John Barnes says Tyrone Mears was misquoted

• John Barnes says Tyrone Mears was misquoted

The Reggae Boyz will open the 2009 CONCACAF Gold Cup campaign against Canada on July 3 at the Home Depot Center. Jamaica were drawn into Group A alongside Canada, Costa Rica and El Salvador. The quartet will play in Los Angeles, CA on July 3, Columbus, OH on July 7, and Miami, FL on July 10.

Jamaica faces Canada on July at The Home Depot Center in Los Angeles. The match kicks off at 5.00pm local (8.00 ET). The group then travels to Columbus where Jamaica will face Costa Rica at the Crew Stadium on July 7 at (7.00 pm). Their final group match will be played three days later on July 10 at the Florida International University Stadium in Miami. Then Jamaica will go up against El Salvador at 9:00pm following the opening encounter between Costa Rica and Canada at 7:00pm.

Coach John Barnes expressed optimism about Jamaica’s chances of performing well in the tournament.

“As much as I would like to avoid the United States and Honduras early, there are no easy teams and I am confident that whoever we face we will do well,” Barnes remarked.

He added: “The one issue now is who will be fit and available. One of the challenges that we will have is that at that time players will be involved in pre-season preparations. What I do know is that we should be able to have the services of Darren Pratley who would have played for us already had it not been for injury. There should also be Danny Simpson of Blackburn and Tyrone Mears of Marseille.

“Yes there were reports that Mears is interested in playing for England but I spoke with him today and he has said he was misquoted. He is still very much interested in being a part of the Jamaican setup.”

Barnes also expressed an interest in having the talented defender Jermaine Taylor as part up his setup.

“In addition to those players I would like the services of Jermaine Taylor. I like the look of him. He is very strong and quick. He is a good defender and we need good defenders.

“Nyron Nosworthy of Sunderland is fit again and should be available as well which is a good thing for us. Looking at our defense it is an aging one as Ian Goodison will be 37 this year, Marshall is 34 and will be hanging up his international boots soon so we have to have things in place,” Barnes declared.

Group B features USA, Honduras, Haiti and Grenada while Group C features Mexico, Panama, Guadeloupe and Nicaragua.

Eight of the 12 teams will advance to the quarter-final stage scheduled for 18-19 July in Philadelphia, PA and Dallas, TX. The Group A winner faces the Group B runner-up (18 July in Philadelphia) while the Group A runner-up faces the Group C runner-up (19 July in Dallas). Depending on the overall standings from the group stage, the Group A third-place team may advance to play either the Group B or Group C winner (either 18 or 19 July).

The top four teams then advance to the semi-final stage on 23 July in Chicago, IL. The two winners then advance to the final on 26 July in New York, NY.

This will be the 10th edition of the CONCACAF Gold Cup. Two years ago in 2007, Canada reached the semi-final stage before falling to USA. Seven years earlier in 2000, Canada won the CONCACAF Gold Cup after a 2:0 victory over Colombia.

Groups and Full Schedule of Matches:
    2009 CONCACAF GOLD CUP™
    GROUP A: Canada, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Jamaica
    GROUP B: Grenada, Haiti, Honduras, USA
    GROUP C: Guadeloupe, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama

