Refs admits Title tilting mistake ....LAZIE !

• Refs admits Title tilting mistake ....LAZIE !

I was wrong: Ref Webb admits he shouldn't have given United penalty against Spurs

By Sportsmail Reporter
    Last updated at 4:53 PM on 27th April 2009

Howard Webb has admitted he made a mistake in awarding Manchester United a penalty against Tottenham at Old Trafford on Saturday.
    The referee, who will be in charge of next month's FA Cup final between Chelsea and Everton, is widely considered to be the country's top official but has been heavily criticised following the controversial incident.
    United were trailing 2-0 when Webb ruled that goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes brought down Michael Carrick even though replays clearly showed the Spurs man touched the ball first.

Enlarge Fingers of fate: Gomes gets a hand on the ball and can't believe when a penalty is given against him (below) at Old Trafford

Cristiano Ronaldo converted from the spot and United went on to record a comfortable 5-2 win. Speaking after the game, Tottenham manager Harry Redknapp claimed that the decision cost Tottenham the game, while midfielder Jermaine Jenas accused Webb of 'crumbling' under pressure at the home of the champions.
    And now former Premier League referee Dermot Gallagher has revealed that Webb spoke to him about the incident and admitted he had got it wrong.

Centre of a storm: Howard Webb waves away Spurs' protests

'I talked to Howard and he knows he made a mistake,' Gallagher revealed. 'He didn't think the goalkeeper had got the ball. He thought that Carrick had touched the ball sideways and then the goalkeeper brought him down.
    'I don't think it was an easy decision, as people say it was, but it's clear to anyone that it was a mistake.
    'But these things can happen to anyone and I think it's important we move on from it. Anyone could have fallen foul of making a mistake like that, we've all done it.'
    Gallagher, an experienced official who now acts as a TV pundit as well the referee on ITV Sunday evening fare Beat the Star, insisted Webb should not be sanctioned for the blunder.

'Punishing him won't do him any good and it won't do the clubs any good either, because the game is over now,' he said.

'He won't lose the FA Cup Final. It was one decision in his career and you have to accept that people make mistakes.'

More...

Print this article
    Read later
    Email to a friend

Share this article:

DM.has("readerComments");DM.has("debate");View more Add your comments Comments (7)

Here's what readers have had to say so far. Why not add your thoughts below?

Am I missing something here???? After the penalty Spurs still lead 2-1 and it is they and they alone who capitulated!
    The media reaction is so over the top it borders on farce, it is almost as though United are the only team to have ever been awarded a dubious penalty.
    The outrageous tackle on Ronaldo from Palacios (which should have been a red card) has been conveniently ignored by the media and MOTD who edited totally from their coverage!
    Also ignored and played down is Mascherano's Gerrard -esque dive for the Liverpool opener, a handball before their 2nd and a dubious red card for Hull's Folan.
    And lets face it, Liverpool have had their fair share of dodgy decisions, penalties and game changing red cards awarded in their favour this season, without this fanfare, but then that doesn't suit the ABU media agenda does it!
    Go on scousers, HIT RED!!!!
    Click to rate Rating 3
    - Ian, Warrington, 27/4/2009 16:53

Okay, he made a mistake. That was never in dispute. BUT how many times have you seen that kind of howler go AGAINST ManYoo. Yep you're right .. NEVER!!
    Click to rate Rating 2
    - Bobajob, Basingstoke, 27/4/2009 16:53

Not good enough! So he says was wrong, wont give us our possible 3 points back will it!!!
    Click to rate Rating 1

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Last I checked the game finished 5-2. Who wanna mek up noise bout one of five goals can gwaan waste time. Mi notice yuh nuh mention the title tilting freekick awarded to Liverpool on Saturday.

The 10 dodgiest penalties awarded at Old Trafford - and, surprise surprise, each one went Manchester United's way

By Matt Sandy
      Last updated at 4:03 PM on 27th April 2009
      With Manchester United again looking formidable favourites for the Premier League title, the injustice of the penalty awarded against Spurs goalkeeper Heurelho Gomes may soon be forgotten at Old Trafford.
      But Howard Webb’s bizarre decision to point to the spot, when Gomes had clearly managed to palm the ball away from Michael Carrick, is just the latest infamous decision to go the Reds’ way on their home turf.
      Most notably there was an incredible 10 year run – from December 1993 to April 2004 – when not a single penalty was scored against United in a Premier League match at Old Trafford.
      Ruel Fox remained the most recent scorer, for Norwich City in 1993, until Danny Murphy netted for Liverpool in 2004. Juninho, David Dunn and Muzzy Izzet were the only players to miss.
      In the meantime – and since – there have been plenty of curious, unlikely and just plain dubious penalty decisions taken by referees in the Theatre of Dreams. Here, we pick 10 of the worst of them.

