South Africa?

• South Africa?

It's only half-time and maybe they have a good bit of nerves but I seriously question whether this team could make it through concacaf qualifying much less 2nd round of the World Cup.

That was as bad a half of football as I have seen in a long time and believe me as a man who has seen his share of Red Bulls games I have seen my share of bad football!

These are two terrible teams. Hopefully S. Africa can get it together and play better in the 2nd half. - T.K.

They have no attack whatsoever. This is about the third time I have seen them over the last year.

To their credit they look better this half. Now if they could find someone to serve a decent ball they would be in good shape. Wasted set pieces everywhere. I hope they can score. It would be nice for them to get to the next phase of the tournament. - T.K.

They stepped up in the second half, but lacked the finishing touch. They were unfortunate not to score, when the ball hit one of their players on the way into the goal.
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

S. Africa lucky them hosting the tournament.

Could they be the first host country in the history of the World Cup that fails to advance out of their group?

Hmmmm.....
            Last edited by Zeppo; June 14, 2009, 12:49 PM.

Did the USA advance in 1994?

??????

A when di USA did host di WC?

Is what you trying to do, make Zeppo fill the board with stories about the USA getting to the next round and going toe to toe with Brazil?

'94 ...Me mussi born after! and they (USA)did NOT make it to the 2nd round.

Clearly you were born after. In 1994 Romania topped the group, Switzerland came second and the USA QUALIFIED as one of the best third place teams. They played Brazil in the second round (round of 16).
                        That is where Leanrado put an elbow to the face of Tab Ramos during a very poor Brazilian performance. Bebeto came to the rescue.

Yep.

So far in every single World Cup the host country has managed to advance from their group.