Top Ten: Worst signings of the season

#1 Lazie?! #1?!!!!!

The man scored 13 goals have 8 assists. If players were credited the penultimate pass that led to a goal his assist would have been more. I'm sorry Gamma, I don't think he is the worst transfer. Sure there were some chances he should have buried ... but I think people's judgement get clouded by his transfer fee.

for whom much is paid...much is expected....anyway....i wouldn't say that he is the # worst signing...

1. Dimitar Berbatov – It’s not been going particularly well of late for Manchester United’s £30m Bulgarian, whom many United fans see as breaking up last season’s dynamic attacking unit, and tamely farting a penalty at Tim Howard in last Sunday’s FA Cup semi-final against Everton hardly helped matters.

2. Deco – The £8m Portuguese midfielder looked unstoppable in his first few games for Chelsea but has since disappeared in a ‘mercurial’ puff of smoke. You might say that Scolari dropped a Ballack.

3. Jimmy Bullard – Phil Brown’s Hull City (PBHC) paid Fulham £5m for the decent but injury-prone midfielder in the hope that it would arrest their slide down the table but, sure enough, Bullard inured his knee just 37 minutes into his first game and will now miss the rest of the season. Poor PBHC.

4. Paul Robinson – It’s entirely appropriate that the former England goalkeeper was Paul Ince’s first signing for Blackburn as this piece of business is a perfect representative microcosm of Ince’s reign – rubbish. It appears that £3.5m Robinson has at some point during the last few years been struck by lightning, while the irksome Ince’s subsequent sacking keeps him happily out of both sight and mind. Allardyce next, please.

5. Dave Kitson – Stoke paid a club record fee of £5.5m to take the striker from Reading, in the hope that his goals would fire them to safety. 16 games and no goals later – and having accrued the nickname ‘Dave S***son’ – he was loaned back to Reading.

6. Jo – The Brazilian striker represented £19m down the drain for Manchester City but, somewhat uniquely, could also be in line for shrewdest signing of the season given the goals he’s scored since moving on loan to Everton in January. Given that the Toffees are unlikely to be able to afford to make his move permanent, it will be interesting to see what happens next for this erratic young talent.

7. Fabricio Coloccini – How much, Newcastle? £10.3m?? Ouch, Newcastle. Ouch.

8. Xisco - £5.7m? Oh, Newcastle. Tut, tut, tut. Shall we mention Gutierrez and Nolan as well? Or just leave it? Let’s just leave it. They’ve suffered enough.

9. Scott Carson – Made a loan move permanent from Liverpool to West Brom for a fee of £3.75m but it’s fair to say he hasn’t much impressed. In fact, he’s made some howlers so howling that every dog within a 50-mile radius joined in in chorus. Still a young goalkeeper though, so time is on his side.

10. Robbie Keane – Despite the fact that Liverpool managed to recoup much of the £20m they paid Spurs for the Irish forward, and despite Benitez implying that the signing was not his idea, this was a bad ‘un. Could have been useful during the title run-in, given that David N’gog’s injury leaves Liverpool relatively light up front.
          Honourable Mentions...

11. David Bentley – Continuing the merry-go-round of crap signings, Spurs paid Blackburn £15 million for the England midfielder, with up to an additional £2 million payable upon “future performances”. Spectacular goal against Arsenal aside, Bentley has been pretty dreadful. In a pleasing kind of way.

12. Borja Valero – West Brom paid a club record fee of £4.7m for Valero, who is apparently a Spanish midfielder who has made 29 appearances this season. Who knew? Anyway, Tony ‘Cup of Beans’ Mowbray insists that Valero is in his plans so, who knows, maybe you’ll see him about one day.

13. Anton Ferdinand – We could tell you how much Sunderland paid West Ham for Rio’s brother but it’s probably best you’re not sipping any coffee at the time. So…ready? Ok, here goes. Eight milli…**broadcast interrupted by sound of projectile spewing of coffee from mouths**

14. Johan Elmander – Sometimes, you just know a signing isn’t going to work out, even if you know little about the player being signed. You see his name, you see the fee, and you just get a feeling. Alfonso Alves, Corrado Grabbi, Georgios Samaras – meet Bolton’s £8.2m Swedish striker Johan Elmander. He is your brother now.

15. Tal Ben Hyam – Mark Hughes’ £5m signing from Chelsea seemed like a good idea at the time, but it didn’t quite work out for the Israeli at Manchester City and he is now on loan at Sunderland where he could form an all-star centre-back partnership with Anton Fer…**pffffffffffffffffftttttttttt splutter**

http://blog.sport.co.uk/Football/244...he_season.aspx

Robinho is missing from that List. He cost Man City 32M is the most expensive player in the premiership.

The following players also deserve some mention:

1. Louis Saha - Man U > Everton
          2. Mikael Silvestre - Man U > Arsenal
          3.Giovanni Dos santos - Barcelona > Spurs
          4. Frazier Campbell - Man U > Spurs
          5. Manucho - ManU > Hull
          6. James Beattie - Championship > Stoke

Sunderland not far behind. Only Jones, Richardson and Cisse them buy with about 100 million in a year time span.

Run that by me again? when did those three players cost $100M. Its clear you arent good at math. Jones and Richardson were both bought for under 10M each. Djibril Cisse is on a season long loan from Olympic Marseille.

Th majority of Sunderland's current players were bought on a 2 year shopping spree by Roy Keane who spent about 80M.

Robhino should be in the top.

Hoe James Beattie come inna that? Man transfer from championship for under 5 million and score 5 goals in 10 games and help save his side, so explain to me how him come inna that?

Robhino should be in the top.

Hoe James Beattie come inna that? Man transfer from championship for under 5 million and score 5 goals in 10 games and help save his side, so explain to me how him come inna that?

Beattie hasnt exactly done it yet, so im not sure how he has saved his side. The table doesnt show that much of a gap between #12 spot and #17. In fact there's only a 5 point diffrential between those spots with 6 teams.

A combination of dropped games or a losing skid can have any of the teams in that region relegated.

Keane spend 70 million in the summer and within the year before he spend more than 20 million. That is what I am talking about. For what? Only 3 good players he bought.

address 5 goals in 10 games.

Its actually 6 in 12 games. He hasnt saved his team yet but his goals has helped Stoke get to a decent level on the table. Blackburn is right on that relegation horizon and may very well go down.