• Boyz begin Gold Cup preparations

Boyz begin Gold Cup preparations

By Livingston Scott, Observer staff reporter
    Tuesday, May 19, 2009

The Reggae Boyz began preparations for their three upcoming friendly internationals leading into the Gold Cup tournament with their first training session at Winchester Park (St George's College) yesterday.
    Members of Jamaica's Reggae Boyz squad look on as Harbour View defender Dicoy Williams (with ball) strikes at goal during a shooting exercise in training at Winchester Park (St George's College) yesterday. Coach John Barnes (left) also observes the proceedings. (Photo: Karl McLarty)

Under the supervision of head coach and Liverpool legend, John Barnes, the Boyz went through a light workout, which lasted little over an hour.
    But Barnes was quick to point out that it was an easy day for most of the local players who had competed for their respective teams in the Digicel Premier League the previous day.

"Today was very relaxed and low-keyed, because a lot of the players had Premier League matches yesterday. 'Stew Peas' (Damion Stewart) and some of the English players haven't played for a while, but the majority had matches yesterday," Barnes noted.

He added: "It was the last match on their programme, so we didn't want them doing too much today. Tomorrow (today) we can begin some functional work.

"We have four or five days where we can put down some good tactical work and that's what we will be doing, so the players get an idea in their heads of what I will be requiring from them," he said.

Barnes believes that with Jamaica having not qualified for the World Cup Finals, he will not have much difficulty getting the players focused and motivated.

However, with three friendly internationals against Haiti (this Saturday in Florida), El Salvador (next Saturday in Washington) and Panama (June 7 here at the National Stadium) scheduled before the Gold Cup tournament kicks off, Barnes said it was a good chance for the local players to impress him.

"A lot of the overseas players will not be available, so the first three games are going to be made up of the players that are here, local players... If they show me what they can do, some will be included in the squad for the Gold Cup," he insisted.

"We are expecting players to come from abroad, but these (local) players just can't feel that they are here for the first three (friendly) matches. If they show me what they can do then they will be serious considerations for the Gold Cup squad. But in training they have to show the correct attitude, desire and discipline," he warned.

Barnes added that this was a chance for the local stars to advance in their careers.

"Let's see over the next three days who is serious about his career, in professional football and how big a desire they have to be apart of the squad.

"There will be players coming from abroad... but I want to pick the squad on merit, not on names. So anyone that shows me that they are worthy will be included," he said.

And the former England winger has full confidence in the local crop of players. "They have quality, they just need exposure and experience and the empowerment of people believing in them. And I believe in them."

Overseas players who have already joined up with the squad are Jermaine Johnson, Claude Davis, Damion Stewart, Wolry Wolfe, Rafe Wolfe, Jason Morrison, Nicholas Addlery and Keithy Simpson, who recently joined the Vancouver Whitecaps from Sporting Central Academy.

Originally posted by T.K. View Post
    And the former England winger has full confidence in the local crop of players. "They have quality, they just need exposure and experience and the empowerment of people believing in them. And I believe in them."
    I believe in them too, Johnny.

And if Johnny believes in them so much, why does he waste time wid some waste bwoy a England?