Lazie & Westman TALK TO MI BOUT MIND GAMES !

• Lazie & Westman TALK TO MI BOUT MIND GAMES !

Rafael Benitez launches bold bid to bring Carlos Tevez to Anfield

(Martin Rickett/PA)

Carlos Tevez is unlikely to be at Old Trafford next season and Liverpool and keen to recruit him

Oliver Kay, Football Correspondent

div#related-article-links p a, div#related-article-links p a:visited {color:#06c;}Rafael Benítez is preparing to antagonise Sir Alex Ferguson once more with an audacious bid to sign Carlos Tévez.
    The Argentina forward is increasingly resigned to leaving Manchester United at the end of the season, with Real Madrid his most likely destination. Benítez has signalled Liverpool’s willingness to join Chelsea, Manchester City and Inter Milan in the mêlée for his signature.
    Ferguson has not yet given up hope of retaining Tévez’s services after his complicated two-year lease arrangement expires at the end of the season, but the forward’s growing discontent means that he will consider a move away from Old Trafford — even if United manage to reach an agreement with the companies that hold his economic rights.
    Tévez, who joined United in a controversial move from West Ham United in August 2007, would be likely to cost any other club more than the £22 million that United have to pay at the end of the season to turn the player’s loan into a permanent deal. Benítez, though, is determined to test the water.
    Related Links

The Spaniard knows that United have no control over Tévez if and when he leaves Old Trafford and that the Barclays Premier League leaders would not receive any money, with the transfer fee instead going to the companies, headed by Kia Joorabchian, that own the player’s economic rights.
    Tévez, 25, is frustrated at his loss of favour since Dimitar Berbatov’s arrival at Old Trafford from Tottenham Hotspur in the summer, having not started any of United’s four matches in the Champions League knockout phase.
    Madrid are favourites to sign Tévez should he end his two-year stint at United, with Florentino Pérez, who is expected to be elected Real’s new president next month, confident of delivering the forward as part of a wide-reaching rebuilding operation that is expected to include a world-record bid for Cristiano Ronaldo, the United forward. But Liverpool have registered their interest in signing Tévez if he wishes to stay in England — and if the price is right.
    Tévez declared in an interview with an Argentine radio station this week that “in my situation, an exit [from United] will be the best solution” and that “there are other options for next season”, citing interest from Real and Inter as well as other clubs, of which there are now three in England monitoring the situation.
    Ferguson, the United manager, would bristle at the idea of the forward joining just about any of the interested clubs. He blocked Gabriel Heinze’s proposed move to Liverpool in August 2007 and said of Real this season that he “wouldn’t sell that mob a virus”.
    As revealed in The Times a week ago, Tévez concluded that his future lay away from United after being dropped for the 1-0 victory away to Porto in the Champions League quarter-final, second leg.
    His sense of injustice is shared by some of his team-mates and certainly by the club’s supporters, who cheered his name loudly when the substitutes were announced before the 2-0 Premier League victory over Portsmouth on Wednesday — in contrast to Berbatov, whose name was booed by an audible minority.
    These are issues that Ferguson could do without, having shown several signs of tetchiness in recent weeks even as his team continue their defence of the Premier League and Champions League titles.
    He has been at odds with Benítez since January and the Liverpool manager continued the verbal jousting yesterday. Benítez insisted that he had been right to stand up to his United counterpart and that Liverpool are the better team on form, even though they trail by three points in the title race, having played a game more.
    “I’m not having a battle of words with Alex Ferguson,” Benítez said in an interview with a Spanish newspaper. “But I believe that he can see that we are the better side and that we’re very close to United. He has been playing these kind of mind games for many years. Nobody has ever said anything against him or stood up to him. It seems like he has a licence to do these sort of things.
    “I try not to talk too much, but all I can do when I speak is to defend my own team. I did not say that he seems frightened, but I said that he looks nervous as he can see that we are very close to his team.”

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

From henceforth let it be known Rafa has fergie right where he wants him .Right behind his head back ................................BIMMMMMMMM!

