play on the second goal? He went up for the header, got beaten by the cross and by the time he turned around the goal was scored. Look at the play again, Rooney pulled away from him as the ball was being crossed.
Karl kinda difficult fi reason with, afterall, the man nuh see the importance of Henry to Arsenal. Unuh need fi banish him.
I missed the game and also the highlights but was reasoning with a bretherin in Atlanta last night and he said he thought Claude was to be blamed for both goals and if Ronaldo had scored their third, Claude would also be balmed as well.
Do you concur?
Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death. Che Guevara.
Sickko (11/20/2006)I missed the game and also the highlights but was reasoning with a bretherin in Atlanta last night and he said he thought Claude was to be blamed for both goals and if Ronaldo had scored their third, Claude would also be balmed as well.
Do you concur?
I would not say Claude was to be blamed for the second goal. He was well positioned to cut off any cross from the player with the ball. When the player with the ball put the ball out of Clause's reach, it was then the responsibility of the left back to close down Rooney. By the time Claude landed after going up to head the cross, the goal was scored. The left back was nowhere in sight.
THe first goal, I think Claude could have done a bit more to prevent it. Had he been anticipating the pass, he could have prevented that goal.
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
Not sure which Ronaldo chance he would be blamed for. If it was the blatant miss, I cannot say, as I cannot recall where Claude was.
If a man blame him for the first one, I won't say too much about that. I'd leave that to an individual's judgement. Watching the game, it appeared Claude was marking Saha. If you get to see the game again, you'll notice that.
When Neville made the cross Claude was covering Saha, who dropped off, Rooney got away from his marker and pickup the ball behind Claude who was signalling for the keeper to collect. Its clear he wasn't aware Rooney was there, what I'm unsure about, hence my reluctance to blame him for that goal is if he would have been able to clear the ball.
I hope SportsMax or FSW shows it again or at least I will see the highlights but a few questions come to mind from your summation..why would a manager use a central defender to mark a striker who may or may not be in the defensive third when a ball comes in?
As you said Claude might have been marking Saha who then dropped off, shouldnt Claude then leave him alone and tend to his central defensive duties which in my mind would come first?
But then we dont know what his instructiosn were.
Saying all this another thing comes to mind, Sir Alex outsmarting the other coach, seeing Saha was in a rich goalscoring vein they had a man marking him but the goals then came from another source...must be a headache to plan for a team as this that has so many scoring options.
Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death. Che Guevara.
Lazie (11/20/2006)<A>Karl, how dare you question Claude's</A>play on the second goal? He went up for the header, got beaten by the cross and by the time he turned around the goal was scored. Look at the play again, Rooney pulled away from him as the ball was being crossed.
Otherwise from those little lapses, he was able to hold his own against the EPL powerhouse Man U.</DIV>
The second Rooney goal, he just fell short by inches to head the cross away, only to see Rooney appear behind him to bury the goal. Would you blame him for that one too?
Strange question? </DIV>
Why is it a strange question? I am not trying to put you in a "trick bag", I was just seeking your opinion. I just thought that some people may say Claude should be aware that Rooney was running behind him and since again he was the closest player to Rooney. . .
The long and the short of it is, Claude does not have eyes in the back of his head. He was well psitioned for a pass if the player who had the ball had intended to go to goal or across the goal mouth. Once the crosser of the ball put it in the air just out of he reach of a jumping Claude, Claude had no chance. The ball was on its way to goal before Claude even landed and regained his composure. The question is, what had happened to the defender playing left back for Sheffield? Maybe was the one who should have had his eyes on Rooney.
I think again Claude turned in a performance he should not be ashamed of.</DIV>
The question appeared strange to me because it is in a post that answers/responds to my lead post. My lead post had nothing that anyone shouldhave interpreted to say Claude was being blamed for the 2nd goal.
...but since you asked - NO! In my mind, he was not at fault. Great cross by the left back. Great taking ofgoal by Rooney.
May I also add...Once again, I am saying Claude had loooog periods when he played well! He certainly appeared to have had two main functions - repelling attacks down the middle and keeping Saha on a leash. Saha had very little look in in front of goal and Claude did most of the repelling of BoyU attacks down the middle. He also did a very good job of repelling crosses.
I thought he did an excellent job on both keeping Saha quiet/impotent in front of goal and repelling attacks down the middle!</SPAN>
<SPAN id=_ctl1_ctlTopic_ctlPanelBar_ctlTopicsRepeater__c tl7_lblPostSignature>Karl <P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><I style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt">"Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has."</SPAN>[/I]<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><I style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt"></SPAN>[/I]<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><I style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt">----------------</SPAN>[/I]<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><I style="mso-bidi-font-style: normal"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt"></SPAN>[/I]<P class=MsoNormal style="MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt"><SPAN style="FONT-SIZE: 10pt">Lazie yuh good...bad! :hehe:</SPAN><?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-comfficeffice" /><
Sickko (11/20/2006)As you said Claude might have been marking Saha who then dropped off, shouldnt Claude then leave him alone and tend to his central defensive duties which in my mind would come first?
Lawd Sickko, we would not be having this discussion if when claude jumped to head the ball from the cross to Rooney he had made contact. The fact that Claude missed the ball when he went up is the reason why it fell to Rooney for him to score. Claude could not be playing two roles at the same time, because Rooney was left to roam freely behind him (Claude).
"Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran
OH GOD KARL!!!! henry acted with the utmost integrity in that contract negotiation...he told everyone WHEN he would be making the decision...he was a gentleman through and through!!!
CLASS! i made many a post on here about how he conducted himself with grace class and dignity!!!
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine
Gamma (11/20/2006)OH GOD KARL!!!! henry acted with the utmost integrity in that contract negotiation...he told everyone WHEN he would be making the decision...he was a gentleman through and through!!!
CLASS! i made many a post on here about how he conducted himself with grace class and dignity!!!
Have not a problem with his 'class'...certainly never liked the looooooooog time he took to put pen to paper! :w00t:
Here I am trying to give Claude the benefit of the doubt and asking questions instead of just coming out and say Santa Claude miss the boat again..he he he...
Yu n ever see where me say mi nuh know what instructions him coach did give him going into the game???
Here I am trying to give Claude the benefit of the doubt and asking questions instead of just coming out and say Santa Claude miss the boat again..he he he...
Yu n ever see where me say mi nuh know what instructions him coach did give him going into the game???
I thought Claude's timing on his jump was on spot...but, there are some well delivered balls which are just out of reach of even a good jumper and header as is Claude. I thought that cross by BoyU's player wide on the left, was one such.
Not attaching any blame to Claude!