• Interesting tid bits from a european forum on the CL

Actually, Barcelona Have Done Us No Favours
    Firstly, well done Barcelona, absolutely flawless, the most skilful team in the world at the moment. Messi is not just the best player, he is the best player I have seen since Maradona for natural skill.

I thought Liverpool's worst result of the season was the 4-1 win away at Manchester United. If it had won us the league then fine, but it never, it just highlighted the obvious and many deficiencies in the United squad. I feared Ferguson would come tumbling back to earth, along with his "best squad ever" and significantly improve the midfield during the summer. However, United picked themselves back up and finished the season strongly and I thought we had got away with it, that Ferguson would more or less start next season with the squad he has.

Barcelona, have just ruined the chance of this happening. Whilst we gave United a bigger tonking than Barcelona, the game last night was the most one-sided final I have ever seen. It was, quite simply, men against boys, it far surpassed our performance against them. It has also brought the truth back to the front of everybody's mind and highlighted the need for Ferguson to dramatically improve his midfield squad this Summer.

United have faced one tricky tie in Europe in two years, outside of the finals, playing Barcelona in the semi final last year. Arsenal are not at their best at the moment, they are, understandably, in transition. But even in that semi-final against Barca, they faced a side torn apart with in-fighting and a decrease in the team spirit that they had the previous two seasons and which has returned this season.

Domestically, there are certain clubs who don't want to see United lose. David Moyes took an Everton team to Old Trafford and refused to play, the Wigan chairman actually said before their recent tie against United "it would be a shame if we beat United" and several other teams and managers seem scared to compete or feel that they are part of the United camp if they don't compete. Fat Sam, Steve Bruce etc...

What this means is that Ferguson and United reached a stage where they actually thought they were invincible. Ferguson's comments about United being the first club to retain the top European prize showed arrogance to the teams who have done it already such as Liverpool, Real Madrid, Benfica and Nottingham Forest, but it also showed that he thinks he can brain wash more than just a few of his pet poodles managing in the Premier League and several sycophantic commentators who can't see past United.

But the foreign managers don't buy into it and the ambitious Premier League managers don't buy into it either. United are often there for the taking and, as Liverpool and Barca have proved, you can actually humiliate these over-hyped, deluded players pretty badly, even if you play without your first-choice full-backs and two or three outfield players who are struggling for fitness.
    Steven, Liverpool

'We' Beats 'Me'

The discreet collective effort of a bunch of relatively ego-less (relatively) superstars beat the individual effort of 10 men and the world's biggest egotist.

The first 10 minutes clearly showed Ronaldo wanted the whole thing to be about him. He was shooting on sight with the mentality of securing his headline. He really played for himself. He was doing his usual falling over and getting nothing for it.

Meanwhile Messi, Eto, Henry are quietly going about pulling the MU defence all over the place and allowing their tip-tap midfield options for killer passes.

Great game, absolutely excellent referee, best team won.
    Paul Chipperton, Toronto
    PS. Yes I'm an Arsenal fan, and yes I'm pleased for Syvinho, but particularly pleased for Henry. Hleb?...whatever!

Is Rooney Too Nice?

Is Rooney too much a model professional?

When he shot to fame, banging in goals (esp. the Euros before breaking his foot), he was going to be the greatest ever. So what happened that he has been usurped by Ronaldo/Messi etc? Is it that he is professional, too willing to do what is good for the team according to the manager, rather than what he thinks is best for the team?

He plays on whatever wing he is asked to, when he (and all of us) know he should be up the middle, but Ronaldo wants that job, even though he is more useful out wide. Ronaldo, whinges and moans and gets his way and also the title of greatest player, that an up the front, through the middle Wayne Rooney should possess. Maybe he lacks the arrogance of greatness, Ronaldo has the over-arrogance of very goodness, and that seems to be the best we've got at the moment.

Last night Rooney tried and ran and chased back, but it is clear he is a centre-forward not a wing back. It's just he is so good he can and will play anywhere, maybe he needs to stand up a bit more and think for himself. Does he want to play up front? If so, he needs to get himself the job, and really that would be doing his best for the team. Every team he plays up front on is improved. Ronaldo does this why doesn't Rooney? He seems to enjoy Ronaldo's shadow.

