It Worked Out But United's Formation Was Strange

• It Worked Out But United's Formation Was Strange

We are used to Sir Alex trying out a new formation in every single Champions League game and it was no different at Porto. We'll probably never see this line-up in such a formation again.

I had guessed the starting eleven but I had thought Rooney and Ronaldo were going to play wide and Berbatov was going to be the lone striker, ahead of Ryan Giggs. Well, no.

Ryan Giggs was on the left wing, in a somewhat more withdrawn role than what Wayne Rooney occupied on the opposite flank. Cristiano Ronaldo was the lone, marauding striker ahead of Dimitar Berbatov who played quite deep, more like an attacking midfielder than a second striker.

It was a strange move: it negated Giggs' effectiveness and placed him in a role for which he's no longer suited. Berbatov, on the other hand, played his part excellently in the first half: kept the ball well and distributed it precisely. He faded in the second half, because of tiredness I guess.

Rooney did his job with the amazing tactical discipline that he usually displays in Europe, even though it is largely unheralded - and I've already devoted an article to the contribution of Cristiano Ronaldo.

It worked out in the end but one has to wonder why Fergie is constantly experimenting? For some reason he loves to have Ronaldo as a lone striker away from home in Europe - see Barcelona and Roma last season. But Berbatov could have performed that role while Giggs, I think, would have been able to fulfil the task of ball retention excellently, as he did at the San Siro.

But we don't have to overanalyse things - we won 1-0, deservedly so and should have scored more but for some profligate finishing. After a 2-2 home draw in the first leg, we couldn't have wished for more.

http://www.manchesterunited.vitalfoo...e.asp?a=151415

I was surprised when I read that Ronaldo was leading the attack. Seeing some passes that Berbatov attempted that could have released Ronaldo, I won't be surprised if Fergie use this formation again. Especially seeing how Rooney covered O'shea ... something Ronaldo stopped doing.

I watched most of the match yesterday and I have to give credit to both Ronaldo and Rooney. Ronaldo was being fouled left, right and center without the ref calling them. He wasn't his usual primadonna self. He just took his knocks and went about his business. I think he was motivated to do good playing in his homeland. Rooney was a picture of composure, and he kept his temper in check. He received a nasty foul when the defender scissor-tackled him. I was amazed when the ref allowed the play to continue. My team will have to step up their game when they play in the next round. Our defense did well, and Porto was forced to take long-range shots at the our goal. Good job.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

don't you think that the formation played on the mind of porto too? fergie has the mind games thing down to a science.

We are used to Sir Alex trying out a new formation in every single Champions League game and it was no different at Porto. We'll probably never see this line-up in such a formation again.

I had guessed the starting eleven but I had thought Rooney and Ronaldo were going to play wide and Berbatov was going to be the lone striker, ahead of Ryan Giggs. Well, no.

Ryan Giggs was on the left wing, in a somewhat more withdrawn role than what Wayne Rooney occupied on the opposite flank. Cristiano Ronaldo was the lone, marauding striker ahead of Dimitar Berbatov who played quite deep, more like an attacking midfielder than a second striker.

It was a strange move: it negated Giggs' effectiveness and placed him in a role for which he's no longer suited. Berbatov, on the other hand, played his part excellently in the first half: kept the ball well and distributed it precisely. He faded in the second half, because of tiredness I guess.

Rooney did his job with the amazing tactical discipline that he usually displays in Europe, even though it is largely unheralded - and I've already devoted an article to the contribution of Cristiano Ronaldo.

It worked out in the end but one has to wonder why Fergie is constantly experimenting? For some reason he loves to have Ronaldo as a lone striker away from home in Europe - see Barcelona and Roma last season. But Berbatov could have performed that role while Giggs, I think, would have been able to fulfil the task of ball retention excellently, as he did at the San Siro.
          Fergie did well!

But we don't have to overanalyse things - we won 1-0, deservedly so and should have scored more but for some profligate finishing. After a 2-2 home draw in the first leg, we couldn't have wished for more.

http://www.manchesterunited.vitalfoo...e.asp?a=151415
          Just hug up your win. It was deserved.
          The thoughts on you could have scored more..leaves out the fact that your foes had opportunities, particularly late on, to score and that would have put paid to your hopes of advancing.

You won. ...and deserve to win!

Fergie did well!

Just hug up your win. It was deserved.
            The thoughts on you could have scored more..leaves out the fact that your foes had opportunities, particularly late on, to score and that would have put paid to your hopes of advancing.

You won. ...and deserve to win!
            Where? Had a half chance late on and Edwin had it covered.

Spoken like a true BoU fan!

Was an open header missed late in the game?
              Was it on or about the "six yard box"?
              Was a shot on or about 12 - 15 yards out swept straight into Van der sar's hand when putting it either sid of him would have been goooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaal? ..and other good chances also created late on?

You won and I think you just about deserved to!
              Enjoy!

Spoken like a true BoU fan!

Was an open header missed late in the game?
                Was it on or about the "six yard box"?
                Was a shot on or about 12 - 15 yards out swept straight into Van der sar's hand when putting it either sid of him would have been goooooooooooaaaaaaaaaaal? ..and other good chances also created late on?

You won and I think you just about deserved to!
                Enjoy!
                Open header? The one that went for a throw in? That one that went into VDS' arms is the one I mentioned. No need to speculate about puting either side. Porto pressed and Manu handled it.