• Presentation by Ms Olivia Grange

Presentation by Ms Olivia Grange
    Minister of Information, Culture, Youth and Sport of Jamaica

Ladies and Gentlemen,

I would like to focus my comments on the developmental aspects of sport, based on the
    assumption that with development, peace is virtually guaranteed.

Within this framework, I will also specifi cally concentrate on the Jamaican situation. It
    is generally accepted that sports build character that helps in the development of time
    management; that it has the capacity to reduce confl ict; and that it contributes to the building
    of healthy relationships and friendships.

It is often said that sports are a school for life.

It is within this context that my Ministry is in the process of developing a dynamic and effective
    sport policy for Jamaica. We are hoping that, along with our Caricom brothers and sisters,
    we will be able to consolidate and conceive of a policy and a direction that will drive the
    development of sports in the Caribbean. We believe that sports have the potential to be one
    of Jamaica’s leading industries and this is the potential that we want to exploit.

To elaborate, sport makes a signifi cant, important contribution to the Jamaican economy and,
    in fact, Dr Vannas James, who was commissioned to conduct research on this point, came up
    with some interesting information.

In 2005, sport accounted for approximately 2.6% of the country’s GDP and generated roughly
    2.2% of jobs. This was under Dr Davis’ administration. Employment in this sector is of the
    order of 22,474 persons, and wage contributions exceed J$4.3 billion.

Many millions of dollars are also spent on sport sponsorship and advertising. Sports generate
    substantial revenue for the Government and provide even more through indirect taxes.

This country’s elite athletes generate as much as US$44.5 million in direct foreign exchange
    earnings annually. It should be noted, however, that this estimate was sourced before the
    2008 Beijing Olympics. The successes of our country, there, will, of course, have boosted the
    earnings potential considerably.

The hosting of international events and sports tourism are major growth prospects that can
    have a long-term positive impact on all sectors of the economy. However, in addition, there
    are other positive spin-offs to the economy that can be derived from sport.

The promotion of sport leads to a more positive outlook on life and, thus, reduces the cost, of
    lifestyle diseases, to society. Sports provide an avenue for a higher level of general education
    and high quality physical education at all ages, spread across communities. This can be a
    major factor in narrowing the social and economic divisions in a society. Sports are also
    closely linked with music and art in the provision of entertainment and leisure activities.

In fact, I see a pair of stilts and on one side you have sports and on the other side you have
    culture. Those are the two tools that can drive sport for development and peace in the future.
    The direction that we can currently foresee is that the creative industries will play a very
    important role in the development of economies.

And so, sport is a performing art, you will see it displayed very vividly by Usain Bolt, beating
    his chest, holding out his arms, doing “nuh linga” and the “gully creepa”. It is all a part of
    performing and, as such, culture and sport are linked. They are partners, they are two sides of
    the same coin or two symbiotic parts of a whole like a pair of pliers or a pair of scissors. They
    need each other, they work together and, ladies and gentlemen, I am telling you, that is the
    future. Those are the industries that are going to really drive the economy in the future.

Sport provides youths with their main early experience in leadership, fair play and organization;
    infl uences which can lead, later, to strong performance in community development, personal
    economic growth and well being, and achieving quality of life.

The National Sport Industry Policy, which we are formulating, seeks to position local sport as
    a part of the international sport industry. The aim is that sport should represent 5.4% of GDP
    by 2030.

I would now like to mention a few of the plans envisaged for the industry:

The Caymans Estate Mega Sport Development Facility to be undertaken by the Urban
    Development Corporation.

A Sport Knowledge park and Caribbean Hall of Fame, to strengthen Jamaica’s leadership
    position in growing Caribbean and Latin American sport and cultural industries.

The Faculty of Sport, which will emerge from the University of Technology, GC Foster College
    and Montego Bay Community College axis.

It is our expectation that the private sector will regard the projection of sport as making good
    business sense and join with the government in the development of this industry, building on
    our success in Beijing. In fact, our recent victories in the Olympic Games have generated a
    lot of interest from the private sector, with companies lining up to have their brand identifi ed
    with the successes.