True greatest stands up and takes charge, Rooney seems to be too busy play for the team to ever be best individual.
    Enee

Easy Peasy Champions Leaguey

David Barnes pointed out that Barcelona wouldn't even have qualified for the European Cup in its proper format circa 1978, and thence asked how it can be easier to win the Champions League. I think I get what he's saying (very good teams would thus not be in the competition), but the syllogism is flawed. In fact it might even partially support the point all us old knackers were making: the CL is easier to get into, so teams like Barcelona get the chance to buy their golden raffle ticket. On top of that (and sorry about this, but I have lots of time on my hands), this year with their results against Shakhtar Donetsk (a 2-1 victory away but a 3-2 defeat at home), they'd have been knocked out earlier anyway. See?

So no retractions from me, at least. And I still think the group stages are rubbish.

Mind you he employed rapier logic to point out that there cannot have been a better team in Europe (ever) than Forest in 1980. Now, I never wrote that, but it's there in black and white on the internet so must be true.
    Simon (even the nostalgia was better when I was a kid) H, NFFC

Some Fanmail For Mohamad

I'm sure I'm not the first, last, funniest, most apoplectic, eloquent, or bemused United fan to email you on this topic; however, Mohamad is talking out of his *rse.

For me, Fergie could get us relegated next year in a fit of senility and he'd still deserve to keep his job. As someone who was in the Stretford End for both of Steve Bruce's headers against Sheffield Wednesday in 1993, I can't thank him enough. United have gone from nearly there to perennial champions in his time as manager; simple as.

Fergie is a god; back in your box sir.
    Tom Black

...This is Fergie that we're talking about, who despite losing to Liverpool TWICE in a season, still manages to equal 18 titles and a number of trophies along the way. This is Fergie who stuck to his tactics when his side went trophyless for three straight seasons before he won it three times in a row. This is Fergie, who is probably as hypocritical as anyone, has got it right 90% of the time. This is Fergie, who despite aging, has ultimately got the upper hand over his rivals over the years. And this is Fergie, who beat Barcelona last season.

You judge a man on his brain and age just because you refuse to accept that United were rightly outplayed by the better team last night? How dare you.
    Julian

...I cannot believe some of these Man Utd supporters wanting Fergie to resign. Where would Utd be without this guy if they got rid of him 18 years ago when they called for him to be sacked. I am sure Utd would be playing Championship football now instead of playing in the most prestigous final in the world! Where the hell are Leeds and Newcastle Utd now. These teams had great managers (Robson, O'Leary) and treated them like **** now look where they are.

These supporters are not real supporters of football and clearly don't realise a good manager when they have one. Man Utd will regret the day he leaves as there will be a massive void to fill. I bet the glory days will be a thing of the past when he is gone. How long did it take for the glory day's to return when Busby went?

Fergie is the best manager this country has ever had and probably the best manager we will ever see for several generations to come as no club will ever give managers a real chance to make a difference. Ask a Newcastle fan if they were right to get rid of Robson or if the board were right to get rid of Sam without given the guy some time.

These fans are a bunch of plonkers!!
    Jock

The Kinks To The Kooks

Parmjeet (Champions 09), the point of my very succinct e-mail was not a slight at Manchester United, who were clearly the best English team over the course of a season by a distance, and gave the team I follow a pasting in the semi.

It was not even really meant as a slight at Michael Carrick; after all it is not his fault he cost £16m and is so often over-rated. However, as Sarah Winterburn details in her blog, at a certain level he is out of depth. Please read her column for further information.

However you ask where does this leave Fabregas?

It leaves him at the end of a relatively poor season admittedly, however one blighted by injury and a manager who failed to add the necessary support to the position he plays.

For a large chunk of the season, he was played out of his best position, further excusing the above.

He was however, less than 12 months ago, an integral part of Euro Championship victory.

Though not a certain starter (nothing to sneer at as I think we all agree considering the competition), he outshone the wonderful Xavi and Iniesta in some of those games for his country.

He was superb in his first three Premiership seasons, and was the fulcrum of a side that nearly did for Barca three years ago in the CL (aged 19 ffs).

He is still only 22.

He is coveted by all the top clubs, including last nights Champions of Football¿, because he is an heir to the throne Xavi and Iniesta (being four years their junior).

