• Short-handed U.S. runs out of steam against Italy

Short-handed U.S. runs out of steam against Italy

It's safe to say that angst, hand-wringing, and gnashing of teeth weren't originally on the itinerary of the U.S. men's national team when the squad left for the Confederations Cup last week. But in the wake of its 3-1 loss to Italy on Monday, all three elements are now present in abundance, as a game effort from the Americans wasn't enough to overcome a dubious red card to U.S. midfielder Ricardo Clark as well as two goals from Italy's U.S.-born forward, Giuseppe Rossi.

Was Clark's ejection questionable? Let's just say that there are works of fiction with more basis in fact than the U.S. midfielder's 33rd-minute dismissal. Yes, Clark deserved to be cautioned for his knee-high tackle on Italy's Gennaro Gattuso, and it was a completely unnecessary foul at that, coming as it did in the middle third of the field. But some other rugged fouls didn't even merit a booking from referee Pablo Pozo, and his decision to send off Clark defies belief.

(continue)

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post

It's safe to say that angst, hand-wringing, and gnashing of teeth weren't originally on the itinerary of the U.S. men's national team when the squad left for the Confederations Cup last week. But in the wake of its 3-1 loss to Italy on Monday, all three elements are now present in abundance, as a game effort from the Americans wasn't enough to overcome a dubious red card to U.S. midfielder Ricardo Clark as well as two goals from Italy's U.S.-born forward, Giuseppe Rossi.

Was Clark's ejection questionable? Let's just say that there are works of fiction with more basis in fact than the U.S. midfielder's 33rd-minute dismissal. Yes, Clark deserved to be cautioned for his knee-high tackle on Italy's Gennaro Gattuso, and it was a completely unnecessary foul at that, coming as it did in the middle third of the field. But some other rugged fouls didn't even merit a booking from referee Pablo Pozo, and his decision to send off Clark defies belief.

(continue)
    Shorthanded and short of skills.

decent game by the US. was always going to be problems after losing Clark.

shorthand is only an issue fi di goalie...if he had longer hands he probably could have saved 2 of the goals!

(continue)
          Some did not even get 'a whistle'!

shorthand is only an issue fi di goalie...if he had longer hands he probably could have saved 2 of the goals!
            LOL +1...... - T.K.

I wish the Boyz were short of skills and in the HEX...not to mention--invited to the confed kup in SA.

The confed cup is a invitation ting?

no you don't! 'bout....wid yuh penny ha'penny haccent!

shhhhh

mattaz not!!!

I wish the boyZ were a part of the confed kup.................there!!!

Shorthanded and short of skills.
                        Against Italy? Sure.

But keep in mind that's the reigning World Champion and not some chump Caribbean team we're used to slapping around in CONCACAF.

Against Italy? Sure.

But keep in mind that's the reigning World Champion and not some chump Caribbean team we're used to slapping around in CONCACAF.
                          Hey Zeppo, remember the last World Cup when we tied you guys with our B team in your own backyard right before you left for Germany? How did that work out for you guys again? - T.K.

Oh yeah! When Ricketts "assisted" on Ben Olsen's goal.

Man he sure has turned things around. He's been great so far for the Galaxy and I don't think he's had one of those butterfinger moments yet.

Zeppo.....DUCK!!!!!!!