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

There's something I don't understand here.I thought that the third party ownership of players had been outlawed by the FA and the Premier League.However Tevez still seems to be owned by whoever and MU are just renting him.Is this legal?
      The last I heard was that his minders wanted 32million for him.You must be joking!Arshavin cost less than 20 million.Benitez would have to be stark staring bonkers to pay that price for Tevez.

Posted by: Lawrence Taylor | 24 Apr 2009 12:38:26

Teves and Torres will be a wonderful pair in the Liverpool's attack.

Posted by: bruno | 24 Apr 2009 12:37:47

1: fergie has no say where he goes as he is on lease(not loan as he's only registered to united).
      2: liverpool have a 1st choice strike partnership in torres and gerard. Tevez would be no closer to a guaranteed game.
      3: Liverpool need to sort out the defences lapses not goal scoring(for once).
      As a united fan i love the guys attitude but lets be honest, he's cost us 12m quid for a loan and they're looking another 22m to secure him. there are better players out there for that especially if SAF is favouring berbatov(who has to work a hell of a lot harder to win us over!). 34m is a lot for a squad player. As fpor joining liverpool he'd just take up the space gerrard uses. won't work.

Posted by: stephen | 24 Apr 2009 12:30:57

To all the united fans that are saying that Mr Ferguson would never allow Tevez to join LFC, HE DOES NOT HAVE A SAY IN THE MATTER, he is still owned by a third party and the two year deal is coming to an end so he can go where he likes. I myself am not to sure where he would fit in at the club. But if Rafa really does want to sign him and is not just winding up old whiskey nose then who am I to argue.

Posted by: Phil Smith | 24 Apr 2009 12:17:44

i think fergie should sell neville n fletcher or o.shea n finance tevez n keep him we cant be in all competitions with jst berbasloth

Posted by: Trevor | 24 Apr 2009 12:04:27

Benitez doesn't want to sign Tevez. We don't need a second striker, look what happened to Gerrard when Keane was in the team. Same goes for not signing Villa - great player but again he would get in the way of Gerrard. Silva is the way forward, I love that Benitez is obviously doing all of this to completely wind Ferguson up!

Posted by: Ben | 24 Apr 2009 12:03:34

Would love to see Tevez at Liverpool, purely because he's not getting a game at United. But- I can't see it. Although Valencia will put a huge fee on Villa he would surely take a move to Liverpool with open arms. If he digs his heels in then a mid to high twenties bid for Villa would be successful.

Posted by: Jimmy Ford | 24 Apr 2009 11:59:00

I just love this obvious move by Rafa to drive Fergie up the wall. He is now forcing the scot to either pay over the odds to keep Tevez, or he can worry endlessly that the Argentinian might actually join Liverpool. Fantastic.

Posted by: Rednest | 24 Apr 2009 11:49:37

i think that tevez would be a good signing for Liverpool firstly
      he's an excellent striker
      We need more players like Kuyt so Tevez would be a excellent signing
      Tevez's long time best freind Javier Mascherano plays for Liverpool so he'll know someone
      n Ferguson cant do anything about it as Tevez isnt owned by Ferguson

Posted by: scooby | 24 Apr 2009 11:46:27

I doubt if SAF would let Tevez go,especially to Liverpool. He would do very well in Liverpool though as I can see him forming a great partnership with Torres.He is definitely better than Berbatov whom I only ever fancied as an exhibition player not a competitor.If Tevez weren't so expensive I would urge AW to buy him.
      As for Tevez I would advise him to be patient and not talk too much.He might just get his wishes (either a good transfer or a relative regular position)

Posted by: Olumide ************beja | 24 Apr 2009 11:32:55

As a massive United fan, the only player I would love to see leave us for Looserpool is Gary Neveille. When Everton bought Phil Neville I said they forgot to pick up the other item of their "buy one get one free" shopping. Now I know Phill is a lot better than Gary. If he goes to Anfield and weaken Liverpool (like Sylvestre has weakened Arsenal) it would be really great.