First Round
    Friday, July 3 – Los Angeles (The Home Depot Center)
    Canada vs. Jamaica, 5 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)
    Costa Rica vs. El Salvador, 7 p.m. (10 p.m. EDT)
    Saturday, July 4 – Seattle (Qwest Field)
    Honduras vs. Haiti, 4 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
    Grenada vs. USA, 6 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)
    Sunday, July 5 – San Francisco (Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum)
    Panama vs. Guadeloupe, 2 p.m. (5 p.m. EDT)
    Nicaragua vs. Mexico, 4 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
    Tuesday, July 7 – Columbus, Ohio (Crew Stadium)
    Jamaica vs. Costa Rica, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
    El Salvador vs. Canada, 9 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)
    Wednesday, July 8 – Washington (Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium)
    Haiti vs. Grenada, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
    USA vs. Honduras, 9 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)
    Thursday, July 9 – Houston (Reliant Stadium)
    Guadeloupe vs. Nicaragua, 7 p.m. (8 p.m. EDT)
    Mexico vs. Panama, 9 p.m. (10 p.m. EDT)
    Friday, July 10 – Miami (Florida International University Stadium)
    Costa Rica vs. Canada, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
    El Salvador vs. Jamaica, 9 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)
    Saturday, July 11 – Boston (Gillette Stadium)
    USA vs. Haiti, 7 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)
    Honduras vs. Grenada, 9 p.m. (9 p.m. EDT)
    Sunday, July 12 – Phoenix (University of Phoenix Stadium)
    Panama vs. Nicaragua, 2 p.m. (5 p.m. EDT)
    Mexico vs. Guadeloupe, 4 p.m. (7 p.m. EDT)

Quarterfinals
    Saturday, July 18 – Philadelphia (Lincoln Financial Field)
    Group A winner vs. Group B runner-up, TBD (x)
    Group B winner vs. Group A/C third-place, TBD (x)
    x-matches scheduled for 5 p.m. and 8 p.m. with order TBD

Sunday, July 19 – Dallas (Dallas Cowboys New Stadium)
    Group C runner-up vs. Group A runner-up, TBD (y)
    Group C winner vs. Group A/B third place, TBD (y)
    y-matches scheduled for 3 p.m. and 6 p.m. local (4 p.m. and 7 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Semifinals
    Thursday, July 23 – Chicago (Soldier Field)
    Philadelphia quarterfinal winners, TBD (z)
    Dallas quarterfinal winners, TBD (z)
    z-matches scheduled for 6 p.m. and 9 p.m. local (7 p.m. and 10 p.m. EDT) with order TBD

Final
    Sunday, July 26 – New York (Giants Stadium)
    Semifinal winners, 3 p.m. (3 p.m. EDT)

We wants the Gold, we needs the gold, we must have it!! The Gold!

Everyday I ah lament that we not in the running for South Africa, it is an unbearable, recurring after taste that I cannot shake, every score I hear, every qualifying match I see I just shake my head, we wasted another golden (no pun intended) opportunity .

Taking the Gold cup will satisfy a little of the agony of missing out on the hex, especially if we beat the US who I think look particularly ready for the taking, especially with their new found swagger of unbeaten games against weak opponents.

I don't like the cross-country trek of the teams. I hope and that we can reach the finals so I can get to watch our Boyz play in Giant stadium.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

If we do...I'll see you there!

No comments on Mr. Mears being "misquoted"? It would be nice to know what he actual said so that we could judge if his statement could have been turned around in such a manner.

I think Barnes should worry about himself being "misquoted".

I think you should leave Barnes alone.

He is the best thing going for the development of Jamaican football right now.....

das right Iyah, wi need di gold! deh fi true

I would like to know too. To simply say Mears was misquoted is only one half of the story... so what did he say fi true?

You know the truth of the matter is them man yah have no idea what them really want at this age, at this age they all just want an opportunity to shine in the sun, my feeling pon this is to get these boys locked in as soon as possible as any kind of gold vein discovered will be jumped on by the Limeys no joke! It is clear that some of these guys Barnes has ID'd have some pretty serious talent, discipline and potential, bruk them in asap get them committed so there is no turning back. As you all know once you commit then it is pretty much done, we all roll with the flow.

I am not too concerned about what he said. Let us use the real test and see where he stands. Is he willing to make himselff available to play in the Gold Cup competition a few months from now. That competition would tie him to Jamaica for the rest of his playing career. I say let his shut up and put up. . .
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

let us see.

Him actually sneak through a window fi go France for a trial when his club wouldn't let him go. Let us hope he is "misquoted".

I take the "misquote" with a grain of salt.

Did Barnes mention Nuggsy?or am i seeing doubles?