Short-handed U.S. runs out of steam against Italy

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
    You know in a friendly down the road I would love to see a line-up in a 4-2-3-1 that had Altidore up top w/ Torres, Feilhaber and Adu right behind him. Whether or not they'd be strong enough defensively is questionable but I think it would give the US an interesting look with three players who can create from open play. I would not do it in the confed cup but in the Gold Cup where nothing is at stake it wouldn't hurt to see if a lineup like that would help the US actually be a goal scoring threat from something other than set pieces and penalty kicks.
    Yes, a lineup like that would be interesting, but it would definitely have to be tried in CONCACAF. The three behind the striker are too lightweight defensively to stand up to the opponents we're facing in this competition. We need to find some true outside midfielders, too. Dempsey isn't really a winger, even if he plays on the outside for Fulham, and Donovan and Feilhaber do their best work centrally.

I also don't think that you will see many of our Confed. Cup players going to the Gold Cup. Bradley has basically stated that it will consist of a B squad made up mostly MLS players.

Originally posted by Zeppo View Post
      Yes, a lineup like that would be interesting, but it would definitely have to be tried in CONCACAF. The three behind the striker are too lightweight defensively to stand up to the opponents we're facing in this competition. We need to find some true outside midfielders, too. Dempsey isn't really a winger, even if he plays on the outside for Fulham, and Donovan and Feilhaber do their best work centrally.

I also don't think that you will see many of our Confed. Cup players going to the Gold Cup. Bradley has basically stated that it will consist of a B squad made up mostly MLS players.
      Zeppo..its sounds to me as if you are calling for The Phenom!

Seriously though I think Freddy Adu should start if for nothing else but the fact that he seems to be the only one that can take a decent dead ball on the US. The one free kick I saw Torres take against Costa Rica looked better than any Landon Donovan has taken all year. I don't understand why Bob Bradley allows him take all the set pieces? He is horrible at them. On top of it why would you not want him in front of goal cleaning up? Somehow Bradley has to get the courage to assign someone else to the dead ball responsibilities. - T.K.

Heck of an imagination you got there.

And thanks for the advice, but I'll continue posting as I see fit.
        ok punk.. i look forward to slapping you down when you step out of line.

I can assure you that your cyber threats have me shaking in my boots.

You know what is sad about US soccer? There are some
            elements in its governing body holding back the game. First and foremost that US team is a joke, it's rife with nepotism. They are untalented. How can you expect to defeat Italy by lobbing balls to a lone forward up top? Italy of all the teams (Italians were enjoying themselves with this) You need creativity to unlock that Bolt (see Robinho against Italy) in order to score.

When the US was about to bring in Klinsman; I feared for the rest of the region. I now think this joke has gone too far. The US has all the resources to put a top tier team on the pitch. The time has come for a radical change. Enough. I think if the US bring sin a better coach with a better team then the whole region will have to raise their game also.
            Just my opinion.

I can assure you that your cyber threats have me shaking in my boots.

that's not a threat punk.. it's a guarantee. Step out of line with your disrespect and you will be slapped.

What a way Bittah1 petty? If unuh nuh waan read Zeppo's post don't read it. The USA is Concacaf's representative in the Confederation cup ... suh why is the Bittah1 attacking Zeppo for posting about the team?

Oh ... I guess because the powers that be is apart of the Bittah1's groupie dem ago allow him to continue with the childish attacks?

The man seem to have quite an issue yes. Mi still nuh understand how Zeppo get them man yah so vex.

Opinion taken King Jawge...but i think the US is doing fine.

Look:

HOME IS WHERE THE POINTS ARE: The U.S. has worked hard to establish a dominating presence at home, and the record speaks for itself. The United States has not lost to a regional opponent at home in 52 consecutive matches, amassing a 42-0-10 record since 2001 that includes 13 games in World Cup qualifying. The last loss came Sept. 1, 2001, a 3-2 qualifying loss to Honduras at RFK Stadium in Washington, D.C.

A look at the remarkable streak:

Year Record (Since Sept. 2, 2001) World Cup Qualifying
                    2001: 1-0-0 (2 GF, 1 GA) 1-0-0 (2 GF, 1 GA)
                    2002: 7-0-1 (19 GF, 0 GA)
                    2003: 5-0-1 (16 GF, 2 GA)
                    2004: 5-0-2 (17 GF, 2 GA) 3-0-1 (12 GF, 1 GA)
                    2005: 10-0-2 (22 GF, 4 GA 5-0-0 (10 GF, 1 GA)
                    2006: 1-0-2 (5 GF, 1 GA)
                    2007: 7-0-1 (15 GF, 3 GA)
                    2008: 4-0-1 (21 GF, 3 GA) 3-0-0 (11 GF, 1 GA)
                    2009: 2-0-0 (5 GF, 0 GA) 1-0-0 (2 GF, 0 GA)
                    Total: 42-0-10 (122 GF, 16 GA) 14-0-1 (40 GF, 4 GA)

Additionally:

