• Mosiah you need to apologise

to the Florida crowd.

12,000 yardie turn out fi watch Haiti vs Jamaica in a practise game.

When last you see that a yard? Kidos to the promoter of the game.

Very impressive turnout.

Memorial weekend probably had something to do with also, but a good turnout none the less

You sure those were Jamaicans and not Haitians? Haitians have a sizable advantage in SFla.

what about disposable income? dat nuh factor?!!

From every account they were Jamaicans. From what I hear surprisingly the Haitians never turned out this time. The promoter said he expected to sell out the 20,000 stadium but I guess the Haitians never show up.

The promoter said he was hitting every local station and doing the ground work, something that is not oftenly done for these games.

It would have been sold out if the opposition was a latin opponent (but that's just a guess).

Not a guess a-tall Marin...

Jamaicans don't really love futbol....(when compared to the group you mentioned).

duck HL...duck!!!!!!!!

For the approximately 12,000 fans, most of them Jamaican supporters...
                what's there to apologise about?

Yuh want di server crash ?

It could've been a lack of disposable income, the rainy weather, or the bigger attraction of Compas. One may never know but what was certain, was that for the first time in a S F Florida matchup between the Haitians and Jamaicans, the Jamaicans outnumbered the Haitans in the stands. I think I'm in a good position to opine on this because for the past 25 years I have been attending football events in S FL where the Haitians are involved (either against Jamaica or another team). Only the Colombians, Hondurans and the Guatamalans can pack a Ft Lauderdale or miami stadium like the Haitians. And that report of 12,000 people this past Saturday seems suspect! It's pbobably closer to 10,000 people in the stadium that day. Whatever the total was, the Jamaicans seem to have outnumbered the Haitians 50 to 1. Bewteen Sunday and Monday I called up a few Haitian buddies and their excuse for not attending the game was that it was "raining." But make no mistake, the handful of Haitians in the stadium made so much noise that one wonders if we, as Jamaicans, forgot how to cheer our team on!

Does Mo need to apologise! No really! This game was heavily marketed with concerted efforts made to bring out every Haitian and Jamaican fan to the game. I expected a packed house and, thus, was a bit disappointed in the turnout.
                    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Farmah...DUCK!

Mi deh yah a Duck but ah di trute still! Mek mi keep low!
                        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Mo said the Jamaicans don't support but for a practise game against Haiti this is good numbers. For qualifiers them have fi struggle fi get these numbers a yaard.

In most case the thing is not promoted here in the states and them expect people fi show up. JFF need to look towards a weekend like these to get the crowd. They had a big stage show in Florida and I know at least two high school reunion last weekend. They had a entertainer match so if the JFF promoter can coordinate and promote right they can get big payoff.

I was at a jamaican bar-b-q on Sunday and no one knew that the game was on except for one or two of us. I was in England, so I couldn't make it. The trouble is that most Jamaicans around here are too busy to follow ball...either that or they are waggonists.

I would say waggonists. But these waggonists will spend their money and help pack up a stadium.........if it is promoted right. The JFF needs to work with a promoter and put on a match against a top team in Giant stadium or even a smaller venue that can hold about 20K.
                              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015