Posted by: Ahmadou Gaye (Senegal) | 24 Apr 2009 11:14:03

The summer Liverpool bought Torres was the same year Man Utd bought Tevez and if I’m being honest I was gutted that they snapped up Tevez because I didn’t know an awful lot about Torres. I think I speak for most Liverpool fans when I say we got the better deal! I think Tevez is a good player and could do well for Liverpool but is it really the best way to spend 20+ million? On a player who hasn’t really lived up to his reputation since moving from the Hammers. That being said I would not be upset if Rafa got him as he does have a lot to offer and I think our new found style of play would suit him. Rafa has the backbone of a world class squad in: Jose Reina, Martin Skrtl, Daniel Agger, Steven Gerrard, Xabi Alonso, Javier Mascherano and Fernando Torres and then some promising youngsters in: Jay Spearing, Nabil El Zar and Emeliano Insua. I feel Liverpool need hold on to these players and offload most of their fringe players (not Yosi Benayoun) to beef up what is likely to be a very limited transfer kitty in comparison to Chelsea and Man Utd’s. Then look to bring in the likes of David Villa or Samuel Eto'o to partner Torres up front, David Silva and Aaron Lennon on either flank and Glen Johnson at right back. It isn’t looking likely that they will be able to afford all of these players, so let’s hope the takeover every one is taking about comes through sooner rather than later so we fans can have the world class stadium we deserve and watch the Rafa-lution continue…

Posted by: liverpoolMAD | 24 Apr 2009 10:42:51

Perspective is required here. Although supporters appreciate Tevez, he has not really performed when given the chance this season. We also have Welbeck, Kiko, Campbell & Manucho as potential 3rd strikers. Finally, Benzema may well be available this summer & would be a better use of £20M+ on current form.

Posted by: Des | 24 Apr 2009 10:42:41

He should leave ManUre for sure. What's the point in sitting on the bench all the time? Even if Berbatov is out of form!
      For Liverpool it would be great. Imagine Tevez and Kuyt closing defenders down...

Posted by: Carrard | 24 Apr 2009 10:26:49

I was made up when this article broke, for a while now I have thought Tevez would be an excellent signing for Liverpool and have said so to anyone who will listen(although I did the same with Robbie Keane!). There seems to have been a drop in his confidence on the pitch recently possibly demonstrating his resignation in leaving rainy manchester.
      Three major reasons for signing him;
      1) hard working
      2) nack of getting important goals
      3) the look on Fergie's face if we signed him....priceless!!
      Maybe it is just a rumour started by Benitez to rile Ferguson; no doubt provoking another hilarious response.
      We'll see!

Posted by: James | 24 Apr 2009 10:15:36

tevez should join a big club like everton !

Posted by: dave g | 24 Apr 2009 10:06:49

I can't see SAF letting him come to Liverpool. If he didn't let Heinze
      go then he certainly won't let Tevez.
      There aren't many strikers or number 10's that would enhance the current partnership of Gerrard/Torres but Tevez would be one of the few that could certainly be so useful if Gerrard was injured.

Posted by: Redmacca | 24 Apr 2009 10:01:58

As a Liverpool fan I would be delighted. I can't see it happening though.
      One thing in Liverpools favour is the fact he has a freidn in Mascherano plus the chance of playing alongside Torres and Gerrard could be too good to turn down.

Posted by: Darius Gelich | 24 Apr 2009 09:53:05

BRING IT ON GERRARD AND TEVEZ BEHIND TORRES SORTED

Posted by: DOCTORZ | 24 Apr 2009 09:41:08

He should join a club that will appreciate him.

Posted by: Sean | 24 Apr 2009 09:37:42

I do think Tevez is a truly great player and would fit in the liverpool team pretty well playing off torres or anywhere in the front three behind.
      However, i don't think Benitez truly want to splash all his transfert budget on only one player as we saw against Arsenal, there are weaknesses at the back who need to be addressed.
      But i'd welcome Tevez here cause he possesses that little bit of unpredictability on his game to improve our play notably against teams parking the bus.

Posted by: alan(France) | 24 Apr 2009 09:30:30

he'll probably go. he wants to play for a big club.

How is it mind games? Who owns Tevez? The record will show that Tevez is currently on loan at Manu .. suh easy with the mind games.

Fergie will NEVER let that happen!!!! Rafa will kill his career. But me not even a go follow up pon this, because it's absolute rubbish!
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015