Is not me sey it...

• Is not me sey it...

Today I was listening to Strathon Palmer and he was commenting on the affected accents our sportsmen and women take on as soon as they get anywhere near the airpport.

He specifically mentioned Claude Davis with his thick British accent'...
    Attached Files

RE: Is not me sey it...

The man live and work in England for the past year...enough time for the man to "acquire" the accent. Whats funny is when people visit another country ..for vacation..and return home "speaking" :P
    President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

My sister has lived in England for the past 15 years and works as a senior nurse, her three daughters and son has been there since at least 10 years and they all work in the public sector yet none of them feels the need to talk cockney either at work or at home.

One other sister has lived in Boston since 1975 yet she does not take on any accent either.

All one needs to do is speak slowly and properly and you will be understood.

Ask Assassin or Lazie who worked in the hospitality industry.

Fine so Santa Claude has been in England less then two years and he might need to 'talk like them' at times but when he he comes home and is talking to the media does he need to use a British accent as well????

I suspect you will say yes as you are just trying to be difficult as usual.

It is perfectly normal behaviour. Many of our athletes leave us speaking only the Jamaica dialect. They then live in some foreign country for sometime and only then they attempt to speak what they believe is accepted English - often times for the stars in England what they pick up is another dialect. So what? Isn'tit understandable that when they appear before the 'microphone' they attempt what they have come to accept as 'good'/acceptable English...the new learned 'language'? I think that is perfectly normal.

I am dead sure when they are among their own away from the 'microphone' is 'yaaard talk' in the manner to which they were born. Which of us speak the 'accepted English'...that which we acquired, all the time? Is it we change accents and manner of speaking when a 'microphone' is put in front of us?

OK! Those of us who acquired 'accepted English' at home and lived at home for an appreciable time retain the Jamaica manner of speaking...but, it is at home that we acquired our second errrr...language...and, therefore it is natural for us to use the tone and cadence of what we learned...had deeply entrenchedat home.

Give the athletes a break they can and do speak "Jamaican" away from the cameras. Those of us with different learning experiences in manner of speaking show...in my book...ignorance andlack of appreciationof the 'journey' many of our people take.

BTW - We know there are pockets of Jamaicans in various parts of the world. We do know that they all speak thepatois/Jamaica dialect...but, I have often wondered if most of us in these 'pockets' can speakwith the accent...undetectable to the natives of the country in which they live...in the local natives way/manner of speaking?

...inBritain,the US and other English speaking countriesmaybe not...but, for example, those in the areas of Germany where I understand there are significant pockets of Jamaicans...dowe speak 'exactly' as the natives do? I wonder? ...in Trinidad?

I do not know..but, I have wondered about it????

...would an ass such as Palmer 'look down' on say, the Jamaican's in Germany...speaking the 'language' of the localarea in which they find themselves? If those Jamaicans got the local 'language' down pat should wecommend them... would it not be understandable and sensible? ...or, would that looking down asMister Palmerdoes be downright 'foolish'?

Dont have time to read your entire diatribe but I get the drift...let me ask you some thing, how long has Michael Holding being broadcasting for Australian or English television/radio?

How come we dont hear him affecting acents even when he is not doing games involving the West Indies?

But it was not Claude alone Palmer spoke about, there was this girl who ran track for Alpha Academy, she went away for one year and when she came back her coach ran into her and she behaved as if she did not recognise him, and asked "I remember you, dont you used to coach at ALPHER?"

IDIOT!!!!!!!

How long did Tappa play in England, have you ever heard him tryingto use no accent???

It gets even worst when these people never masterd the English in the first place then try to mix the American slangs and try to use it in accents, it is horrible and make you cringe.

This ---->
            Sickko (11/17/2006)Dont have time to read your entire diatribe but I get the drift...let me ask you some thing, how long has Michael Holding being broadcasting for Australian or English television/radio?

How come we dont hear him affecting acents even when he is not doing games involving the West Indies?

But it was not Claude alone Palmer spoke about, there was this girl who ran track for Alpha Academy, she went away for one year and when she came back her coach ran into her and she behaved as if she did not recognise him, and asked "I remember you, dont you used to coach at ALPHER?"

IDIOT!!!!!!!

How long did Tappa play in England, have you ever heard him tryingto use no accent???
            ...and, this ---->
            It gets even worst when these people never masterd the English in the first place then try to mix the American slangs and try to use it in accents, it is horrible and make you cringe.
            ...do not go together if you do not say a word about what each person'sfamilarity with the 'English language' wasbefore he/she left Jamaica!

I ask you...if Claude can only speak patois would it be best for him to present himself speaking patois? ...or, would you and your friend Mister Palmer now say, "He has been away for two years and cannot even speak"? :w00t:

You cannot have it two ways! - ...as I asked, what would you say of our brothers and sisters who live in a country that has as itslanguage something other than English and theyacquired that local language?

Think...before you answer?

Why?

Claude has picked upwhat he sees as the local language!It would make no sense commending those in countries that do not speak Englishfor picking up the local 'language' and being cussed on returning for speaking patois (the only way they knowto converse at home) ...and,condemning Claude for doing the same thing...i.e. picking up the local 'language' and using it becauseit can be understood at home...choosing to give interviews in that 'new'...for him...language rather than in his familarpatois. Would it?

*For your infomation - I cannot detect any change in Holding's manner of speaking from his early days at Melbourne. The man speaks as he always does.

Claude Davis I have never heard for any appreciable time outside of his interviews...so I have not a clue if he can speak English. Do you know if he can?