In short, he is to Carrick what the Kinks are to the Kooks.
    Mot (overly long I know, but I did big up a F365 columnist) Dublin

Medal Talk

I believe it's about time the FA, and by extension UEFA and FIFA, had another look at the rules regarding cup medals and players being cup-tied (I tried typing cup-tying and cup-tieing but neither looked right).

As a Man City player, Jo turned out for 20 minutes in Man City's third round FA Cup defeat by Forest. He was later loaned out to Everton for the rest of the season.

Because of his 20-minute cameo for City, the rules state he can't turn out for Everton for this year's tournament.

Compare this to Phil Jagielka, whom Everton fans recently voted him Player of the Year.

Jags played every minute of every round of the FA Cup, scoring the decider in the penalty shoot-out against Man U. Six days later he lands badly and ruptures his anterior cruciate ligament which rules him out of the final. As a result, Jags will have to watch the game from the stands and will not be eligible for the medal he richly deserves.

Why is it that 20 minutes of action effectively bars Jo's participation in five subsequent games (not including replays) whilst Jags' contribution in five whole games, including extra time, does not qualify him for a medal?

Am I the only one who sees the inconsistency in this?
    Roy King (Everton for the cup) Miaa, ex-pat scouser, Stavanger, Norway

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

How Did That Quintuple Go, United?

Posted 28/05/09 09:34
    EmailPrintSave

If you have anything to add, then do mail us at theeditor@football365.com

Highlights In A Nutshell
    Aside from a masterclass in posession football by the deserved European champions, and my successful prediction the minute I saw Paul Scholes warming up that he would make a sickeningly late challenge that should have resulted in a red card but only get a yellow within five minutes of his entering the fray (although that one is comparable to predicting the sun will rise)...

...hearing David Pleat refer to the Barcelona midfielder 'Sergio Biscuits'. Christ on a f***ing bike...
    Philip (cue 20 solid minutes of ever worsening biscuit puns) Panos

United Were A Disgrace

Wow, so it seems that F365 has gone the way of most other sycophantic websites and decided to praise Barca and not berate United as everywhere should be. United were a disgrace. Their midfield, consisting of an over-rated Ryan Giggs, £18m Michael Carrick and £17m Anderson were utterly over-run. Nemanja Vidic showed yet again that he is hopelessly out of his depth against world-class strikers. John O'Shea and Park Ji Sung showed that they are and always will be also-rans. Van Der Saar showed he was too old. Ronaldo is still a preening idiot. Finally, Sir Alex showed a massive, massive lack of understanding of even the simplest tactics, by playing three poor midfielders up against three excellent Barca midfielders.

If you want to stifle Barca's midfield, which you HAVE to do to beat them and to stop Xavi and Iniesta pulling the strings, then you have to outnumber them in midfield. Barca were truly average last night, let's not kid ourselves. Anyone who saw their demolition of Real or Bayern will happily admit that they were nowhere near that level last night. Yet United were so hopeless they just made it easy for them. If that had been Liverpool or Chelsea up against Barca, the trophy would be heading back to foreign hands, but in England.

To those United fans that were having problems at the stalls, I think you may well have had a lucky escape. United management, players and fans alike, you should be appalled.
    Simon 'Was waiting for Souness to start on Gullit last night!' Goddard, SFC

They Had No Plan B

I found it interesting that after all of the comment that Barcelona lacked a plan B when they were frustrated by Chelsea in the semi-finals that a team (and manager) that are so highly rated by so many openly approached a European Final with such a basic and inflexible strategy.

It was fairly clear from the outset that Man Yoo's entire approach was, start quickly, try to catch Barca cold and then pull everyone behind the ball to try to hold an early lead and use their pace on the break to nick a second. As soon as Eto'o scored it was pretty clear that they knew they were beaten. Ferguson's decision to try to open the game up at the start of the second half struck me as a fatal error. Tevez is great at increasing United's tempo in games they are chasing, but it's fairly clear to everyone that you can't dictate the pace if you can't get the ball. Reducing their numbers in the middle of the park simply gave Barca more space to control the game.

In the end for all the crowing about the Premier League's dominance (and there is little doubt that England's top four represent a dominant force in European football), Barcelona proved conclusively that they are currently Europe's finest club side.
    Allan, Leeds

United: Never All That.

