Is not me sey it...

RE: Is not me sey it...

<DIV>Yuh have a nerve! What about the hotel workers in Mobay whose accents are stronger than the very guests who constantly have to ask them, huh?!?! If dem speak patois dem woulden have dat problem!</DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>"Me no know, ma'am!" - Smile Orange</DIV>

Mosiah (11/17/2006)Karl, Claude speaks English as well as any of us here. He could get by entirely on it, and no subtitles would be necessary.
      Thanks!

...and, have you ever heard Mervyn Morris speak?

Should we hold Mervyn up to ridicule? ..or, any other of our local folk who do not speak as the majority do when trying to speak "the Queens English"?

BULLS H I T!

Mosiah (11/17/2006)
        Reggae-Fan (11/17/2006)

Fact that your sister choose to keep her Jamaican dialect/accent is a matter of choice. Some jobs are client facing jobs, and require that you adjust your tone of speach etc in order to communicate effectively. I am sure Claude hasnt lost his Jamaica way of speaking...he's just aquired a new "dialect"
        What nonsense! Then why not go all the way and bleach out and get "corrective" surgery to fix those big lips and flat nose!?

RF, yuh joking, right?
        I talked to Tilla recently, Karl too, hell, I even spoke to you a couple weeks ago....did you hear"twanging" or did you heara Jamaican accent? If you think you can step off the plane from Jamaica/Trinidad/Barbados and have straight forward telephone converstion for example, withoutconstantly being asked to repeatyour last word, then I suggest that you are not being very honest. When I'm at work in Jamaica, I speak to my boss in a totally differnt manner from which I speak to my regular co workers and peers.....its safe to say I had two "dialects" while in Jamaica. So in Claude's case, why should anyone be surprised that he has aquired a new way of speaking?

My seven year old daughter, born in the USA, speaks and understand patois....so how different is she from Claude?
        President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Lazie (11/17/2006)What the fornication are you talking about RF? I have a coworker that has been living in the USA since the 60s and I've never heard him twanging. You don't have to twang to speak proper english. Suh its fair to say you no longer speak like a Jamaican?
          I speak to Tilla, Karl, and Mo on a regular basis...ask them. If you ask me, Mo is th eonly one of the three that "speak"...no joke :P
          President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

Reggae-Fan (11/17/2006)[

I talked to Tilla recently, Karl too, hell, I even spoke to you a couple weeks ago....did you hear"twanging" or did you heara Jamaican accent? If you think you can step off the plane from Jamaica/Trinidad/Barbados and have straight forward telephone converstion for example, withoutconstantly being asked to repeatyour last word, then I suggest that you are not being very honest. When I'm at work in Jamaica, I speak to my boss in a totally differnt manner from which I speak to my regular co workers and peers.....its safe to say I had two "dialects" while in Jamaica. So in Claude's case, why should anyone be surprised that he has aquired a new way of speaking?

My seven year old daughter, born in the USA, speaks and understand patois....so how different is she from Claude?
            Hmmm, how different is your daughter from Claude? Let's see - is Claude 7 years old? Did he not just leave Portmore United just di odda day? Was he born in the USA?

RF, it look like yuh just helping us with our point. Not saying that you won't adjust your speech, but wi talking wholesale changes here, RF. You jolly well know how dem can gwaan sometimes.

Shatta Cleve (11/17/2006)So what happen to the Kingstonians them who never ever even set foot outa airport but have "an accent"?

How do you account for that

respect
              Mosiah, you try to speak more than anyone else...yuh forgetting that I spoke to you last month? I couldnt even tell it was you because of the thick Brooklyn Accent....and you were calling from Jam dung.

Reggae-Fan (11/17/2006)
                Shatta Cleve (11/17/2006)So what happen to the Kingstonians them who never ever even set foot outa airport but have "an accent"?

How do you account for that

respect
                Mosiah, you try to speak more than anyone else...yuh forgetting that I spoke to you last month? I couldnt even tell it was you because of the thick Brooklyn Accent....and you were calling from Jam dung.
                Mi a dead wid laff! Twanged laffter, of course! Hee hee hee!

Sickko (11/17/2006) there was this girl who ran track for Alpha Academy, she went away for one year and when she came back her coach ran into her and she behaved as if she did not recognise him, and asked "I remember you, dont you used to coach at ALPHER?"
                  Sickko, why yuh so wikkid and BADDDDDDDDDDDD

ah gwine twang pon yuh backside when I come down deh!:w00t:

Karl I dont think you have any idea what you are arguing about at all, I dont think anyone is complaining about Claude's understanding or use of the Queen's or standard English, we are talking about him mimicking the British and talking with a fake British accent...can you follow that???

It was not me, it was Strathon who said it...:P:hehe::P:P

Why you even bother answer RF, you nuh see seh him haffi oppose everything i write??? Maybe he missed the fact that I wrote that my sister in London is a senior nurse and works in a primarily white area of North London.

Her children went to school and worked in the public sector.

The sister in Boston worked at various places where she was directly incontact with customers every day.

We have a brother who is in NYPD now and he has been there since he was about eight or nine and lived in West Virginia so he grew up talking real slow and twanging, until he got back to where we were and we are slowing reteaching him how to speak properly.

Mosiah (11/17/2006)<DIV>Good for you, Karl. Speaking with borrowed accents or anything else borrowed or even bought is a denial of self. I would rather deal with people who are themselves, real, not a cheap imitiation of something alien. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>To each his own!</DIV>
                            :w00t:

So whichMosiah is the real deal...i.e. the one not speaking withborrowed accent?

The 'proper' speaking one...i.e. the one attempting to speak 'the Queen's English'?

...or, the one that uses the 'proper' Jamaica dialect?

....yes, sah - Tell mi wich wan a di real Mosiah? ...or, a both a dem real?

Maybe Claude could learn something from Ricardo Fuller when it comes to speaking clearly without putting on fake foreign accent.

Sickko (11/17/2006)Why you even bother answer RF, you nuh see seh him haffi oppose everything i write??? Maybe he missed the fact that I wrote that my sister in London is a senior nurse and works in a primarily white area of North London.

Her children went to school and worked in the public sector.

The sister in Boston worked at various places where she was directly incontact with customers every day.

We have a brother who is in NYPD now and he has been there since he was about eight or nine and lived in West Virginia so he grew up talking real slow and twanging, until he got back to where we were and we are slowing reteaching him how to speak properly.

Allright boss, yuh nuh affi tell me bout all a yuh family in farin...I get your point. I see that you refuse to even acknowledge the point I'm trying to raise...Lets just leave it at that.