It is important, as Dr Davis said earlier, that the grassroots communities play a signifi cant
    role in the development process and certainly in the use of sport as a tool for peace and
    development. We believe, strongly, in community, cultural development and community
    sports development. Dawn Herron and I are living examples of community development
    programmes, and so it is important that we pay attention at the community level, in ensuring
    that there are programmes that will harness the talent, because once you harness the talent,
    you will be able to steer young people away from anti-social behaviour, and you will be able
    to use that energy in a very positive way.

There are 780 communities across Jamaica, and it is our intention that in every single
    community we are going to have community sports programmes. We are going to ensure
    that the infrastructure is in place. As was said earlier, we do not have to have sophisticated
    facilities in every community, but we must provide the very basic needs: playgrounds for early
    childhood; fenced playing fi elds; maintenance of the fi elds, keeping them in good condition;
    and the development of facilities where we can encourage physical education, sporting
    activities, cultural activities and recreation.

There are just a couple of other points I want to raise before I fi nish. Firstly, in Jamaica we
    have proven that the school system has played an integral role, a very important part in
    the success of our athletes. My colleagues, it is my opinion that we have the best physical
    education programme here in Jamaica.

We do not mind sharing the secret with you. We are very proud of it because we encourage
    our youngsters, from an early age, to be physically fi t and, if you are physically fi t, your brain
    works better and you can rise to any occasion; and Usain Bolt has shown us that we can. But
    not only Usain, I do not think that enough attention has been given to the women in sports,
    and this is one area that must change, I am determined that they will get their fair share of
    attention and support.

So, when we look at sports in schools and development from an early age and we look at
    the sports development programmes; and then we move from that and we develop sports as
    an industry, we are travelling a path from the nursery to the grave, because after our athletes
    have done well and they have made their names internationally, and they decide to retire, after
    retirement, at the point at which they are going home to rest with their master, we also feel at
    that time, appropriate tributes should be paid to them. And so, we are ensuring that we have
    a policy that takes care of people from their youth until their old age.

Finally, I feel that it is extremely important for Ministries to harmonise their activities. Sometimes,
    two ministries within the same government become territorial and, as a result, things fall
    between the cracks and we are not able to be as effi cient and as successful in ensuring that
    our policies are implemented properly. And so, I will be seeking to establish an MOU with the
    Ministry of Education so that sports in school will also become a part of the comprehensive
    sports policy that will come out of the Ministry of Sports. In this way we can partner, and we
    can assist each other in ensuring that all our young people benefi t from the programmes
    that are in both the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Sports; thus maximizing the
    potential.

I feel that, at this time in our journey, what we have seen in Beijing is only the beginning. Ladies
    and gentlemen, we have great potential, much greater potential, and not only in Jamaica, but
    in the Caribbean as a whole. Our brothers and sisters in the Caribbean have been doing well,
    for example, Trinidad did very well and so their success is also our success. The Bahamas also
    did well and, in fact, all those who represented us at the Olympics have done well because if
    they qualifi ed to compete they must have shown some ability.

And, so, I want to use this opportunity to say that we must applaud all those who represented
    us at the Olympics and to those who won medals, we are very proud. For those who did not
    win medals, we still appreciate their participation and we are hoping that next time around in
    the UK, we will be a tower of strength, not only Jamaica, but the entire Caribbean.
    I would like to take this opportunity to say to my Caricom colleagues, who are here, that we
    did not get to have our Caucus but, at the next break, I am hoping we can have a little family
    discussion and prepare ourselves as a team for the future.
    Thank you ladies and gentlemen.

Sport for
    Development & Peace
    Proceedings of the
    Kingston International Congress
    Jamaica,
    13-16 September 2008

Publication coordination and contact:
    Mr Marcellin Dally
    Programme Specialist of Youth, Sport and Physical Education Section
    Copy edited by:
    Ms Nancy McLennan
    Published in 2009 by the United Nations Educational,
    Scienti
    fi c and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
    7, place de Fontenoy
    75352 Paris 07 SP
    France
    © UNESCO 2009 All rights reserved

SHS-2009/WS/4 - cld - 1216.9

Would love to have the figures on football's impact on the JA society? I am thinking those would be impressive figures...right?

On our old RBSC forum we have FIFA's?the JFF's "Big Count". I wonder if Tilla would put a link to the info here?
    That would be 'nice'!