Point 1: United are not suddenly rubbish.

Point 2: United were never as good as everyone thought they were.

I have been telling all my friends for ages now that they have been lacking a certain steel in midfield that only the best can exploit. Now for 98% of the season that is OK but against the best it is not enough.

I have been shocked that with all the talk of the quintuple this season that true Utd fans have believed the hype that this is the best team ever. It isn't even the best team of the last two years. They have come through some ropey performances and have got the points but have ultimately been found out against the best...keep working Fergie...or rather please don't!
    Paul 'Best team in the world? They're not the best team in Europe' Rhodes

How Did That Quintuple Go?

So there we have it, of that ridiculous suggestion of a 'quintuple';

* One Was imaginary (in terms of counting as a trophy) - and won against no namers.

* One Was won on penalties.

* One was won with a squad. Starting 11 for starting 11 Liverpool proved themselves to have the better team this year.

* One was lost due to not taking another Prem teams threat seriously enough.

* One was ripped quite beautifully from their hands by a MUCH, MUCH better team.

So United best team in the world? Not even the best team in England guys. Best squad yeah, that's what wins the Prem, but hey, spending £30m minimum on a star player every year will get you that.

At least we won't have to put up with this 'World Champions' bollocks next year!
    Dom {Putting the Sex in Sextuple} Littleford

Where Were The Tears?

There were plenty of disapointing aspects to last night's United performance but particularly Ronaldo. Not a single tear! I only tuned in to watch that twunt blub.
    Jon M, Durham

We Got What We Deserved

Having watched my team turn up for roughly eight minutes and then call it a night there are a few observations from last night and in fact the last few days:

1. All the idiot United fans who have been writing in over the last few days saying we are the best side in the world ever I hope will now realise that we are just a very good side with an excellent squad who are as fallible as the next team and when they have an off night will lose games.

2. A lot of United's players looked shagged after 20 minutes.

3. Barca's midfield is quite simply s**t hot. Iniesta and Xavi ran the thing.

4. That's two straight finals that Rooney has been t**s.

5. If anyone writes in saying Fergie picked the wrong side then they are an arse. They just didn't turn up. The tactics of match them with our runners was correct but not implemented by the players.

6. I fancy Paul Scholes will now either call it a day or go and play for Oldham. Great servant, great player and along with Giggsy my favourite player.

7. It wasn't the great game a lot of people were expecting.

All in all a complete let down and we got exactly what we deserved.
    Tim (feel a bit short changed really) Collins

Better Than Boyle...

This week the whole nation has been gripped by Britain's Got Talent.

Last night, the missus and I tuned in to ITV and saw the much-talked-about dark-haired Welsh boy.

His act was to pretend to be a footballer and he very nearly pulled it off!
    MC, Brentwood

A Few Observations

1) Can we still say that Barcelona are flat-track bullies?

2) Can we still say that Messi is a big-game bottler?

3) Can we destroy the myth that Ronaldo is a big-game player?

4) How nice was it to see Messi scythed down by two players, but to see him get up and try to play on (take note Ronaldo!)?

5) It's not funny to see Scholes dive in late and dangerously time after time...The sooner commentators pick up on this, rather than excusing him, the better.

6) How amazing were Xavi and Iniesta?

7) Jim, Galway - isn't schadenfreude a bitch!
    Tony (Nice to see Sylvinho's obvious joy after the final whistle) B, THFC

Hailing Iniesta

At last! The debate on who the best player in the world is has finally been put to bed. Anyone who watched that game last night will be in no doubt that the little magician from Barca is leagues ahead of the likes of Ronaldo et al. All hail the new King. All hail Iniesta!
    John, Edinburgh

Barca Find The Balance

Last night's victory showed that football can be played in so many ways, the dark side Chelsea, the beautiful game Barca. For United last night they were neither, they seemed to be stuck between the two and allowed Barca acres of space in between their lines of four and five

Couple of observations, what a performance by the referee, fantastic, strong, calm, did his job brilliantly despite some appalling acting by Puyol. Was there ever a compare and contrast question between him and that clown in Barca's semi at Chelsea.

