• Ricketts is the whole package

Ricketts solidifying Galaxy defense
    Goalkeeper has yet to lose game in nine starts with LA
    By Larry Morgan / MLSnet.com Staff
    CARSON, Calif. -- Goalkeeper Donovan Ricketts was signed by the Los Angeles Galaxy during the offseason to help shore up a defense that allowed an MLS-high 62 goals in 2008. To say he has met those expectations could be the understatement of the year.
    The Jamaican international is fourth in the league behind Seattle's Kasey Keller, Houston's Pat Onstad and Chivas USA's Zach Thornton with a 0.89 goals-against average and has yet to lose a game in nine starts. The Galaxy (1-1-9) also are on a nine-game unbeaten streak heading into Saturday's game at Toronto FC, thanks in no small part to the 6-foot-4, 205-pounder who gives the Galaxy their most dependable netminder since Kevin Hartman several years ago.

The soft-spoken 31-year-old said he takes more satisfaction in the team's improvement rather than his own progress to date.

"It's been good so far," he said. "I would have liked to have some more in the win column instead of the draws, but I'll take it.

"I like my back four and they defend well. I think this is a nice team and we're moving in the direction we want to go."

Ricketts joined the Galaxy last December and is a veteran of more than 100 games with Bradford City of England's League Two. He also was a member of the 1998 Jamaican World Cup team and had been with his original club, Jamaica's Village United, when he decided to come to Southern California.

Ricketts said he had a great deal of respect for MLS prior to his arrival -- "I've always thought it was a good league, and it's only going to get better," he said -- and Galaxy head coach Bruce Arena thought highly of his new netminder after facing him while he was coach of the U.S. men's national team.

Nothing has changed in that regard.

"I think he's terrific," Arena said. "He does all the things you want a goalkeeper to do. He has a strong kicking game, he throws the ball well, he communicates well, he has good range on crosses and he's a fabulous shot-blocker.

"I don't think he has a weakness."

Gregg Berhalter, a veteran central defender who signed with the Galaxy in early April after a long stint in Germany, also has been impressed.

"He's been great," said Berhalter, who faced Ricketts in international matches with the U.S. team. "Definitely a calming influence on the team. He goes about his work and is a quiet leader by example. But when a word needs to be said, he says it.

"I would say he doesn't have any weaknesses. That's a great way to sum up his strengths. He can do everything, in my opinion."

Ricketts was slowed by preseason groin and shoulder problems and didn't make his regular-season debut until week three, a 0-0 tie with Chivas USA. He has one other shutout, a 1-0 victory against the New York Red Bulls on May 2, and has allowed more than a single goal only once, in a 2-2 tie with Real Salt Lake on May 6.

Ricketts said he is confident his injury problems are behind him, although he is no stranger to such adversity. He said he once had a similar stretch in England, where he broke a metatarsal in his foot, broke his right big toe and then injured his elbow.

But he learned to fight through those setbacks, just as he has done this season.

"I've been able to play through the injuries, so that's a good thing," he said. "It was frustrating at first, but hopefully (the injuries) are gone.

"We're just taking it day by day. I'm feeling good right now, and hopefully that will continue to the end of the season."

Larry Morgan is a contributor to MLSnet.com.

"I don't think he has a weakness."
    Yea right!

Good for him that they love him.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I watched his last game and anytime the wingbacks showed for the ball he distributed it to them and didn't boom the ball upfield.

Just as he did against Mexico in Azteca until they caught on and starting pushing there two wide forwards up onto the wingbacks and he had no option but to kick out the ball.

Originally posted by Me View Post
        I watched his last game and anytime the wingbacks showed for the ball he distributed it to them and didn't boom the ball upfield.

Just as he did against Mexico in Azteca until they caught on and starting pushing there two wide forwards up onto the wingbacks and he had no option but to kick out the ball.
        This is very good!
        CONGRATS to "Tallman"!

I've got no doubt he is top draw.

He might not be "top draw", but could be a good goalkeeper with some minor adjustments to his game. It is up to his coaches however to advise him on how he plays within the team. Maybe Bruce A is addressing the minor issues which existed with his game.
            "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I've always thought it (MLS) was a good league, and it's only going to get better,"
              But a whaddi blurtnaat Tall P ah smoke? Him no hear di forumites seh MLS no good! It must be a sickness with Jamaican MLS ballers; I've had converstions with Wolde, Andy, Granny and Cunningham and they all say MLS is a good league (contrary to our local cyber opinions).

I think the problem here is that we tend to use the European leagues as barometers for what we have in the MLS. Oh well!!!

BTW, I disagree that Tall P has no weaknesses. I prefer to look at it that Bruce Arena and LA's goalie coach have have ironed out the defects in Tall P's game. As I saw it: he was weak on handling crosses, and poor in ball distribution as he had the propensity to boot every ball upfield. It's good to see (especially in LA's last game) that not all balls were booted upfield. Improvement is evident!
              "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Originally posted by Farmah View Post
                I've had converstions with Wolde, Andy, Granny and Cunningham and they all say MLS is a good league (contrary to our local cyber opinions).
                If you ask those who play in the NPL what they think of it, what do you think they'll say?

All me can say is the man a keep like a man on a mission.

The LA fans never expected anything like this. They know if it wasn't for tall P. they would be far down the table.

I haven't seen TallP in England but I can say the man is world class based on what I have seen in the MLS.

Most Jamaicans will tell you that football is played locally at a very high standard at all levels.

It's no different from the recent post on how great Jamaica is at sports on a world basis....

If i am not mistaken you Mosiah called the EPL 'kick and run futbol'.

Ricketts had another amazing performance this week.

All me can say is the man a keep like a man on a mission.

The LA fans never expected anything like this. They know if it wasn't for tall P. they would be far down the table.

I haven't seen TallP in England but I can say the man is world class based on what I have seen in the MLS.
                        Reckitts is highly rated in England,if it wasn't for work permit problems he would be at QPR now.When he was at Bradford there was a host of clubs watching him but did not take the punt on him because our ranking was so low.

do you think that he will go back to england
                          out of many one people

Originally posted by Lucky4life View Post
                            do you think that he will go back to england
                            Not too sure,it would have to be soon he is getting on in age

yeah but goalies have a longer shelf life than field players...