Squad for pre-Gold Cup camp

• Squad for pre-Gold Cup camp

National captain Ricardo Gardner and influential striker Ricardo Fuller will join up with the national team for the first time this Monday since their season came to a close in May.
    The duo was named in a Reggae Boyz squad of 23 for a local pre-Gold Cup camp which will run until Saturday June 22.
    Included in the group is Tivoli Gardens midfielder Sheldon Palmer who has earned his first invitation to the Reggae Boyz group. There were also recalls for Palmer’s club mates Roland Dean and Jerry Walters. The Portmore United pair of Eric Vernan and Brian Bayliss has also been given another chance to pen their name in the Gold Cup squad.
    After the local camp on Saturday, the squad will be trimmed and a smaller squad for a seven-day camp, will be named.

Full Squad: Goalkeepers – Dwayne Miller (Harbour View), Duwayne Kerr (Portmore United);

Defenders – Damion Stewart (Queens Park Rangers, UK), Claude Davis (Derby County,UK), Adrian Reid (Portmore United), Oraine Simpson (Tivoli Gardens FC), Eric Vernan (Portmore United), Desmond Breakenridge (Arnett Gardens FC), Ian Goodison (Tranmere Rovers, UK), Rafe Wolfe (Ferencvaros, HUNGARY);

Midfielders – Ricardo Gardner (Bolton Wanderers, UK), Jermaine Johnson (Sheffield Wednesday, UK), Jason Morrison (Ferencvaros, HUNGARY), Richard Edwards (Harbour View), Jerry Walters (Tivoli Gardens FC), Sheldon Palmer (Tivoli Gardens FC);

Forwards – Ricardo Fuller (Stoke City, UK), Luton Shelton (Aalborg, DENMARK), Bryan Bayliss (Portmore United), Roland Dean (Tivoli Gardens FC), Devon Hodges (Rivoli United), Keammar Daley (Meadhaven United) and Navian Boyd (Tivoli Gardens FC).

So only Tyrone and Tall P left fi come in now.

Surprise how Khari and the other Wolfe brother nuh make it.

Good looking squad.

where is Demar Phillips?
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

what about,KING,DEMAR PHILLIPS,JAMAL C RYCE,DEVER ORGILL,NICHOLAS ADDLERY,RUDOLPH AUSTIN,KHARI STEPHENSON,AKEEM PRIESTLEY
        out of many one people

Ruddy Austin missing. What's up with that?
          "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

so where does tyrone mears , danny simpson e-banks blake fit in all this ?

Remember, some of them still have club duties. They are not able to come for the Cayman camp. I'm sure you'll see Austin and others for the Gold Cup.

Akeem Priestly? How him name get in the mix? Better them send the breddah that have the Mosiah polish shining bright on him shoes.

apparently THEY DON'T! keep up the good work though!

Looking at this early camp roster I can't see where many of the MLS based Jamaican players can fit in.

Donovan Ricketts would be a lock. He has been dynamite for the Galaxy this season.

I would say pick up Shavar based on his good form this season but with Davis, Stewart and Goodison available it would make no sense to bring him along. He is not going to beat out any of those players.

Tyrone Marshall I would leave at home as well. You don't really want two mid 30 somethings at center back with he and Pepe.

Assuming King, Shelton and Fuller will be picked I can't see where Cummings or Johnson would fit in. The fourth striker would have to be a true center forward in the Addlery modl. Both are having pretty good seasons actually but the team doesn't need players with their qualities right now. Add in Dane Richards comfort in playing both out wide right and up top Johnson and Cummings would be squeezed out.

Dane Richards and his Mad Cows team are having a dreadful season. In saying that however Dane is exactly the type of player you love to bring off the bench to run at tired legs. A true spark plug. He is good cover for Jamal Campell Ryce. As well if you need to go from a 1 striker to 2 or a 2 striker to 3 set up he can adjust seamlessly to those positions from outside right. As well if you need to protect a lead he can drop back into a 5 man mid.

O'Brian White is injured. Andy Williams is not playing regularly at all for his club. I think that about covers it.

So the only two I can see making it from MLS is Ricketts and Richards. Based on form I think Shavar deserves a call up but he's not going to be able to unseat the big three from the UK. - T.K.

Dane Richards has been awful this season. He doesn't deserve to be anywhere near the squad.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                        Dane Richards has been awful this season. He doesn't deserve to be anywhere near the squad.
                        Yes he has but I am not 100% sure how much is him vs. how much is the garbage team he is on.

The worst thing that team did was get rid of Dave Van de Berg(sp?) who roamed the left for them. Now they have absolutely no threat on the left hand side so all they have to do is focus on Dane as he is the only player with the potential to get behind the back four.

He definitely needs to add more sophistication to his game but I can see him being added to the GC roster as a difference maker off the bench. He is not a 90 minute player at international level. He reminds me of Cobi Jones in a lot of ways. I can see a scenario where a coach would find him useful in the GC.

However if Tappa left him off the squad there would be no cries of injustice from me. As I described it in my post before...he has been dreadful. - T.K.

I don't know about the teammate impact, but I do know that even last season his shooting and crossing was poor, and this season it has gotten worse.

Originally posted by Me View Post
                            I don't know about the teammate impact, but I do know that even last season his shooting and crossing was poor, and this season it has gotten worse.
                            I can't argue with you at all on that.

If not Dane what do you think about bringing in Devor Orgill to get the experience? He is built like Richards and probably a bit more skillful. Could he spell Jamal Campbell Ryce in a couple of matches for his first taste of international ball? Or maybe bring back Hue and move Jermaine Johnson out wide? Or you could do a straight swap for Dane with Ryan Johnson afterall. He could sub for JCR. Or is there an NPL player I am not familiar with that should get the opportunity? I realize this was a karl-esque post with all the questions. lol - T.K.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post

Tyrone Marshall I would leave at home as well. You don't really want two mid 30 somethings at center back with he and Pepe.
                              What does age have to do with anything? This is a major tournament that we can win (did not say will), we should take our best team...period. ..... if the younger players can't displace Pepe or Marshall on form and talent no game for them in the Gold Cup. Right now, I don't see anyone taking Pepe or Marshall's game.