Finally I hope it's not lost on the our nation's coaching fraternity that height and strength does not equal world-class footballers, Messi, Xavi, Bojan and the best of the lot iniesta should those f*ckin idiots that it's all about skill, mature, and calmness on the ball. I hope all those youngsters who don't have Amazon height look at the players and keep trying.

Well done Barca.
    Pat

Has Henry Won More Than Anyone?

Is there a more decorated player, ever?

Watching the game last night I realised Thierry Henry has now won the World Cup, European Championships, Champions League, Premiership, La Liga, Ligue 1, the major cups in Spain, England and France and also the domestic league and cup double in all three countries!

Add to this he is France's all-time top goalscorer...Is there anyone else in football history with a better all round trophy haul?
    Tony Chapman

Someone's Still Bitter...

Barcelona didn't win the Champions League because Man Utd didn't turn up.

They won it because Tom Henning Ovrebo did.
    Andy Bull

Credit To Fergie

There are many points to make concerning the reaction to and fall out from Barcelona's clearly deserved victory, but in amongst it all it was good to see that Alex Ferguson was gracious in defeat and was quick to praise the winners.

It is a common complaint against United in general, and Fergie in particular, that defeat is always the fault of someone else - generally the referee. I am fully aware that there was nowhere to hide last night, but it was still good to hear him come straight out and say we weren't good enough and the best team won.
    Jack (It was like watching England vs Spain all over again) Mantel

Well Done Clive

Just want to give a pat on the back to our friend Clive in the commentary box. Whilst he can be a bit grating from time to time we have to commend him for what he said when Ji Sung Park nicked the ball off Iniesta...

"Park picked his pocket there."

Quite a tongue-twister I thought. Clive is in fact a lyrical genius, this becomes even more evident when listening to his tag team partner David Pleat. He still struggles with pronouncing Thierry Henry (HORNry)
    Dan (I want to hear Pleat tackle Abbondanzieri)

Where Are You Nani?

I notice that Nani didn't put his shirt on back to front to display his name to the world when he collected his runners-up medal last night, unlike last year's final. Whyever not?
    Dave Edwards, Arsenal and England

Michael Carrick; Two Words.

Found Out.
    Mot (Gooner who also uses semi-colons) Dublin

Ending On A Funny...

In these tough times I was browsing the job vacancies section in the online version of the Manchester Evening News this morning and this caught my eye: 'Wanted immediately - one experienced welder to re-attach a roof to a double-decker bus. Apply to Manchester Council

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

This is for Karl ,how can you call the man Anti team when he has won so much with WC Teams?

Has Henry Won More Than Anyone?
      Is there a more decorated player, ever?

Watching the game last night I realised Thierry Henry has now won the World Cup, European Championships, Champions League, Premiership, La Liga, Ligue 1, the major cups in Spain, England and France and also the domestic league and cup double in all three countries!

Add to this he is France's all-time top goalscorer...Is there anyone else in football history with a better all round trophy haul?
      Tony Chapman

"United have faced one tricky tie in Europe in two years, outside of the finals, playing Barcelona in the semi final last year. Arsenal are not at their best at the moment, they are, understandably, in transition. But even in that semi-final against Barca, they faced a side torn apart with in-fighting and a decrease in the team spirit that they had the previous two seasons and which has returned this season."

Really? Beat Porto champions of Portugal in Porto, beat Inter Champions of Italy.

Last season Roma was considered a nobody? Chelsea is a nobody? Last I checked Chelsea defeated Looserpool in the semis last season.

"How Did That Quintuple Go?
        So there we have it, of that ridiculous suggestion of a 'quintuple';

* One Was imaginary (in terms of counting as a trophy) - and won against no namers.

* One Was won on penalties.

* One was won with a squad. Starting 11 for starting 11 Liverpool proved themselves to have the better team this year.

* One was lost due to not taking another Prem teams threat seriously enough.

* One was ripped quite beautifully from their hands by a MUCH, MUCH better team.

Well at the end of the season Manu won 4 trophies .. how many did Looserpool win? Dem give out trophy fi duh the double over Manu? These pathetic looserpool fans need to get a life.

[quote=Lazie;167098
          Well at the end of the season Manu won 4 trophies .. how many did Looserpool win? Dem give out trophy fi duh the double over Manu? These pathetic looserpool fans need to get a life.[/quote]

Transparent... not just your slip but yuh draws a show tuh

Good stuff!