Evra: Ref told me he’d protect me from Arsenal thuggery

• Evra: Ref told me he’d protect me from Arsenal thuggery

Manchester United left-back Patrice Evra has revealed that referee Mike Dean spoke to him during Saturday’s match with Arsenal at Old Trafford and told him that he would receive protection from hefty challenges aimed at him by Arsene Wenger’s side.
    The French international caused controversy in the aftermath of the two side’s Champions League semi-final by claiming that the Gunners performance was like that of ‘babies’ against men and both Cesc Fabregas and Samir Nasri appeared to take revenge for the disrespectful comments by targeting the 28-year-old with repeated fouls.
    Speaking to Canal+, Evra brushed off the incidents claiming:
    “They did not understand my humour.
    “I like teasing.
    “During the game the referee came to tell me he was going to protect me and that I should not make mistakes.
    “Maybe they are jealous because we are champions and qualified for the Champions League final.”

Strange!
    Wonder if he is telling the truth...or lying on the ref?

Anyway this is very serious stuff!

For a ref to tell a player he is going to protect him is 'coaching'/direct effort at enhancing players mental state! Player now knows ref has chosen him for special help...

If Evra is lying....???

Strange!
      Wonder if he is telling the truth...or lying on the ref?

Anyway this is very serious stuff!

For a ref to tell a player he is going to protect him is 'coaching'/direct effort at enhancing players mental state! Player now knows ref has chosen him for special help...

If Evra is lying....???
      How many Arsenal players received a yellow card for a foul on Evra?

That is not the point!
        The point is; what in the world could have gone through a ref's mind that would have him not concentrate on refereeing the match to the best of his ability and 'leaving the preparation of Evra to Evra and to others with that responsibility'?

That is not the point!
          The point is; what in the world could have gone through a ref's mind that would have him not concentrate on refereeing the match to the best of his ability and 'leaving the preparation of Evra to Evra and to others with that responsibility'?
          Stop getting twisted in a bind.

46th Fabregas gets a quick booking for catching Evra high.

after getting treatment.

49th And straight away Evra is clattered by Van Persie who is on a yellow - one more and the Dutchman may go.

50th The ref has a word with Fabregas, maybe to calm the Gunners down - though Evra gets a talking to as well as the last challenge brought a few handbags.

What yuh must talk bout is the thuggish behaviour of your players.

Oh wait . .. 52nd minute Now Nasri goes into the book... for a foul on Evra. He should have let the play go as Rooney was through.

Lazie,

If I ever need a spin doctor you're hired. I think Karl's point is whether it is ethical or not for a ref to utter what Evra says he (the ref) said to him (Evra). It doesn't matter what happened in the match as that is NOT the question.

Lazie,

If I ever need a spin doctor you're hired. I think Karl's point is whether it is ethical or not for a ref to utter what Evra says he (the ref) said to him (Evra). It doesn't matter what happened in the match as that is NOT the question.
              You cannot be serious! Its obvious he was targeted for calling them babies after the 3-1 game, but as a Loserpool fan of course you wouldn't see that.

I'm not denying that (nor agreeing that he was targeted)! But the question stands which has nothing to do with my support of Liverpool or the fact that Evra is a ManU player: Is it ethical for a ref to say that to a player? Is it?

I'm not denying that! But the question stands which has nothing to do with my support of Liverpool or the fact that Evra is a ManU player: Is it ethical for a ref to say that to a player? Is it?
                  The man got hacked time and again and after seeing what the English refer to as "handbags" the ref stepped in. What is unethical about that? If the tables were turned Karl would have no problem with it. (If the ref actually said so). On FSC last night they showed the ref talking to Evra).

Lazie, are you reading my question? I am not questioning the ref's actions on the field but rather his saying what he said to Evra. How come you can evade a question so?

Isn't the ref's job just to take whatever action necessary to have an event-free match WITHOUT telling any player in particular anything about protecting him? My opinion is that it is unethical for the ref to do so. If you disagree we can leave it there.

An excerpt from FIFA's code of conduct:

All I'm saying is that if a ref approaches a player and tells him to not "make mistakes" and he will "protect him" he could put himself at risk of violating article 8, no matter how well meaning his intention.

Article 8
                        Ties or confl icts of interest
                        Before being elected or appointed, offi cials shall automatically disclose any personal interests that could be linked with their prospective function.

While fulfi lling their task, offi cials shall avoid any situation that could lead to confl icts of interest. Confl icts of interest arise if offi cials have, or appear to have, private or personal interests that detract from their ability to carry out their obligations as offi cials with integrity in an independent and purposeful manner. Private or personal interestsinclude gaining any possible advantage for himself, his family, relatives, friends and acquaintances.

All I'm saying is that if a ref approaches a player and tells him to not "make mistakes" and he will "protect him" he could put himself at risk of violating article 8, no matter how well meaning his intention.

Article 8
                          Before being elected or appointed, offi cials shall automatically disclose any personal interests that could be linked with their prospective function.

While fulfi lling their task, offi cials shall avoid any situation that could lead to confl icts of interest. Confl icts of interest arise if offi cials have, or appear to have, private or personal interests that detract from their ability to carry out their obligations as offi cials with integrity in an independent and purposeful manner. Private or personal interestsinclude gaining any possible advantage for himself, his family, relatives, friends and acquaintances.

Aaaaah Peter...yuh nuh si mi lef Lazie ha-lone. When Lazie pick fi im side, hell or high water...a fi im side dats di rite side!

Article 8

How many times refs talk to players? You obviously looking for something to complain about.

Aaaaah Peter...yuh nuh si mi lef Lazie ha-lone. When Lazie pick fi im side, hell or high water...a fi im side dats di rite side!
                              Mi notice yuh side step the behavior of the Baby Thugs.