Hey guys just a quick reminder....Shavar Thomas will be on ESPN 2 tonight at 10:30 P.M eastern. Catch him if you can. - T.K.
Just a reminder
Originally posted by Assasin View PostWhat's up with MLS coverage?
Not many games on TV this year.
I have the MLS sports package so I catch every game. Especially the ones that feature a Jamaican. - T.K.No need to thank me forumites.
Paw stop talk crap.
Every year Ballers left from the MLS to European leagues. You think Ricketts stand a better chance of contract in the DPL or playing in the MLS?- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
hi have been thinking the samething about the MLS when our players go to the MLS they are stuck their,just look at marshall he is a very good defener,he should have been playing in a better league than the MLS,but still let not get ahead of ourselft MLS is better than the DPLout of many one people
Originally posted by Lionpaw View PostMLS sucks overall. Only a matter of time before it crash. Our players are better off staying in the DPL if they have hopes of moving to england or europe. nobody nah scout MLS
As far as crashing they are well past that stage. As long as they continue to keep costs low they'll be around for my lifetime. As well if a crash was imminent I don't think we would be seeing the new expansions and stadia being built as we have during the economic downturn.
The DPL has done a good job of moving players overseas. I will say however that if a player is looking to get acclimated to the style of play in Scandinavia and the UK then the MLS is a really good stepping stone. Many of the teams in MLS are a poor man versions of British teams.
I will say with your last point I disgaree with. European scouts follow MLS all the time. Every year MLS "graduates" a good number of players overseas. Maurice Edu and Damarcus Beasley came out of MLS and just won the SPL with Rangers. Tim Howard came from the worst team in MLS history the Red Bulls and has been a top gk in the EPL for the last 2 years at Everton. The Euro scouts definitely keep an eye out for mls players. - T.K.No need to thank me forumites.
Originally posted by Lucky4life View Posthi have been thinking the samething about the MLS when our players go to the MLS they are stuck their,just look at marshall he is a very good defener,he should have been playing in a better league than the MLS,but still let not get ahead of ourselft MLS is better than the DPL
You know what I think hurt Marshall as far as making a jump overseas was that he really was one of those players who didn't find a position to make his until kind of late. He was a forward when he first game in to MLS...then he was moved to outside mid...then he was moved to outside wingback and finally found a position at centre back.
I believe he is one of those rare cases where his versatility actually hurt him making a move. You couldn't really classify him in any one position. If you're a team looking for a player to fill a specific role then a guy like Marshall could easily be overlooked. To his credit he has really put together a good MLS career. - T.K.No need to thank me forumites.
Sass, you can get the MLS Direct Kick Package from your cable or dish company. The cost is $79 for the entire year (all games). It's a good package, especially on a saturday night when not much else is on the tele and you can switch from one game to another."The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
Originally posted by Assasin View PostPaw stop talk crap.
Every year Ballers left from the MLS to European leagues. You think Ricketts stand a better chance of contract in the DPL or playing in the MLS?
Lionpaw I disagree! Reread your post and feel free to make the necessary edits.
It does not (and probably won't ever) compare favourably with the big European leagues but in the the English speaking leagues of the western world, it is head and shoulders above the rest. It is viable (going into its 15th season), "our" players are better off in the MLS than the DPL, and the MLS has a higher visibility for scouting potential."The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011
Ralph went to Russia
Nandi went to England
Khari went to Scandanavia
Andy never go to Birmingham because of family
Ryan Johnson went to Scandanavia and back.
The MLS don't stop our players but since of late we have no player dominating the MLS on a regular basis. It is only Shavar and Ricketts since this year.
The fact is a balla is outstanding playing in the DPL or the MLS they will find him.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
i well say than the DPL players have a very much better chance to go to europe than them would have in the MLS,tell me this when was the last time a jamaican that playing in the MLS get to go to europe,and then tell me when was the last time a DPL players get to go to europe,i am not saying that the DPL is better than the MLS i am just saying it is way much better oppertrunity for DPL players to go to a better football league than in the MLSout of many one people
Originally posted by Lucky4life View Posti well say than the DPL players have a very much better chance to go to europe than them would have in the MLS,tell me this when was the last time a jamaican that playing in the MLS get to go to europe,and then tell me when was the last time a DPL players get to go to europe,i am not saying that the DPL is better than the MLS i am just saying it is way much better oppertrunity for DPL players to go to a better football league than in the MLS
Precisely.