Head-to-head: Cristiano Ronaldo vs. Lionel Messi

• Head-to-head: Cristiano Ronaldo vs. Lionel Messi

The Champions League final will pit the two best players in the world, head-to-head. In the red corner, World Player of the Year Cristiano Ronaldo. In the blue and red corner, Lionel Messi. Barcelona's mercurial Argentine is the tournament's top scorer, while Ronaldo fired Manchester United to Rome with a stunning two-goal semi final salvo.The Portuguese winger destroyed Arsenal, with a 41-yard free-kick and a sumptuous counter attacking finish, which underlined his credentials as the world's best.

But Messi, dubbed the new Diego Maradona, has shone in Europe this season and is regarded as a serious threat to Ronaldo's crown.

This is what the rest of Europe think:

CARLO ANCELOTTI, AC MILAN MANAGER, ON CRISTIANO RONALDO:
    Ronaldo is one of the best and most spectacular players in the world.

CESC FABREGAS, ARSENAL CAPTAIN:
    Ronaldo is amazing. I admire his power, he is so quick with the ball and he has such strength. He is a player that at any moment can score a goal for the team and make the team win - even if it is a header, left or right foot.For me, he is an exceptional player.

CARLOS TEVEZ, MAN UTD TEAM-MATE:
    United have special players and Cristiano Ronaldo is the best in the Premier League. He is ideal, great and easy to play alongside because he provides assists and scores goals.

THIERRY HENRY, MESSI'S TEAM-MATE:
    Cristiano Ronaldo is better than Leo Messi. The greatness of a player is measured by the titles he has helped the team win. Messi and Ronaldo are different players. Both have extraordinary technique but Ronaldo has scored more goals and is joint top scorer in the Premier League this season.

THEO WALCOTT, ARSENAL, ON MESSI:
    For me it's probably Messi. Then Ronaldo and Kaka. But it's so difficult to compare because they are different types of players.

FRANK LAMPARD, CHELSEA:
    I rate Messi as the best with out a shadow of a doubt. By a country mile in fact. He is absolutely fantastic. The man is a genius and he can explode with a piece of magic that can change a game.

CARLES PUYOL, MESSI'S TEAM-MATE:
    He is a spectacular player, there is nobody else like him. I should know because I have suffered so much in training. I think he is the best forward at the moment and I think he will be so for many more years. He has his feet on the ground.

DIEGO MARADONA, THE ORIGINAL MESSI:
    Leo is a player without limits. He should wear the Argentinean number 10 shirt one day. He has championships, he has personality, he is only going to get better. We're both left-handed, we both hit the heights while young ... and we both scored with a hand that the referee didn't see.

Frank Lampard ain't nothing but a hayter. Bout "By a country mile in fact." Its okay to pick one or the other, but to give the impression the other doesn't come close is a fallacy.

that should be "...by a JAMAICAN country mile... "

The difference between these two can be attributed to the supporting cast...ManUre's depth hasn't hurt Ronaldo's claim to the perennial crown. However, I would pick Messi over Ronaldo simply becah him don' drop a grung when fly brush him...he does not simulate.

that should be "...by a JAMAICAN country mile... "

The difference between these two can be attributed to the supporting cast...ManUre's depth hasn't hurt Ronaldo's claim to the perennial crown. However, I would pick Messi over Ronaldo simply becah him don' drop a grung when fly brush him...he does not simulate.
        As I said, if 100 people are to pick one player, chances are it would be 50/50. Both are match winners, both can change a game.

ah bwoy....when is diego going to put a gag on maradona?

I thought he was high when he said that. Didn't Adebayor score with his hand against Manu last season? Anybody see Bricktop?

I totally agree that Ronaldo is a more complete player than Messi.
              When Manchester united win the champions league I expect Ronaldo to be world player again.

No Mercy where have you been? Long time I haven't seen one of your "insightfull" posts.
                Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015