• Viagra treatment for footballers

Viagra treatment for footballers

A Bolivian football team's former physiotherapist says he gave players the sex drug Viagra to help them play at high altitude in the main city.
    Rodrigo Figueroa told La Prensa newspaper he had prescribed Viagra, which oxygenates the blood, to at least nine players in his team, Blooming.
    The team from Santa Cruz, 400m (1,300ft) above sea level, were playing at more than 3,500m in La Paz.
    Players were unaware of what they were taking, the physiotherapist said.
    He stressed that Viagra was not on the list of banned drugs.

"We prescribed it for several players, especially those who suffered most from altitude," said Mr Figueroa.
    He had, he explained, administered the product by mixing it with fruit juice.
    Asked about his former side's results using the product, Figueroa, who is now with Bolivar in La Paz, replied:
    "At altitude you win, you draw, you lose. The best results came when the team relied on strong tactical nous."

Hmmmnnn!!!! "Intristing" or "Inner-resting" as mi Yank Sistren would say!

Ok, he could argue that the resultant relaxation of vascular smooth muscles leads to vasodilation, which in turn leads to increased blood flow and hence more oxygen being carried to pariticular tissues. He may have a solid argument.

However, to administer the drug without finding out certain facts about the patient/athlete is (from a medical point of view) bordering on carelessness. Thank goodness there were no adverse/life threatening effects.
    "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Maybe he is thinking that giving his players a third leg to stand on during games is worth taking the risk.
      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Hehehehehehehe good one Tilla! Yes, an extra "leg" could give them an extra step .
        "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

HAHA! Yes, Tilla, I am surprised at your great sense of humour!

Unless you can do keep-up 50 times and pass the ball with that 3rd leg its more a liability than an asset....but maybe they did.....

Maybe he is thinking that giving his players a third leg to stand on during games is worth taking the risk.
              Not a good idea to give a man a 3rd leg to stand on, when he is running around with 21 other men ? and its a PHYSICAL game 2!