Come on ref! Bolton's players appeal against the penalty decision in 2009

Manchester United 2 Bolton Wanderers 0

Premier League, September 2008

A decision so bad that Bolton were later to receive an apology from the referee.

HAVE YOUR SAY...
      Do you agree with the PFA Premier League Team of the Year? Sportsmail think they can pick a Premier League XI to beat the PFA's select side. Do you think that the PFA team contains the best players from the top tier this season? Or are there a few glaring omissions?

TELL US WHAT YOU THINK

With no score on the hour mark, it looked like United were going to have one of those days. But they had not factored in Rob Styles.

After Cristiano Ronaldo received the ball down the right and glided into the area, a perfect tackle by JLloyd Samuel stopped the ball dead. Although Ronaldo fell over his leg, even he did not dare claim a penalty.
      For Styles, no matter. Ronaldo crashed it home before Wayne Rooney added a second to seal the win. The referee later asked the Professional Game Match Officials Limited to pass on his regret to Bolton.

Manchester United 4 Tottenham Hotspur 0

Premier League, March 2002

This was never a close match, but this was a decision so shocking even Sir Alex Ferguson agreed it was never a penalty. United were already 1-0 up when Mauricio Taricco pulled back Paul Scholes.

Despite the infringement clearly happening outside the box, Mike Riley gave a penalty and sent off the Argentina full back. Ruud Van Nistelrooy pumped in the spot kick for his 30th goal of the season.
      Spurs manager Glenn Hoddle protested afterwards: 'It was diabolical and the key decision of the game. It was one and a half yards outside the box and he wasn't the last man.'

Fergie agreed, saying: 'The penalty decision was wrong.' But he added: 'I don't think it was a turning point. We were already one up and when we're in front we're hard to catch. He had to go. He was the last man.'

Foul play? Manchester United's Ruud Van Nistelrooy (left) is challenged by a Tottenham defender as Ledley King sweeps up

Manchester United 2 Liverpool 0

Premier League, September 1998

Even in the days of Roy Evans, when Liverpool were not even semi-serious title contenders, this sort of decision at Old Trafford still made the Merseysiders’ blood boil.
      When Brad Friedel failed to properly clear a David Beckham corner, the ball quite literally fell onto Jason McAteer’s arm. United predictably screamed for, and got a spot kick, which Denis Irwin converted.
      But after the match, Evans was furious at the ‘diabolical’ decision by referee Steve Lodge. He said: ‘We are getting sick of decisions like that going against us.

‘I'm not saying the ball did not hit his arm, but you have to consider the degree of intent.’

Controversy: Jason McAteer is alleged to have handled

Manchester United 3 Middlesbrough 1

FA Cup third round, January 1999

Middlesbrough manager Bryan Robson branded United midfielder Nicky Butt a cheat after he made the most (to put it mildly) of a challenge by Neil Maddison.
      The match was on a knife-edge at 1-1 going into the last eight minutes when Graham Barber awarded the spot kick. TV replays would later show there was minimal – if any – contact made.
      Robson raged: ‘Nicky Butt has dived. You get some and you lose some and you sometimes go out with a decision like that. Neil said straight away that he did not touch him.’
      Even Sir Alex Ferguson did not wholeheartedly defend his player. He said: ‘I've watched it two or three times and I certainly think he caught Nicky. But I must admit it was a softish penalty.’
      And, apparently without irony, he added: ‘I'm checking to see if there are two moons, because we got a penalty. We never get penalties at Old Trafford.’

