even the US soccer admin will tell you they have no goal to win the world cup in the next 5 years.
Nothing you say here even remotely challenges any of my points. In fact you provide validation.
How could someone live in the USA-- in the abundance of information...and remain so thirsty!!??....................................... ......( i ax myself )
It seems you are a victim of the abundance of misinformation. But don't fret... you have lots of company.
Those would be the running backs, tight ends (was never comfortable with that name), quarterbacks...aside from that there are plenty who fit the sumo wrestler mould rather than the classic image of the athlete...I mean have you ever seen a pro footballer (the real kind) overweight? American football encourages some man to pack on as much poundage as possible, while maintaining reasonable mobility... that surely cannot be sport, can it?
You're talking about the linemen Peter. The big fat guys who block for the QB or the big run stoppers in the center of the def line. Those guys are destined for short heart attack filled lives. They can't even walk after their careers are done.
The most impressive athletes I have ever seen are NFL linebackers. Those guys are 6'1 to 6'3 with 220-225 pounds of pure muscle and who can run fast nuh blouse and skirts. Freaks of nature. - T.K.
Watch some footage of man like Barry Sanders, Deion Sanders, Marshall Falk.. NFL skill players are athletic freaks.. If Barry Sanders could dribble him woulda shiff man outta dem skin
I don't dispute their running ability, but running with a "fooball" in your hand and running with one at your feet are two different skill sets...maybe they might be good dribblers but really it is pure conjecture.