Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
he still had 3.5 months left so to be shopping his resume and talking bout dual role like Guus 2 months ago should never have been said. I knew then that it had to upset a few people.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Sass, what do they expect? If they are serious about a manager, don't dilly dally - give the man a solid contract that can give him room to prepare for 2014. Without that, anyone is bound to shop their resume. That said, what are they going to do now? If we lose out in the Gold Cup they will end up getting bloodfire for not keeping Barnes. In other words, so what if he took the Tranmere job? See how it goes in the Gold Cup then figure it out.
All that said, this is all speculation. I have no way of knowing the facts behind either side's decisions.
eh? but he's leaving because they would not offer him an extension!! and if they were prepared to have had him through the gold cup without an extension AND if they thought he was the right man for the job (the job being the gold cup) then what was the problem?!! they hired him for a year and he was looking about what he would be doing after that year!!
save money? if tappa was good enough why hire barnes to begin with and save even MORE money?
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine
Save money with Tappa and not get the opportunity to play any friendlies (based on Burrell's statement about opportunities arising because of Barnes). We would be in the Gold Cup regardless, so the value from that angle is gone.
Not true..up to a week ago Barnes kept saying he was "jump" at an extended offer from the JFF or an offer to become the TD.
he repeatedly told the media that he was just the coach of the team and it was not his job to stay here and scout players cause he was not been paid to do that but he would take the job if he was offered it.
Solidarity is not a matter of well wishing, but is sharing the very same fate whether in victory or in death. Che Guevara.
personally I don't think Barnes needed more than a one year thing. I don't think Barnes intended to go any further than the Gold Cup. If he is out of a job in a year and a half time and we don't have any coach then he will run come back.
Barnes have the ambition to be a bigtime coach in England and Ja was just a stepping stone but thank for for his stint anyhow.
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
personally I don't think Barnes needed more than a one year thing. I don't think Barnes intended to go any further than the Gold Cup. If he is out of a job in a year and a half time and we don't have any coach then he will run come back.
Barnes have the ambition to be a bigtime coach in England and Ja was just a stepping stone but thank for for his stint anyhow.
I agree. But then he should not have been given that kind of contract in the first place (where they dangled the 2014 carrot). We won't go anywhere unless we have a long term vision and a manager that is committed to the cause. That's why having a local coach is not such a bad thing, but that creates other problems as well...but let's just leave that alone.
I would say yes to the two last
questions. I have confindence in Tappa, hence I won't sit and cry about barnes not being around for the Gold Cup. Is Barnes the god of coaching football? No. Barnes I wish you all the best in England and I know that's where you wanted to be all along. I also hope you get to coach the senior men English team one day.
Tappa please step up and take Ja to higher heights (as a coach), as you did in 08, as a player.
The truth is nobody here knows the inside story... but all are free to speculate from outside.
John Barnes is now on record as saying that he knew that the contract was not going to be renewed but he expected to coach the Gold Cup team as the original contract included the Gold Cup. It seems to be that he was fired or laid off or sent on leave whatever sounds better.There must be another side to the story!
As mi say Barnes need to be tactful. When he spoke about accepting another job with the TD job although the JFF said they accepted it but it couldn't have gone down well.
They must have been thinking that Barnes either want to do too much or was actively shopping his resume so they had to be ready for this.
BUT they really left him little option but to try to secure his future....i think he was indiscreet in going about advertising his availablilty. i think he was trying to force jff's hand. i wouldn't say it exactly backfired but it was forced in a way that he did not anticipate.
Infidelity does not consist in believing, or in disbelieving; it consists in professing to believe what he does not believe.Thomas Paine