THE USA HAS NOT:
                    • suffered a shutout loss at home in 23 overall matches (5/23/06 vs. Morocco, 0-1 L)
                    • lost at home v. CONCACAF opponent in 51 matches (9/1/01 vs. Honduras, 2-3 L)
                    • been shutout at home in World Cup qualifying in 19 qualifiers (10/11/00 vs. Costa Rica, 0-0 T)
                    • suffered a shutout loss at home in World Cup qualifying in 36 qualifiers (5/31/85 vs. Costa Rica, 0-1 L)
                    • suffered a shutout loss in 13 overall matches (6/4/08 @ Spain, 0-1 L)
                    • lost at home in a FIFA World Cup Qualifying match since September 1, 2001, a streak of 15 games in which the team went 14-0-1.
                    Finally:

BOB ON THE JOB: Since January of 2007 it has been the charge of U.S. head coach Bob Bradley to achieve the most important goal of any soccer playing nation: qualification for the FIFA World Cup. With 37 games under his belt, seeing more than 70 different players at least once and the process of reaching South Africa in 2010 in full swing, a review of the body of work during the past two years points to the U.S. clearly heading in the right direction. Since the start of the four-year cycle, the U.S. has:
                    • won six straight FIFA World Cup qualifiers in a row in 2008, a new team record (June 15-Oct. 15)
                    • defended the CONCACAF Gold Cup title and qualified for the 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup
                    • won by the largest margin of victory in U.S. World Cup qualifying history (8-0 vs. Barbados on 6/15/08)
                    • won back-to-back games in Europe for the first time in team history (Oct. 17, 2007, @ Switzerland and March 26, 2008, @ Poland)
                    • won three straight matches on the road for the first time in team history (Oct. 17, 2007, @ Switzerland, Nov. 17, 2007 @ South Africa and March 26, 2008, @ Poland)
                    • played five matches against four teams ranked in the Top 10 in the world at the time they stepped on the field against them (Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Spain)
                    • played matches on four continents and in two major international tournaments
                    THE BRADLEY BREAKDOWN
                    Record
                    All-Time: 24-9-4
                    Qualifying: 9-2-1
                    Goals For: 72
                    Goals Against: 35
                    Shutouts: 16
                    Record vs. …
                    CONCACAF: 15-2-3, 42 GF, 13 GA
                    CONMEBOL: 1-4-1, 7 GF, 13 GA
                    UEFA: 5-3-0, 12 GF, 7 GA
                    AFC: 1-0-0, 4 GF, 1 GA
                    CAF: 1-0-0, 1 GF, 0 GA

Nice data but tell me this: Chronicling
                      the Us from 1990 would you say the US is a top tier team on the world stage? NO and that's my point. The USA has the resources to walk with the likes of Italy, Germany, Brasil et al.

The data you present thus far is one of mediocrity. When the US faces quality opponent , they fold and seem ordinary. The US has higher standards than the ones you present. Right now; the US is the only one with the resources (from this region) to win the WC (if they get their act together). Come on HL 250 million with such a varied immigrant population? It's time the US raise the bar and put an end to the current comedy that's taking place.

The whole region will benefit trust me.
                      BTW can you justify Bradley's place on the team? What does he offer from a population of 250 mil to be there (ah well, he showed he did not belong by missing that goal) Mediocrity all round.

Nice data but tell me this: Chronicling
                        the Us from 1990 would you say the US is a top tier team on the world stage? NO and that's my point. The USA has the resources to walk with the likes of Italy, Germany, Brasil et al.

The data you present thus far is one of mediocrity. When the US faces quality opponent , they fold and seem ordinary. The US has higher standards than the ones you present. Right now; the US is the only one with the resources (from this region) to win the WC (if they get their act together). Come on HL 250 million with such a varied immigrant population? It's time the US raise the bar and put an end to the current comedy that's taking place.

The whole region will benefit trust me.
                        BTW can you justify Bradley's place on the team? What does he offer from a population of 250 mil to be there (ah well, he showed he did not belong by missing that goal) Mediocrity all round.
                        Just the kind of willful ignorance I've come to expect from a guy who argues that Theodore Whitmore had a stellar club career.

If you are coming with arguments come with truths
                          and not lies. Where did I mention that Tappa had a stellar club career? I have always spoken of his INT'L career. Haven't you noticed, that I don't place much stock in club ball?

Now if you have some counter arguments to present showing that the US doesn't have the resources and the US isn't wallowing in mediocrity; please present them. Thanks.

What a way Bittah1 petty? If unuh nuh waan read Zeppo's post don't read it. The USA is Concacaf's representative in the Confederation cup ... suh why is the Bittah1 attacking Zeppo for posting about the team?

Oh ... I guess because the powers that be is apart of the Bittah1's groupie dem ago allow him to continue with the childish attacks?
                            You are clearly one of the brown nosing simpletons which I referenced. Similarly if you don't like my posts... don't read them.

Not surprised at all.... your naivete is not confined to politics.... but yuh back broad & yuh keep it real nuh true?

You are clearly one of the brown nosing simpletons which I referenced. Similarly if you don't like my posts... don't read them.

Not surprised at all.... your naivete is not confined to politics.
                              Last I checked the topic was about football .... but for whatever reason you started acting like a b!tch. Guh hold yuh corner.

You are stepping out of line youngster... rushing to the defence of one who consistently disrespects Jamaica.

Considering the inarticulate and naive crap you typically post... this is not surprising.
                                Last edited by Don1; June 17, 2009, 03:57 PM.