Pressure point: Andy Cole scores against Middlesbrough

Manchester United 2 Manchester City 1

FA Cup fifth round, February 1996

Spot on: Eric Cantona slotted home

Heading towards half time, the blue half of Manchester were set to cause an almighty upset by claiming their first win over their city rivals since 1989 after an Uwe Rosler strike.
      But six minutes before half time, referee Alan Wilkie awarded the home side a penalty as Michael Frontzeck and Eric Cantona challenged for the ball in the area.
      The Frenchman hammered home the penalty and a second half goal from Lee Sharpe saw the Reds through.
      City manager Alan Ball said it was a ‘shocker’. He said: ‘It changed the game. We had the tie taken away from us by a bizarre decision. Nobody in the crowd could believe it. There was bewilderment on every player's face.’
      Match-winner Sharpe agreed: ‘A couple of lads say it was harsh in an important cup tie and in a derby like this. If it had happened to us we'd have felt a little hard done by.’

Manchester United 2 Arsenal 0

Premier League, October 2004

It was the match that finally ended Arsenal’s 49-game unbeaten league run, but yet again it was a contentious penalty that sealed it.

More...

Ruud van Nistelrooy, having been goaded by Arsenal players after missing a last minute penalty in this fixture last season, scored a dubious 73rd-minute spot kick to put United on their way to victory.
      Rooney twisted his way into the penalty area on the right and fell to the ground in the vicinity of Sol Campbell. Arsenal disputed there had been any contact and arguably Rooney was already falling by that point.
      Nonetheless, it was the 8th penalty awarded to United by Mike Riley at Old Trafford in as many appearances there. The infamous pizza throwing incident happened soon after the final whistle.

Manchester United 1 Middlesbrough 0

Premier League, January 2000

A cautionary tale for any referee planning an impartial performance at Old Trafford.
      Andy D'Urso, in his first season at in the Premier League, was subject to a remarkable display of bullying from a baying, thuggish gang of United players led by Roy Keane.
      He was forced to retreat nearly 30 yards and feared he would be pushed over after giving a clear penalty for Jaap Stam's challenge on Juninho. Captain Keane, Nicky Butt and David Beckham led the verbal assault.
      D'Urso said later: 'I felt under pressure. If I had stood my ground I would have been pushed over. The best thing for me to do at the time was to just keep backing off and backing off.'

Mark Bosnich brilliantly saved Juninho’s spot kick but, even more incredibly, Keane was only booked.

Rash: Jaap Stam brings down Middlesbrough star Juninho

Manchester United 2 Blackburn Rovers 1

Premier League, February 2009

It turns out Howard Webb has form. Just two months ago, Blackburn manager Sam Allardyce left Old Trafford furious at how he believed the referee had been intimidated by Manchester United.
      With the score 1-1 in the second half, Rovers thought they had a clear spot kick when Rafael da Silva pulled down Morten Gamst Pedersen. But Webb waved away their claims.
      Allardyce said: ‘Unfortunately, most clubs might not get a decision like that here. It wasn't a blatant one but it was a penalty. Pedersen got pulled and tugged.’

Manchester United 3 Celtic 2

Champions League group stage, September 2006

Despite predictions of doom, Celtic managed to put up quite a fight in this Champions League tie, going ahead through Jan Vennegor of Hesselink.
      But the equaliser from Louis Saha’s spot kick was a hammer blow, coming as it did after a dubious decision by Slovakian referee Lubos Michel.
      As one commentator put it at the time, Ryan Giggs had been brushed so lightly by Artur Boruc, the keeper might have been a valet brushing a speck of dust from his boss's sleeve.
      Celtic manager Gordon Strachan was furious, but Saha added another before Ole Gunnar Solskjaer made the result safe. But the Scottish side had revenge at Celtic Park, winning 1-0 with Saha missing a last minute penalty.

Decisive: Louis Saha strokes home for the Red Devils

Manchester United 2 Aston Villa 1

Premier League, May 1999

With United on the verge of their Treble and tired from their European exploits, they needed a little luck to overcome Aston Villa in the dying days of the Premier League season.
      With the score 1-1 at half time after a Steve Watson own goal and a clever equaliser by Julian Joachim, Villa, themselves on a rich run of form, fancied their chances.
      A free kick from David Beckham put them on the back foot before referee Keith Burge put an end to any hope with a remarkably inconsistent set of decisions.

He awarded the home side a spot kick after a push on Philip Neville by Steve Stone (Denis Irwin’s kick was saved by Michael Oakes).
      But he only gave an indignant Villa an indirect free kick outside the area for a similar infringement by Jesper Blomqvist on Stone that was clearly within the box.

More...