Karl (11/17/2006)It is perfectly normal behaviour. Many of our athletes leave us speaking only the Jamaica dialect. They then live in some foreign country for sometime and only then they attempt to speak what they believe is accepted English - often times for the stars in England what they pick up is another dialect. So what? Isn'tit understandable that when they appear before the 'microphone' they attempt what they have come to accept as 'good'/acceptable English...the new learned 'language'? I think that is perfectly normal.

I am dead sure when they are among their own away from the 'microphone' is 'yaaard talk' in the manner to which they were born. Which of us speak the 'accepted English'...that which we acquired, all the time? Is it we change accents and manner of speaking when a 'microphone' is put in front of us?

OK! Those of us who acquired 'accepted English' at home and lived at home for an appreciable time retain the Jamaica manner of speaking...but, it is at home that we acquired our second errrr...language...and, therefore it is natural for us to use the tone and cadence of what we learned...had deeply entrenchedat home.

Give the athletes a break they can and do speak "Jamaican" away from the cameras. Those of us with different learning experiences in manner of speaking show...in my book...ignorance andlack of appreciationof the 'journey' many of our people take.

BTW - We know there are pockets of Jamaicans in various parts of the world. We do know that they all speak thepatois/Jamaica dialect...but, I have often wondered if most of us in these 'pockets' can speakwith the accent...undectable to the natives of the country in which they live...in the local natives way/manner of speaking?

...inBritian,the US and other English speaking countriesmaybe not...but, for example, those in the areas of Germany where I understand there are significant pockets of Jamaicans...dowe speak 'exactly' as the natives do? I wonder? ...in Trinidad?

...would an ass such as Palmer 'look down' on say, the Jamaican's in Germany...speaking the 'language' of the localarea in which they find themselves? If those Jamaicans got the local 'language' down pat should wecommend them... would it not be understandable and sensible? ...or, would that looking down asMister Palmerdoes be downright 'foolish'?
              Karl? BULLS HI T!

Mosiah (11/17/2006)
                Karl (11/17/2006)It is perfectly normal behaviour. Many of our athletes leave us speaking only the Jamaica dialect. They then live in some foreign country for sometime and only then they attempt to speak what they believe is accepted English - often times for the stars in England what they pick up is another dialect. So what? Isn'tit understandable that when they appear before the 'microphone' they attempt what they have come to accept as 'good'/acceptable English...the new learned 'language'? I think that is perfectly normal.

BTW - We know there are pockets of Jamaicans in various parts of the world. We do know that they all speak thepatois/Jamaica dialect...but, I have often wondered if most of us in these 'pockets' can speakwith the accent...undectable to the natives of the country in which they live...in the local natives way/manner of speaking?

...inBritian,the US and other English speaking countriesmaybe not...but, for example, those in the areas of Germany where I understand there are significant pockets of Jamaicans...dowe speak 'exactly' as the natives do? I wonder? ...in Trinidad?

Karl? BULLS HI T!
                I agree! Pure crap...this look down the nose at our people! Why can we not just listen to the thoughts...sayings of our brothers and sisters and go from there. I do not care too hoots about my fellowman's accent as long as I can understand and 'deal with' what is being said.

yuh tink seh Claude cudda tell mi innah im 'new accent' fi run wen gunman a cum a mi a si-duna kin-up mi lip dem pan im?

no puppa yuh tinkQuarrie cudda ketch mi....

...or, Claude innah im new accent a tell me suppen fi mek mi duh good han har betta mi-self an mi a kin teet or kin-up nose pan im...?

no puppa mi wudda a duh wah im seh weh mek sense!

This attitude to ignore sensible words from our own 'bi-eccausen' dem nuh soun lacka wi his pure BULLS HI T!

...han dats nat hah good laugh yuh si!:angry:

Sickko (11/17/2006)My sister has lived in England for the past 15 years and works as a senior nurse, her three daughters and son has been there since at least 10 years and they all work in the public sector yet none of them feels the need to talk cockney either at work or at home.
                  Fact that your sister choose to keep her Jamaican dialect/accent is a matter of choice. Some jobs are client facing jobs, and require that you adjust your tone of speach etc in order to communicate effectively. I am sure Claude hasnt lost his Jamaica way of speaking...he's just aquired a new "dialect"
                  President of the FACCAC - Fans Againts Clueless Crenston and Cronies (cronies include Mosiah and Sicko)

What the fornication are you talking about RF? I have a coworker that has been living in the USA since the 60s and I've never heard him twanging. You don't have to twang to speak proper english. Suh its fair to say you no longer speak like a Jamaican?

Reggae-Fan (11/17/2006)Fact that your sister choose to keep her Jamaican dialect/accent is a matter of choice. Some jobs are client facing jobs, and require that you adjust your tone of speach etc in order to communicate effectively.
                      RF nuh bodda wit it. Yuh nuh have to twang to communicate effectively. Standard english will suffice.

Reggae-Fan (11/17/2006)

Fact that your sister choose to keep her Jamaican dialect/accent is a matter of choice. Some jobs are client facing jobs, and require that you adjust your tone of speach etc in order to communicate effectively. I am sure Claude hasnt lost his Jamaica way of speaking...he's just aquired a new "dialect"
                        What nonsense! Then why not go all the way and bleach out and get "corrective" surgery to fix those big lips and flat nose!?

RF, yuh joking, right?

<DIV>Good for you, Karl. Speaking with borrowed accents or anything else borrowed or even bought is a denial of self. I would rather deal with people who are themselves, real, not a cheap imitiation of something alien. </DIV><DIV></DIV><DIV>To each his own!</DIV>

So what happen to the Kingstonians them who never ever even set foot outa airport but have "an accent"?

How do you account for that

respect

Karl, Claude speaks English as well as any of us here. He could get by entirely on it, and no subtitles would be necessary.