• US Soccer: 37 Potential Stadiums For 2018 or 2022 World Cup

The Official Site of U.S. Soccer - Federation Services

US Soccer has released a list of 37 stadiums which could be used to host a possible World Cup in 2018 or 2022. Those stadiums have been issued a Request For Proposal.

Six stadiums seat 90,000 or more people.

Ohio Stadium, Columbus, Ohio (101,568)

Michigan Stadium, Ann Arbor, Michigan (108,000)

Dallas Cowboys New Stadium, (100,000)

Neyland Stadium, Knoxville, Tennesee (100,011)

Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum, (93,607)

Rose Bowl, Los Angeles (92,000)

Fed Ex Field, Washington DC (91,704)

Four stadiums on the list have a capacity of 60,000 or less.
    Last edited by Bruce; June 16, 2009, 10:33 PM.

Originally posted by Bruce View Post

US Soccer has released a list of 37 stadiums which could be used to host a possible World Cup in 2018 or 2022. Those stadiums have been issued a Request For Proposal.

37 stadia and a 1 in 37 million chance of winning the WC.

Pathetic.

Originally posted by Bruce View Post

Suh what about the Giants Stadium?

More importantly, they'll probably host the second most boring WC tournament ever!

Suh what about the Giants Stadium?
          I think you guys have a new stadium that will be built by next year right? New Meadowlands Stadium or something like that. I am pretty sure that stadium is one of the sights. 80,000+ people it can hold. - T.K.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
            I think you guys have a new stadium that will be built by next year right? New Meadowlands Stadium or something like that. I am pretty sure that stadium is one of the sights. 80,000+ people it can hold. - T.K.
            Hope suh! Mi notice from Manu mek it overflow dem nuh too waan bring nuh game there. Wouldn't it be great if dem get the Empire fi open the new stadium?

It would be great to get the WC in 2018. Mek the one Mosiah gwey!!! Him too badmind causen seh me uncle Sam nuh waan see him face again!!! What a joy fe mek a 40 mins drive fe go watch Brazil play jamaica at Giant stadium.
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

More importantly, they'll probably host the second most boring WC tournament ever!
                I guess they are playing the numbers game.... hosts are often favorites to win.

They may get it right someday.... 2112 World Cup perhaps?

Hey, who is me to prevent yuh from boring yuhself to death!