Print this article
      Read later
      Email to a friend

Share this article:

DM.has("readerComments");DM.has("debate");View more Add your comments Comments (6)

Here's what readers have had to say so far. Why not add your thoughts below?

Childish stuff - I'm a Spurs fan and even though I was disappointed by Saturday's events I admit that, even though the big clubs naturally get the odd decision go their way at home, these things generally go in swings and roundabouts -- as United manager Sir Alex said himself afterwards.

Me and my mates didn't make a big deal of it when that penalty decision went against United in the FA Cup semi-final (or that Portsmouth game in the FA Cup last season for that matter) so it's a bit hypocritical for me and anyone else to go on about this one.
      Click to rate Rating 1
      - Timothy Nicholson, Brook Green, Hammersmith, London, 27/4/2009 17:03

Wow now this is getting pathetic. Referees do make mistakes and are not as the media would suggest and biassed towards united. By the sounds of it there were mistakes in the liverpool game and of course that gets no mention. We should have had a penalty against Everton, again barely mentioned. Definite penalty against Portsmouth in the FA cup the year before, hardly mentioned. Gerrard's amazing ability to be knocked off his feet at the gust of a wind again not mentioned.

United have had a relatively poor season and are still top of the league where they deserve to be. Liverpool have thrown away their best chance of the title for 20 years through their inability to turn draws into wins not because of dodgy refereeing decisions.
      Click to rate Rating 1
      - Josh Mountney, Evesham, 27/4/2009 16:53

Just look at the definte penelties not awarded to United recently- Everton in The Semi Final a week ago, Spurs in the Carling Cup Final, Portsmouth in last seasons QF !

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

The opening goal makes a difference, Lazie.If you can't understand that, perhaps you need to start a water polo site. Oops, they have goals in that sport too!

Try...jacks!

The opening goal makes a difference, Lazie.If you can't understand that, perhaps you need to start a water polo site. Oops, they have goals in that sport too!

Try...jacks!
          5-1 =4. 4 is greater than 2.

Maybe you need to start a Math Club.

Th ref is a liar , its one thing to award a penalty on the assumption the unted player nicked it but how do you justify a yellow card if thats the case ?

Its hard to play against 11 men but 13 ? the home crowd is the 12 man and the ref 13 ?

Proves my point!

Let me know when yuh jacks site startup!

Thanks!

Proves my point!

Let me know when yuh jacks site startup!

Thanks!
                What point? Y'all acting as if its the first Manu mek such a comeback? Again, if unuh nuh have the balls fi talk bout the phantom freekick that led to Liverpool's first goal ... leave it alone then.

and...what is he doing about it?

I will ask again. If the Goalie foul the striker there, Is it an automatic a red card?

Intentional or not. Mi know unnu a run from it but mi nah leave it.

I saw the game . It was a very bad call.

Howard Webb is the worst ref i have ever seen. I groan whenever I see him in charge of any game.

Can you imagine if Urial Rennie was as poor a ref like Web?

I always thought Howard Webb was a big Liverpool fan, but I guess he is just a poor ref.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I saw the game . It was a very bad call.

Howard Webb is the worst ref i have ever seen. I groan whenever I see him in charge of any game.

Can you imagine if Urial Rennie was as poor a ref like Web?

With the exception of the Loserpool crew, how many of us was certain it wasn't a penalty on viewing it at first? My initial reaction was here we go again, another penalty overlooked by the ref. Where others have replays to backup their positions, the ref just have that one play to make his decision.

By the way HL, do you consider Mike Riley one of the worst refs?

Did you not see my post? I think I was responding to Westman. I did not think it was a penalty the first and only time I saw it.

Are you suggesting then that the refs are trying to "make it up" to ManU?

And why didn't Ronaldo get a red for taking off his shirt after the headed goal? to bareback?... some yute (figget him name in the Championship?) score a boss free kick, rip off him yellow shirt to celebrate (revealing a yellow undershirt) and still get a red?

Yuh don't tink seh yuh team is favoured by the refs?.. yuh might have a one off bad call but overall ref fraid a Man U... or getting a kickback!

Where is the consistency?

The next point is ManU (Liverpool too) does NOT need a ref to help them... AND I may not be a football guru like you, but if you don't understand the psychology of sport I give you more credit than you deserve; Spurs in the situation they were became completed deflated and lost their focus when THE REF GAVE THE OPPOSITION A GOAL!!