Ricketts saves Galaxy

• Ricketts saves Galaxy

Galaxy Vs Chivas ended in a 0-0 draw. Ricketts aquitted himself well throughout the game. He made some brilliant saves to keep his team in the game. THe commentators seem to think the Galaxy have finally found a starting GK. I am still not too happy with his distribution. He kept making the big kicks all game and only once did I see him distribute the ball with a throw to an open Galaxy player o the right who continued the build up through midfield.

My problem with the big kicks is that it bypasses the midfield, the engine room of your team. So many times the big kicks from Ricketts ended up in the other teams defensive area where it is a 50/50 ball between Galaxy's attackers and Chivas' defenders. This part of Ricketts' game still need work. He might not be under the microscope for now because he made some good saves and Galaxy did not loose. I am sure if it were a loss, you would have fingers pointed at him.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Galaxy, engine room and midfield inna same sentence Tilla?

Good for Ricketts.

Galaxy Vs Chivas ended in a 0-0 draw. Ricketts aquitted himself well throughout the game. He made some brilliant saves to keep his team in the game. THe commentators seem to think the Galaxy have finally found a starting GK. I am still not too happy with his distribution. He kept making the big kicks all game and only once did I see him distribute the ball with a throw to an open Galaxy player o the right who continued the build up through midfield.

My problem with the big kicks is that it bypasses the midfield, the engine room of your team. So many times the big kicks from Ricketts ended up in the other teams defensive area where it is a 50/50 ball between Galaxy's attackers and Chivas' defenders. This part of Ricketts' game still need work. He might not be under the microscope for now because he made some good saves and Galaxy did not loose. I am sure if it were a loss, you would have fingers pointed at him.
      Surely it depends on team tactics whether he kicks it long or play from the back.

Sometimes mi wonder if we specifically look fi sumting fi criticize when it comes to our ballers.

You are correct about a match plan tactically. I know Bruce Arena for years, I competed against his teams and he would not allow Ricketts to attack from his first attacking zone without a plan and the using of his attacking abilities. This is Ricketts first year with him and development for him in this position will take shape in other ways out of the back. The team game plns will change as the season develops, if Ricketts stay in the goaol and if they are winning. Have a great Easter.

P. Banta

They definately will win with Ricketts in the goal. He made some magnificent last night. Even I thought it was the best I have ever seen him. He was very agile and made some really good reflex saves.

Match highlights

Originally posted by Dunny View Post
                Surely it depends on team tactics whether he kicks it long or play from the back.
                The team tactics must mean the ball goes to his team! If that is not the aim then...

...the Galaxy would surely need a coach!

Hail Pb what team(s) did you play for when you competed against Bruce's teams?

Personally, I think that was one of Tall P's better games. He manned his goal well and commanded his defensive unit vocally. I give him props for a fantastic opening game for the Galaxy. It seemed like the Chivas' coaches saw Tall P as fresh meat and sent their offensive unit after his goal. It's no doubt that he saved the Galaxy last night! In the aftermath he has emerged as the answer to their woeful custodian troubles.

But I must agree with Tilla somewhat. Tall P still needs to improve his ball distribution. Too many balls were booted upfield, bypassing the midfield and making the Galaxy forwards having to compete for 50/50 balls. I would like to see more of those balls thrown or kicked to Tall P's wing backs or midfielders.

Overall, Big Up to Tall P for a good game.
                  "The contribution of forumites and others who visit shouldn’t be discounted, and offending people shouldn’t be the first thing on our minds. Most of us are educated and can do better." Mi bredrin Sass Jan. 29,2011

Galaxy, engine room and midfield inna same sentence Tilla?

Good for Ricketts.
                    Ssas, in any team, the midfield is the engine room. It is in the midfield that the game is supposed to be dictated.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

It cannot be a coach's tactic to have his forwards always in 50/50 situations when his goalkeeper gets the ball. Any coach who wants this is not a coach, but someone who is holding a position until they find the right person.

Ricketts' game was fine with me last night apart from this problem. As a goalkeeper, you cannot allow your game to be so predictable. He does this when he plays for Jamaica too. I hope Bruce Arena will get him out of this habit and let him use the ball more wisely. A good coach will emphasize maintaining possession of the ball to accomplish the team's objectives. You cannot when you get the ball lose it to the opponents in these 50/50 situations created by your goalkeeper.

A keeper of Ricketts' experience should have this basic concept down for years. I am sure if he were to watch EPL or any of the other of the good leagues, he will see good distribution in goalkeeping. Maybe this is one of the reasons why Bolton decided not to keep him.

Maybe this is why Langdon Donovan and other forwards were not effective last night was because they had to be fighting with the defenders of the other team for balls booted upfield by Ricketts everytime. The midfield had no part in the game.
                      Last edited by Tilla; April 12, 2009, 02:31 PM.

Sorry if you see it that way Horti. I call it how I see it. I have always had issues with this aspect of Ricketts' game and I am still seeing it now. Sorry, I am not one to pet or powder our players.

"It is in the midfield that the game is supposed to be dictated."

Good word "suppose". It was just a dig at the poor midfield of LA.

Ricketts is a fantastic goal keeper,he was highly rated when he played over here for Bradford i'm sure he will do well in MLS.

Maybe we're expecting too much from Bruce Arena?!?